We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Improved with age”

Hotel Pension Fischer
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Pension Fischer
Ranked #19 of 188 Berlin B&B and Inns
Newcastle Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Improved with age”
Reviewed October 8, 2010

I had been looking forward to staying at this very central Berlin hotel/B&B for sometime, as I had stayed here 17 previously, and I have to say, it has improved under its new management, not that I thought it needed improvement. It is walking distance from the Zoogarten rail station, which makes it a great base. The breakfast is great value, and the hosts are very welcoming. The only thing I had forgotten was the 2 flights of stairs up to the apartment....my suitcase was heavy, but the kind woman working in the office on my check out morning, helped me carry it downstairs. A great place to stay when in Berlin.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussietraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    29
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
16
24
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2010

I have stayed at the Pension Fischer three years in a row, and always find it wonderful: very reasonably priced, modern rooms with renovated modern bathrooms, a huge buffet breakfast, helpful employees, and of course it is ideally located. It is only a block or two away from Europa Platz, from the KaDeWe department store, and from public transportation, and the zoo. I disagree with the review that said the owner was "bad mannered." Christian Schulz is a very friendly, helpful person. He tells all guests that he prefers to be paid in cash. He has always let me use my credit card, and the price goes up a little to cover the costs he incurs with credit cards. This is typical of Pensions in Berlin or any other big city. I have never seen Mr. Schulz be in any way aggressive; quite the contrary. The people who run this Pension are very helpful and friendly.

I recommend this Pension to my students and friends. It is an utter bargain.
Dolores Buttry, USA

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dolores1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2010

The pension is ok but the owner is very bad mannered. He wanted our credit card to book the room and when it came to pay he didn't accept it and wanted to be paid cash becoming very aggressive with us as we didn't have the money (we stay there almost one week so the bill was quite big). At the end he called his bank and accepted our credit card but charged 3% of fee as we paid with the credit card (never seen it before). The management leaves also a bit to desire as there is no nobody during the day and when we arrived the rooms where freezing cold. There is no lift so if you have big luggages be ready to climb to floors of very stiff stairs.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aikila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2009

We were in town to enjoy the New Year celebrations and have only nice things to say. Very central location with incredible access to public transportation and a breakfast that lasts the whole day.
We had a very large room with balcony. Everything is clean and neat. Everyone was very friendly and helpful and we got some good tips on what to see in Berlin.
We recommend Pension Fisher to everyone and we will be back in May.

Mike

P.S. Some reviews have you wonder if people understand that this is a small but very nice 2 star Room-and-Board and not the 5 Star Hilton.

  • Liked — location, service, breakfast, price
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank travelmikeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2008

We stayed here for a couple of nights of a six week tour of Europe. We were a bit confused when we first arrived as the hotel was closed! We contacted the Manager who advised us to pick the keys up from a hotel down the street. This was not a problem, however, we were slightly worried as when we got there as we had not been informed of this beforehand.

The hotel is one floor of the building, approximately 5th floor. It was a bit of a pain lugging out suitcases up 5 flights of stairs but, this is the design of the building, not the hotel's fault. Just be way if you have a heavy case!

The room was lovely and big with double bed and en suite. Rooms were very clean and comfotable although would have preferred more / bigger pillows. Only downside when we visited is that is was 31 degrees in Berlin and extremely hot in our room with no fan and air conditioning.

Location is excellent. Short walk to the hop-on, hop-off buses and the main shopping area of Berlin.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Heat
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClareB12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2008

One of those European hotels which is really just a floor of 7 or 8 rooms in a building. Suited us fine. Our host Tina was very helpful and the included continental breakfast was great. Room was reasonable size, clean and serviced daily. Picked up key out of hours at restaurant over the road which was no problem. Hotel in a good location near Zoologischer station which is where the Tegel airport bus goes to. Metros, trams and restaurants all nearby as is the famous Kurfurstendamm shopping area with the famous west german icon KaDaWe. So if you like shopping its a great budget location and if you are sightseeing you can get to anywhere easily by Berlins awesome public transport. Only downside to hotel was the stale smoke smell.......but i'd choose it again.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank LetsGoBroncos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#36 of 634 in Berlin
1,844 reviews
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#123 of 634 in Berlin
715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Ellington Hotel Berlin
Ellington Hotel Berlin
#138 of 634 in Berlin
983 reviews
Schoneberg
Ibis Budget Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Charlottenburg
mittendrin
mittendrin
#1 of 188 in Berlin
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pension Fischer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Fischer

Property: Hotel Pension Fischer
Address: Nurnberger Str. 24a, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Pension Fischer 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Pension Fischer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing