We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clipper City Home

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clipper City Home
Ranked #2 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Immingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

What an excellent choice we made.
Upon arrival we were greeted warmly by reception even though we were early (arrived before check-in time). We were given clear and concise instructions on how to reach our room and what a room it was.
Our welcome letter advised us that we were one of the first to try the renovated room (comfort room). It was extremely clean, very large with excellent appliances, bathroom and a lovely balcony/little conservatory.
The location was excellent. Only 5 minutes walk to Brandenburg or Babelsplatz. Clipper are also on the doorstop of Gendarmenmarkt which has some good restaurants.
All in all, highly recommended. So good we are going back at New Year!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claire S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    92
    9
    7
    1
See reviews for
53
164
22
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at Clipper City Home Apartments (top floor) for 2 nights late September / early October. The service was friendly and the apartment was nice and spacious. There is also a Nespresso machine in the kitchen, but capsules are only provided upon arrival and then have to be purchased from reception (80 Euro cents each - that's ok, but for the price and the convenience it would have been nice to have these for the entire stay). The bathtub has to be climbed over in order to have a shower and this might be a problem for the elderly and less flexible people. There is also a lot of construction going on in the inner city, but this didn't really affect us in the apartment in terms of noise. The apartment is really beautiful and the location is very central - one can walk easily to many tourist destinations, such as the Brandenburger Tor and the Opera at the beautiful Gendarmenmarkt. Downstairs, right next door is a really awesome Italian restaurant & wine bar called Sagrantino, where breakfast is available for hotel guest each morning (10 Euros). The breakfast was pretty good, with most desirables supplied. However, I recommend to have dinner and wine at Sagrantino as well (i.e. Truffel pasta and local wines from Montefalco Umbria). The décor is rich, earthy and arty...see for yourself and enjoy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CassandiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Clipper was a very good choice for us. It was very near the Brandenburg Gate where the marathon started. The rooms are well appointed with a well stocked kitchenette. All the appliances were in excellent condition and the rooms were very large. There were lots of great stores next to the hotel as well as great restaurants. It was also near the Opera house and other tourist spots. My only concern is that the toilet has a very high block getting into the shower area.

The service was good as the rooms were cleaned everyday and the front desk recommended excellent restaurants for us to try. Internet was free and the room even had a nespresso machine.

I highly recommend this hotel for those who plan to run the Berlin marathon.

Room Tip: All the rooms have the same sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gtiongco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Overall, I'd say this was a great place to stay. Compared to any of the downtown Berlin (Mitte) hotels, this is MUCH cheaper, and you get a LOT of room compared to most European hotels.

Positives:
1) Thomas at the front desk- very friendly and accommodating when he could be, had great recommendations and was just an overall great guy. My father and I enjoyed seeing him on our way in and out of the hotel. Big points for employees who actually care about your stay.

2) As I said before, very spacious and it was also really close to plenty of good restaurants, both expensive and inexpensive. I'd say it's about a 15 minute walk east to Museum Island, 15 minutes south to Checkpoint Charlie, and 15 minutes west to the Brandenburg Gate. For a few days in Berlin, you can't beat it.

3) Great value

Negatives:
1) When we were there, the temperature outside was anywhere from 50-65 degrees F. But the room was hot every time we got back, no A/C it seems, which is a definite negative. You can leave your windows open, but there's no screens, and it is quite loud with the windows open due to construction.

2) When we arrived from the US at 9am, we were informed check-in time was 3:30. That's fine at a hotel that is full, but honestly it seemed like there were plenty of empty rooms, and that the woman at the front desk (not Thomas) would not be accommodating for us for possibly an earlier check-in. I would suggest calling ahead and seeing if they would do that, we unfortunately didn't think about it, but it didn't seem like they would have accommodated us anyway.

3) The maid service was pretty awful. Not sure they vacuumed the room, and I'm positive they didn't change our sheets once (we stayed for 6 nights). They also didn't clean up any of our dishes, nor replace our glasses in the bathroom. We got new soap and shampoo once, but the last night we didn't have any! This is horrible and needs to be changed immediately. Definitely should not need to ask for any of these things, they should be expected at any hotel.

4) Incidental charges- Costs 50 euro a night for a rollaway bed (2 adult men in the room with 1 double bed, doesn't work). That's a lot of money and takes away from some of the value, and this was not explained until we arrived. That was another big negative, as their low cost is a huge part of my rating.

Again, seems like there were a lot of negatives, but for the location + low price, it's a great place to stay. The room is nice, so is the bathroom, you're not missing much, but a little more service would have gone a long way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Clipper city apartments are located in a great spot in central Berlin take U55 from Berlin main station to brandenburger tor walk about 5 minutes to the apartment from there we stayed on the 7th floor facing the street the room was very spacious and quiet the bed,Donna and pillows were really comfortable we also loved the roomy shower checking in and out was friendly and fast.there are plenty of quality restaurants within close proximity bus 100 and 200 stops just around the corner in Unter den LInden these services go stop at the major tourist spots in Berlin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelbourneGary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this apartment with our children (13 y & 1 y). The place was very suitable for us. I had the chance to cook baby food for my baby at the kitchenette. Also, I had the chance to wash and dry our clothes for free. The location was wonderful, we easily reached to the most popular attractions, touristic places, shops, etc. The apartment was comfortable and clean. On the other hand, although we stayed at a room facing the inner garden (one of the coolest rooms) the fan was not enough for us in August. The other point is that the bathtub was too high to get in and out esp. for the children. The breakfast was also satisfactory.

Room Tip: If you are travelling in summer, I suggest you to rent one of the rooms facing the inner garden as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RabusS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

There were a few problems, but for that kind of room it's really, nothing. Yes, it was too hot. Yes, it was too noisy on the street (because of the construction work), but everything else was more than I expected. My boyfriend had a birthday that same day we stayed, so he got a small surprise from the staff. Breakfast for 10 euros is more than fair enough.

Next time I'm in Berlin, I'm going to choose the same place, definitely!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoonasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel de Rome
Hotel de Rome
#14 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#6 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clipper City Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clipper City Home

Property: Clipper City Home
Address: Behrenstr. 47, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clipper City Home 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These spacious apartments in central Berlin feature free WiFi, a kitchenette and a balcony or conservatory. They are a 2-minute walk from the Friedrichstraße shopping street and the beautiful Gendarmenmarkt square. Renovated in March 2014, Clipper City Home Apartments Berlin include a living room with a flat-screen TV and a Bose stereo system. A kitchenette and Nespresso coffee machine are also provided. The apartment building has an underground garage. From here, an elevator takes you directly to your studio or apartment. All accommodation is completely non-smoking. A concierge service is available and a small Italian breakfast is served in the Italian restaurant, located in the same building. The apartment building also features a fitness and sports club and sushi bar. The Unter den Linden boulevard is a 3-minute walk away. Buses run directly to Zoologischer Garten from there. Mitte is a great choice for travellers interested in history, museums and architecture. This is our guests' favourite part of Berlin, according to independent reviews. This property is also rated for the best value in Berlin! Guests are getting more for their money when compared to other properties in this city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Clipper City Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clipper City Home Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing