We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better is summer” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ostel - GDR The Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ostel - GDR The Hostel
Ranked #157 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Better is summer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

The Hostel was clean and neat. Very close to Ostbanhof which is great. Cheap food shops and net cafe in the vicinity which is great. Wifi signal was good.
I liked the quaint style of the rooms. Can't recall our room number but not all the rooms are equally comfortable. We booked 2 rooms for 4 of us; the one had mirror, more furniture and much bigger, Way to start some weary backpacker conflict!!
Stunning outside chill area with volleyball nets - pity it was the cold season.We also visited the Italian restaurant around the corner as another reviewer mentions - def recommend it.

Berlin is an amazing city!

Room Tip: Use a shotgun system when approaching the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxanneCT N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    77
    54
    26
    24
See reviews for
10
73
47
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed in Ostel for three nights. When we were shown the room, the impressions were great - a lovely, clean and themed room with vintage DDR-style furnishings.

However, upon returning after our Berlin excursions, the room greeted us with an intense smell of smoke, as if someone had just been smoking in there. We did not notice it initially as the windows had been open all day before our arrival.

The pillows were astonishingly terrible and the room could have done with a mirror - I'm sure they had mirrors in East Berlin, albeit probably double-sided with cameras behind them!

All-in-all it was good value and very quaint - just a shame about the smell!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Location close to S-bahn and connection to Schönefeld Airport. Basic & clean accommodation.
Cheap shops nearby.
Interestin antiques market on Sunday.
An excellent italian restaurant is located in the same block, delicious food and friendly service, well worth a visit.
The room I stayed in (house 8 E) had very noisy neighbours above and all around, hammering and drilling from 8 in the morning - screaming children stomping around at night. Not recommended if you like to sleep in peace and quiet ;)

Room Tip: Stay clear of house no.8
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camilama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valby, Denmark
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days, and found it more than adequate in most respects. It's quite close to the Ostbanhof, which makes it convenient for travel.

What isn't so cool is there are no elevators, which made it slightly annoying when checking in and finding out our room was on the 5th floor. The other minus is the bathroom is in a separate room. Mind you, it's not a shared bath, but it's annoying to have to unlock your own bathroom in the middle of the night.

The bed was surprisingly comfy, though, and the pillow was also adequate. There were only 4 hangers in our double room, though, which is a bit stingy. Hotel was very clean, and the staff were friendly and quite helpful.

Still, I'm glad I stayed here for the experience. And while the price was good, this being Berlin, hotel prices tend to be good value. I'd go elsewhere next visit.

Room Tip: No elevators! Ask for a room on the 3rd floor. Also, rumor has it the rooms ending in 7 have their o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissJibba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

I like the concept of a GDR style hotel. However I was not at all impressed. Good points are that the location was close to the Berlin East train station and Karl Marx Alley. The room was warm but not too hot also. The decor in the reception is nice. However the room we had was in a different building to the reception in amongst people's flats. The stairs and corridor were filthy with cigarette buts poked into cracks in the walls, graffiti everywhere and I suspect that the floor had not been mopped since the fall of the Berlin Wall. I am not sure I want that much authenticity! There is poor wifi in the reception but no-where else. No kettle for making tea/coffee. Shared bathroom with bad lock. The flat has been partitioned into rooms very poorly. My DIY is better than their building work. The walls were very thin so no noise insulation. Rooms were tiny. Bed pathetic, no head board, very thin mattress. Other guests seemed to have spent all day smoking something which stinked the place out. Really upset out it as it is a great idea, but there is no excuse for how dirty it was and how poor the overall experience is. If it is a hostel, then price it as such and provide a shared space to cook etc. We paid for a private room and it was not cheap at all, so expected much better. We wished we had just booked into an Ibis or something instead. See photos.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lee_in_Fareham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Very basic room of less than 8sq, no storage, a very small towel that will never be changed, only one shared bathroom and toilet for 7 guests or more, thin walls that let you follow all the chats (and more) of your neigbours... for EUR 38/night (single room without breakfast)? Sorry, this is just way overpriced! Not even the GDR furniture (from the thrift store?) can compensate this...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank decours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed at Ostel when I went to the NWN Fest.
Great location if you want to go to the Fest.
I got a basic single room, in a small room for a reasonable small price.
I got what I paid for, a bed in a room. So if people are complaining about this or that (read the poorly rated reviews) they are expecting too much from this basic Hostel. They should stay at a Hotel. The Hostel is very close to the Ostbahnhof, a Supermarket, and a Doner Stand.

Be advised, the surrounding location 30-50 metre radius away from the Hostel, Ostbahnhof, Supermarket etc.. is dimly lit, so why would you want to walk around the block by yourself at night (IE 01:00am)? It is safe, but you wouldn't, unless you think you are Charles Bronson.

Overall it is what it is.
I would stay there again for NWN Fest

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zxyane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Michelberger Hotel
Michelberger Hotel
#113 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Friedrichshain
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
Moxy Berlin Ostbahnhof
#134 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Friedrichshain
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
InterCityHotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Friedrichshain
Juncker's Hotel Garni
Juncker's Hotel Garni
#346 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Friedrichshain
Hotel Comenius
Hotel Comenius
#300 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ostel - GDR The Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ostel - GDR The Hostel

Property: Ostel - GDR The Hostel
Address: Wriezener Karree 5, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Hotel Style:
Ranked #157 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ostel - GDR The Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Ostel - GDR The Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ostel - Gdr The Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing