We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ostel - GDR The Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel 26(Berlin)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (233)
Filter reviews
233 results
Traveler rating
31
85
60
30
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
31
85
60
30
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate bathroomddr styleno lifteast germanretro furnitureeast side gallerytrain stationbasic hostelkebabnetto supermarketnight's sleepthird floorfew minutes walklocation is greatwi fis bahnostbahnhof
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 233 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2011

Well the hostel lived up to all the expectations we had of it. And for hostel quality, this is rather good quality.
We easily booked a couple of rooms in advance by phone and received an email booking confirmation. Good start. The hostel is then nicely placed near Ostbahnhof, so arriving there was easy (as was departing, since our train would eventually leave from Ostbahnhof). As mentioned in other posts, the staff at the reception weren't that friendly (with one exception), but I guess it adds to the whole DDR charm. We spent 4 nights in two double rooms with a shared bathroom. The rooms are well decorated in the kitschy DDR style, as well as being clean and spacious. The shared bathroom was OK. No decorations there, just pragmatic, if not rather old, amenities. Don't expect to find a lift, don't expect any room service and no one will clean your room during your stay. WIFI only in the lobby. But hey, the price isn't that high and the hostel is well placed, so use the money you save on hanging out in cool cafes and shopping Berlin. That's what we did and really I can't complain! Would do it again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trouble_Agent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This is such a nice hotel, all decorated with "eastern German" style. The crew is nice, the colors are pretty.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BiaMonteiro78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

well where do we start. we rented the GDR- Apartment. and my gosh, it was like living in pre-berlin wall downfall times. the design, the bed, electronics up to the wallpaper is as if you'd stepped into another time like time travelling.
i felt that after visiting the GDR museum, it was as if we were living in that time zone. no doubt it didnt had a lot as the museum but it was a definitely an experince worth counting for. i stayed with a friend who was born in east germany loved the place, he said it was as if returning Home to those days. for the price of 120 euro a night, we were not complaining this place was actually quite worth it. we stayed 3 days and 2 nights. Loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

All round great experience. The rooms are small but cute with very comfortable beds. The staff at the front desk were helpful and friendly. The location is great at only a skip away from Ostanbof and the train station is full of places to eat, change money, have a coffee.

The first time I stayed I had a room on the second floor and could catch the wifi from my room, which was convenient. The second time I was on the 6th and couldn't Some people complain there is no elevator and getting to the 6th floor is tough, but suck it up! It's a DDR themed hotel...there weren't elevators in the building back then!

And the price is very reasonable for the size, location, and comfort.

Would stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank li0ntamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Booked a double room in this hotel week in advance and was surprised by the low rates. So we did not expect a lot from it. However, it was quite good. You can't expect 5* service for this money but you get a small but clean room with some DDR gadgets like a portrait of Erich Honecker on the wall and some DDR literature in the bookshelfs.

It is located right next to the "Ostbahnhof" and so ideal for visiting Berlin city and its surroundings as many DB trains and S-bahn trains pass this station.

The breakfast is servered in a restaurant around the corner and for EUR 7,50 we got a "all you can eat breakfast". The restaurant is also in simple DDR style and also server meals in the evening.

Ideal for young couples, backpackers or anyone who likes a bit of adventure and does not mind a bit less comfort.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews