We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small rooms, good breakfast”
Review of Hotel Columbia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Columbia
Ranked #530 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Small rooms, good breakfast”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel is quite basic but was convenient for visiting friends nearby. The subway is right across the road and that was also convenient. One or two good eating places are nearby especially a very nice 'alternative' vegetarian cafe/restaurant a couple of streets away. Our room was right at the top of the building and was very hot - no air conditioning, and no use opening the window as the sun streams right in. Drawing the curtains helped a bit. The room was only just big enough, but adequate. More hanging space would have helped - enough space in the wardrobe but not enough hangers. The shower room was small but very clean. Tricky getting exactly the right water temperature from combi-style water heater for the shower. The breakfast room is pleasant and the food plentiful and good. Staff we encountered were courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWholeFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    21
    15
    5
See reviews for
3
23
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

A double booking had been made and I cancelled one of the bookings. It was obviously a mistake. When I realized what had happened I called the very same day of arrival and offered to pay for two night, but they charged 80% of the whole week and the manager was nowhere to be found until a week later. I called the hotel many times trying to explain the situation. When I found the manager she refused to make any change of that, even though the hotel knew the room was free to rent. So they got my money for nothing, but I will never ever going to try this place again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALIEN-EYE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

I arrived in the middle of the afternoon. Even though I had printed off my booking information, it still took them a long time to find my room. When the receptionist asked what I was doing in Berlin, I answered that I had come to take language classes to improve my German. She turned to the other staff member and said in German 'this little American thinks she can learn German in 4 months' and they both laughed. This made me very sad, because my German is good enough to understand this. I had several bags and there is a small flight of stairs before arriving at the elevator. I asked for help to bring my bags up these stairs, but I was refused help. This was not good customer service.

The room is small, but clean. The bed is comfortable. I recommend finding a different place to stay, because, for me, good service is one if the most important things in a hotel.

Stayed May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Only stayed the one night in the hotel but everything was great and as expected, the breakfast was stunning and plenty of choice. The hotel is perfectly sited for the underground station(right outside) which we used to get around all the sites that berlin has to offer. We wouldnt hesitate to use the hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank operamagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2010

the website is absolutely misleading: it looks dull and not like a five star hotel. but once you get there, centrally located in the middle of kurfürstendamm, you will be positively surprised. it has a nice, modern design with contemporary art, an international crowd, spacious rooms and very friendly staff. the fitness center is small but state of the art machines, the spa looked very inviting from the outside. during sunday breakfast it gest a bit crowded, but quality of food and service is very good.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkjhgZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

Small hotel in Berlin Tempelhof - small room but pretty comfortable. The bathroom was standard, not anally clean but clean enough. Sheets changed every day. The breakfast was amazingly delicious. There's a subway station right across the street (Platz der Luftbrücke). Cheap wi-fi 1 euro / hour and free parking in the back of the building. If you're on a budget , I do recommend this no-frills hotel. Very friendly staff. But keep in mind: this is not a luxurious hotel so don't raise your expectations too much! We paid 60 euros / night. Depending on which room you get, you might hear some traffic noise -- having the windows closed solves that problem, though. I don't know how it'd be in the summer, however.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drezende
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2010

Stayed at Hotel Columbia for several nights.

GOOD: friendly staff; good breakfast; shampoo and soap in the room; tea kettle with free tea, coffee, and bottled water in the room; free parking, relatively close to Berlin center; moderate prices; clean linen; a blow dryer in the room.

BAD: the area is not nice (drunks, weird types around, unclean street); VERY noisy street (problem if you have to open the window in the summer); VERY small room (cannot open a large suitcase); the non-smoking room smells of smoke; VERY old plumblng (shower hard to adjust), VERY shabby and dusty carpets (look to be 20 + years old); VERY old and shabby towels; telephone is 2 euros per minute.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemo050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten
Hotel Riehmers Hofgarten
#356 of 634 in Berlin
51 reviews
Kreuzberg
Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe
Hotel Sarotti-Hoefe
#208 of 634 in Berlin
140 reviews
Kreuzberg
Hotel Transit
Hotel Transit
#283 of 634 in Berlin
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Acama Kreuzberg Hotel+Hostel
Kreuzberg
City Hotel Gotland
City Hotel Gotland
#509 of 634 in Berlin
52 reviews
Kreuzberg
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Columbia

Property: Hotel Columbia
Address: Dudenstr. 4, 10965 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #530 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Columbia 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing