We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for cheap short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Ranked #152 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Gdansk, Pomorskie, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK for cheap short stay”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Beds were clean but floor in rooms were very dirty. Bathrooms also wasn't cleaned for some time. It was fine for a short and cheap stay but I would not recommend it for a long vacation. I was there 2 nights and it was enough. No sinks and mirrors in bathroom.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank przemmaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, DotCom Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear przemmaj,

Thank you very much for your review of Hotel Berlin, Berlin.
It's highly appreciated and needed to improve our service.
I' sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with your stay and I will forward your remarks regarding the bathrooms as well as the floors.

I apologize for any inconveniences and we hope to see you again.
All the best from Berlin, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    905
    1,434
    534
    142
    76
See reviews for
430
1,065
160
837
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for a conference in Berlin. It is in walking distance of the underground (Nollendorfplatz) and is walking distance to shops, bars of Winterfeldtplatz. It's close to the tiergarten and postdamer platz - only 15mins to both.
The rooms are a good size, modern and with all the facilities you need. I looked out onto the main square so was worried about the noise but it was actually very quiet and was there the weekend of the Berlin Marathon so was pleasantly surprised.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank londontownchap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, DotCom Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear londontownchap,

Thank you for your great review of Hotel Berlin, Berlin.
Your opinion is highly appreciated and important to us to improve our service.
It's great to read, that you enjoyed your stay so much, especially our rooms. I will forward your compliments to the team.

We hope to see you again soon.
All the best from Berlin, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Clean and stylish hotel in a central location. However it is situated in the middle of a traffic island which meant it is noisy at night if you like to sleep with the window open as we do. We also found it too hot for us although some people may like this. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosehu33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, DotCom Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear rosehu33,

Thank you for your review of Hotel Berlin, Berlin and your time affort. We really appreciate all of your comments and remarks. It's great to hear that you like the hotel in general, I am sorry that it was a bit too noisy for you. If you write us a short email we will make sure you'll get a more quiet room facing the inner yard.

We hope to see you again soon.
All the best from Berlin, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2013

If you are in Berlin for a couple of days and have interests such as eating, sightseeing, shopping, drinking... And all over again this is a great spot to start from. All is great, rooms are nice, people friendly, and for breakfast all you can think of is served.
We were happy with this choice. If I go again I will most likely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globtrotter606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, DotCom Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear globtrotter606,

Thank you for your great 5-star review of Hotel Berlin, Berlin.
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much, especially the rooms, our breakfast and our service. I will forward all your compliments and we hope to see you again soon.

Best regards from Berlin, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molndal, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Very modern, clean and friendly hotel. Close to public transport. Service minded staff who speaks many languages. Big and modern rooms. The bus to central Berlin is just outside and the Nollendorfplatz underground station is a 5 min walk away. Can recommend the farmers market on saturday mornings at Winterfeldtplatz , 10 min walk south of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rymdtigern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, DotCom Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Rymdtigern,

Thank you very much for your great 5-Star review of Hotel Berlin, Berlin.
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially the rooms, our staff and the food quality in general. I will forward all your compliments to the departements.
We hope to see you again soon!

Best regards from Berlin, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went for a short break mid week. The directions to the hotel took us to Zoologischer Garten Metro but we would suggest going to Witternbergplatz, just a 5 min stroll away. The hotel was perfectly located between Charlottenberg (main shopping area) and other main attractions that you can either take the trains / buses to or even walk (20 - 30 mins) as it takes you past the Tiergarten. When taking the metro / train especially with luggage, do not change at Warschauer Strasse as you need to negotiate stairs and a walk down the road (100 metres) to reach the other line.

The rooms were immaculate and the staff warm, welcoming and helpful. We had dinner in their restaurant one night and the food was of a high standard. Wander to the first floor of the hotel where they have a gallery of pictures showing the history of the hotel through the decades. The building also consists of different design themes that we found out by accident, taking the lift at the rear of the building and walking all around to get to our room.

If you can, ask for a room facing the rear. The only downside to our room was it faced Lutzenplatz, the main road and square which got a bit noisy but not so much we were inconvenienced by it or that it spoilt our stay.

The staff were ready with recommendations and it really helps if you're there for a short stay and only wanted to take in the main sights. Thoroughly recommend the hotel and will return someday.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear away from the main road or on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mw1_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, DotCom Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear mw1_11,

Thank you very much for your great 5-Star review of Hotel Berlin, Berlin.
It's great to read, that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you would recommend our hotel.
I will forward all your compliments regarding the rooms, the welcoming staff as well as our restaurant Julius.
We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards from Berlin, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great for business... well located...Efficient service and well organized when busy.... LOVED THE BREAKFAST BUFFET;;;Will go back..... taxis always available..... Cash ATM in lobby did not work... No cash available.... they sent ,me to a bank quite far considering the cold wether... Otherwise a good 4 star hotel....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharpeifan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelBerlinBerlin, DotCom Manager at Hotel Berlin, Berlin, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear sharpeifan,

Thank you for your great review of Hotel Berlin, Berlin.
It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much, especially the breakfast and the location. I will forward your compliments.
We hope to see you again soon.

Best regards from Berlin, Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Charlottenburg
Hampton by Hilton Berlin City West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
Mitte
Hotel Indigo Berlin – Centre Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Berlin, Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Berlin, Berlin

Property: Hotel Berlin, Berlin
Address: Luetzowplatz 17, 10785 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#107 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#111 Family Hotel in Berlin
#138 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#145 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Berlin, Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 701
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Berlin, Berlin is the third largest hotel in the capital and one of the largest in Germany. And yet it is still the guest and his personal needs that are at the centre of our attention: in order to make our guests' stay with us as pleasant and individual as possible, all rooms and suites differ in styles and are thereby invariably generously and comfortably furnished. Every room in our individual hotel in Berlin is excellently equipped for working and lingering. W-LAN is also available free of charge to all our guests everywhere on the premises and in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Berlin, Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing