We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay in Berlin”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Ranked #149 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Modiin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice place to stay in Berlin”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Berlin, Berlin very much. It is a nice modern hotel and the breakfast is great !! It is well situated for 1 minute the the best bus in town, #100 and 5 minutes to the subway. The reception staff were all helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob-Eyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, DotCom Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Jacob-Eyal,

Thank you for your great 5-star review of Hotel Berlin, Berlin. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much, especially the breakfast and the situation of the hotel.
We hope to see you again soon.
All the best from Berlin, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    1,487
    561
    147
    80
See reviews for
451
1,121
164
874
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Berlin for 6 nights in a standard room at a b&b basis.
The overall stay was very good. The hotel is nicely and modernly decorated, the room was very spacious, very clean with nice décor equipped with the usual expected facilities (free tea & coffee, a safe deposit box, big flat-screen TV, a fridge etc).
I asked for an extra quiet room on a high floor and I got just that – the room was facing the inner patio which wasn’t a great view but was perfect for me – it was so quiet I could sleep with open windows.
The breakfast was very good with a wide verity of foods and "made to order" omelets and excellent service from the staff.
The hotel is situated in a quiet area but within a short walking distance to Ku-Dam, just a few minutes walk to the U-bahn station and the 100 line bus station is right across the street.
Service was good, free Wi-fi wasn't great but manageable, bar & restaurant were nice and happy.
One remakr: there are relatively long distances between the hotel elevators and some of the rooms.
I will be happy to stay at the Berlin hotel the next time I'll travel to Berlin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eitam L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, DotCom Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Eitam L,

Thank you very much for your great review of Hotel Berlin, Berlin. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much especially the friendliness of our staff.
We hope to see you again soon, all the best
Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Hotel Berlin, located slap bang in the heart of Berlin, has 701 rooms. It's near a U Bahn-station (Nollendorfplatz - 5 mins. walk and on the scenic bus route 100 - worth a trip and stops outside). If you're unlucky (like I was in room 1281) you have a very long walk to your room - AND bad WiFi. That's all the criticism.... Because the hotel (which opened in 1956) was extended twice, corridors are long, sometimes uneven and somewhat dreary. That's why not all lifts go to the reception floor.
But the great thing in this hotel is that its service is very warm and personal. Despite its size. Check in was speedy and pleasant with that typical informal Berlin charm and reception staff were helpful at every occasion I needed them.
The room had everything I expect (yes, with coffee and tea making facilities and an empty fridge - no minibar) plus an excellent bathroom. My bed could have been a bit harder, but that's my taste.
It is great the hotel provides free WiFi, but I could hardly make use of it in my room. The moment I stepped out in the corridor it was fine. In my room it was absolutely atrocious. Clearly reception staff have been trained to say that "this is because so many people are using it at the same time", but that is rubbish. In the middle of the night it was still bad. Apparently there was nothing they could do apart from provide me with a different connect code. No help either. WiFi in all public areas is fine.
The hotel has a lovely and bright ground floor with, next to reception, a good but slightly pricey selection of drinks (€ 11.50 for a half bottle of basic red wine) and food (€ 4.00 for a sandwich). If you're thinking of a few glasses of red in your room buy a bottle from the bar (0.75 ltr. for € 21.00) and ask for a wine glass. Room service is available until 23.00.
Next to the bar (which also serves snacks like Berlin's classic curry sausage and chips - 'curry wurst und pommes') is restaurant Julius. There I thoroughly enjoyed the € 39.00 three-course menu (with wines). And for me the assistant restaurant manager, a lovely lady, epitomised the character of the hotel: although she was busy (efficiently) serving all the restaurant guests, she took the time to explain the menu and talk to all the guests, making them feel very welcome indeed. Although Hotel Berlin is quite a large hotel, you'll always enjoy personal attention.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaxiFaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, DotCom Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear TaxiFaber,

Thank you very much for your great and detailed review of Hotel Berlin, Berlin it's highly appreciated. I am glad that you liked your stay and that you would recommend the hotel. We are aware of the WiFi issues and working on it steadily to provide a fluent access. Furthermore, we will check the named room number immediately.
Hope to see you again soon, all the best, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, England
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Berlin, Berlin very much. It is a nice modern hotel with all the facilities that you would expect. It was well situated for public transport links. The reception staff were all helpful and pleasant. We requested a quiet room, so as to be away from sound of traffic and the staff arranged this for us. Our booking through Travel Republic by the way included free upgrade to Business category, which we were told were better rooms. Ours was fine, clean and included tea and coffee making facilities, with decaffeinated coffee which we also requested. Our booking also included breakfast, which would otherwise have cost us 21 euros each per day. The breakfasts were excellent, with a very good choice of hot and cold foods and beverages. The Wellness Centre, which is free for guests in the evenings, with its two saunas, relaxation lounge and fitness room is well worth using. Free wifi is available as are most of the other facilities that you would expect in a hotel of such international standard. In our opinion this is a good hotel that we would recommend without hesitation and would happily stay in again if we are ever in Berlin. Tip: We prefered to eat in the local restaurants in the evenings. The 'Gaststatte Ambrosius' at Einemstrasse 14, just at the rear of the hotel was a very good find, with good honest food and wines at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: We had read that it could be noisy from the traffic and so we asked in advance for a quiet room and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevor93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, DotCom Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Trevor93,

Thank you very much for such a great review of Hotel Berlin, Berlin. It's great to read, that you enjoyed your stay in all kind of ways and that you would recommend us.
I hope we will see you again soon, until then all the best. Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights in a 3 person room in late april 2013.
The first pleasant surprise was that we could check in before the official check in time as our room was already ready.
The rooms was a let down. The furnishings and decor were old and you could smell that in the hotel corridors. Since it was a room that got a lot of direct sunlight the dust ruffles and curtains were very faded. The walls had all kinds of wear and tear marks on them. The white pvc window frames were just plain dirty. It was nothing that a bit of scrubbing couldn't clean but that had nit happened. Also there was a layer of dust on the window sill.
The bed and pillows were not comfortable.
A similar story with the bathroom. It was clean and had a nice full wall mirror but old.
A redeeming point was breakfast, which was brilliant. Wide choice of food. All fresh and plenty of it. The break fast room is modern and clean.
The work and play room, which the sauna and gym was also a pleasant surprise even though one of the saunas was not yet heater/out of commission.
The staff was very friendly but the communication still lacking due to the language barrier.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VioletDGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, DotCom Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear VioletDGray,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Berlin, Berlin, your feedback is highly appreciated!
I am sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay. As we have quite a few rooms, we are aware of the fact that not all rooms are as new as they should be. We renovated 191 rooms last year and, as we hope you'll come back again, we would love to give you an idea of how our Premium rooms look like. In spite of it all, I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast as well as our Work & Play area.
All the best from Berlin, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I arrived for check in around 21.30hrs and was in my room by 21.35hrs, the best and quickest check in I've ever had.
My room is clean and comfortable.
I cannot fault this hotel in anyway, so therefore I give a five star rating.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianlowe1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, DotCom Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear ianlowe1970,

Thank you very much for your great 5-star review of Hotel Berlin, Berlin.
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and I forwarded your compliments to the reception.
We hope to see you soon. All the best from Berlin, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
petah tikva
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

the hotel located in the central part of the city ,easy access to bus lines and traina and metro,but for me was by far prefferable to walk-about 40 min to reach evrything of interest, a few words for the hotel -it provides 24 hrs free wi-fi',the room very comfortable and an outstanding breakfast worth of a 5 stars hotel,surpassed my expectations.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, DotCom Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear ahophy,

Thank you for your great 5-star review of Hotel Berlin, Berlin.
We are glad that you like your stay, especially the location as well as the free wifi and our breakfast. Enjoy the next days, and we hope it will not be your last visit!

Cheers, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berlin, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berlin, Berlin

Property: Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Address: Luetzowplatz 17, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#108 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#111 Family Hotel in Berlin
#138 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#145 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Berlin, Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 701
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Berlin, Berlin is the third largest hotel in the capital and one of the largest in Germany. And yet it is still the guest and his personal needs that are at the centre of our attention: in order to make our guests' stay with us as pleasant and individual as possible, all rooms and suites differ in styles and are thereby invariably generously and comfortably furnished. Every room in our individual hotel in Berlin is excellently equipped for working and lingering. W-LAN is also available free of charge to all our guests everywhere on the premises and in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Berlin, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing