We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a short family stay in Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
ApartHotel Residenz Am Deutschen Theater
Ranked #130 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short family stay in Berlin”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We chose the ApartHotel for a 3-night visit to Berlin with our children. Not used to hotels, the ApartHotel gave them the private space to feel at home and unwind after a day's sightseeing. A decent breakfast was included. The apartment was clean (and cleaned daily) and well equipped. The fittings were high quality and everything worked. We stayed in a 'business' apartment which gave us a twin room, a living room with double sofa-bed and plenty of space around it, a kitchen, separate bathroom, large hallway and deep balcony. So the apartment offered the spaciousness of a self-catering rental, with some of the advantages of a hotel.

The service was marvellous: friendly, efficient and helpful. The location was very good. It is about ten minutes walk to the Reichstag / Friedrichstrasse station / Oranienburgertor, but not quite at the heart of the tourist locations. The guide books mentioned nothing in the immediate locality, but we felt Reinhardtstrasse had the advantage of being relatively quiet (apart from squawking magpies in the trees!) So, location could be marginally better for some visitors. There were plenty of restaurants and bars nearby. We liked Pane & Vino 400m away in Friedrichstrasse. The bars are all out of earshot 5 minutes away on Schiffbauerdamm.

The weather was hot and humid for much of our stay. Being in an apartment with windows on two sides, high ceilings and a shaded balcony, from which we watched bats, was much better than hotel rooms without air conditioning.

It was remarkably good value and gave us everything we hoped for. I recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marston_Ferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    38
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
50
31
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Just returned from a trip to Berlin with my wife and family. We stayed here for 4 nights and were well pleased.

We'd booked online and arrived late, after the reception had closed - not a problem - follow the instructions on the door and the automatic machine delivers your room key. The apartments are located in various adjacent buildings, but our apartment was easy to find from the map / instructions on the reception door.

Incidentally, if arriving by train, Friedrichstrasse is fairly close (5 mins walk) - and the best way out of the station is NOT the main entrance - go to the upper S-bahn platforms and there are steps down to an exit at the far end of the platform over a pedestrian bridge (under the rail bridge) across the river.

The apartment itself (room 208) was very spacious, clean and well equipped. The only quibble we had was that having arrived late, tea or coffee in the room would have been nice (there was beer / wine / juice etc. in the fridge in the kitchen - but at minbar prices). In our experience tea / coffee in rooms isn't common in German hotels anyway, but in a hotel without a bar / restaurant it would have been good to have something without having to go out and search the locality late at night. But there was a coffee machine in the kitchen in the apartment, so a trip to buy coffee (and filter papers) and milk at the small supermarket (in the shopping area within the Friedrichstrasse station) the next morning solved the coffee problem for the rest of our stay!

The breakfast room is behind the reception. Probably as good a breakfast as we've had anywhere in Germany. German style, with plenty of choice. All the staff were very friendly.

WiFi was available - but you have to log in to the service again every time you reconnect (even if you just want to pick up email, you have to open a web browser to do the login), so not as easy as just setting the WiFi password on your phone and letting it get on with it. Also, the signal in the apartment was fairly weak and dropped out occasionally.

Overall, this was a very good choice and suited us extremely well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nuttingcdef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koblenz, Germany
Level Contributor
131 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

We have been to this hotel many many times... both on our private and also on our business trip to Berlin..... The Hotel located on a good location... Easy access to the Train Station... There are so many restaurants around this area.. especially on the Riverside... Such so lovely to be able to sit outside and enjoy the view along the river...

The Apartment is really big and got lots of spaces... Bedroom, Living Room, Kitchen and Bathroom.... Daily Breakfast also very good...The staff are very friendly...
A Place to recommend to stay when you are visiting Berlin...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MultiCultiTante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed here recently for a week. The apartments are huge and amazing value! I could live quite happily in the apartment- it had a full sized bathroom and living room, a big bedroom and a great kitchen. There are a couple of supermarkets about 12 minutes walk away in the train station (they can be a little difficult to find but they're in the basement of the train station). Breakfast was okay, although probably not worth the extra cost. It's better value to buy some food at the supermarket and self-cater. There is excellent internet and the staff are very helpful.

There is a washing machine and dryer that can be used by guests but you need to ask at the reception desk. They will happily give you the key and explain how it works. They also have washing powder for sale. It was a great service and I really appreciated being able to wash my clothes before I travelled.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neverenoughtravel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This is the fifth time we have stayed at this AppartHotel in seven years and it is still the ideal place for us to stay in Berlin. The location is perfect: midway between the Hauptbahnhof and Friedrichstrasse Bahnhof; ten minutes easy walking from the Bundestag and the Brandenburg Gate and Unter den Linden. The apartments are very well equipped: a good sized bedroom with ample storage; a well equipped kitchen; a moderately large bathroom that is airy and light and spotlessly clean; a very comfortable sitting room with all one needs to relax at day's end - and the sofa can be made into a bed if their is more than one couple. The breakfast room is behind the reception area and the breakfasts are ample, catering to all tastes. The Reception staff are friendly and extremely helpful. The apartments are quiet, all being set back from the street. They are located within three buildings separated by two small courtyards. The only shortcoming is that there is no elevator servicing the three levels.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monika40Fremantle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genova
Level Contributor
196 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

They offer small apartments located in few buildings close each other. Positive: very centrally located, confortable and spacious apartments, quite clean, good breakfast. Negative: no elevator (from the parking to the rooms it is therefore very hard to carry the lugagges), the breakfast is in a different buiding, no reception service at night time.
It is anyway a decent and reasonably priced option in Berlin, especially good for families.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FabioDaGenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My wife and I rented an apartment at Apart Hotel Residenz for a week. My sister rented an apartment next to us. We really enjoyed our apartments and will go back on our next visit to Berlin. The location is very convenient to the tourist areas, close to markets and restaurants and very quiet. The staff spoke very good English, were very helpful and always cheerful. Our apartment was large but the kitchen was very small and needed more lighting. One side of our bed was against a wall which made it difficult to get out of during the night. The apartment had good TV and free wireless internet. I would definitely recommend staying at the Apart Hotel Residenz.

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment on the second floor overlooking the trees and get a bed that is not against a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wolfe_Photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Amelie Berlin
Hotel Amelie Berlin
#540 of 634 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Mitte
Hotel 38
Hotel 38
#165 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Mitte
Arte Luise Kunsthotel
Arte Luise Kunsthotel
#198 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hotel Dietrich Bonhoeffer Haus
Mitte
Best Western Hotel Berlin-Mitte
Mitte
Hotel Albrechtshof
Hotel Albrechtshof
#187 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ApartHotel Residenz Am Deutschen Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ApartHotel Residenz Am Deutschen Theater

Property: ApartHotel Residenz Am Deutschen Theater
Address: Reinhardtstrasse 27a-31, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #130 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — ApartHotel Residenz Am Deutschen Theater 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our apartments combine spaciousness, friendliness and functionality. You can live, dwell and work here. All the apartments have a digital telephone, free WLAN, satellite television with direct connection to meetings of the Bundestag (German parliament) and a mini-bar - in which you will also find space for your own drinks. An inviting terrace leads into a landscaped and absolutely quiet inner courtyard. Whether it is for one night or for a longer period of time - the professional, very personal hotel service ensures that you feel completely at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HRS, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your ApartHotel Residenz Am Deutschen Theater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing