We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location if you need a bed in a clean room in Friedrichshain, but...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Comenius

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Comenius
Ranked #301 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location if you need a bed in a clean room in Friedrichshain, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I booked this hotel because of the good reviews, unfortunately i was a bit disappointed with the service.

I found the staff to be kinda grumpy. It seems like they were never really happy, or showing a smile or a good mood to the hotel guest. They almost never said anything. Well at least to me.
One time they even thought i was stealing breakfast, while i was just looking to decide whether i would want to buy the breakfast that morning or not. Which made me decide to just go to a restaurant instead. Overall the staff spoke little English. At arrival I haven't received any help or explanation of the hotel procedures and facilities. I was pointed to the instructions in my room. The grumpy mood made me leave my stay kinda irritated.

I stayed in the single room on the ground floor, with shared badroom. The first night i slept really bad. Guests were making noise until 23:00 and early in the morning. The days after that i slept with ear plugs, but luckily from day 3 the hotel also got more quiet with not too many guests around. But it seems the ground floor room is not recommended as it is next to the reception and entrance. Unfortunately this was -not- advertised (i would have never booked it).

The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and it was nice to have a table and chair to be able to work on a laptop. The showers were hot and good.
Unfortunately they turned off the central heating a few times after 22:00, so with -15 outside it got kinda cold in my room....

It would have been nice if they offered free tea or coffee for the guests, but no.

Overall it is a good location if you need a bed in a clean room to be near by wherever you need to be in Friedrichshain, but don't except service and avoid the ground floor. All in all i think the ground floor room is overpriced. I rate it more like 20 to 25 euro. The big problem is the noise...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Apprentice x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    47
    17
    4
    2
See reviews for
12
37
21
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is very good value for money. Very clean. Good breakfast. The staff were absolutely wonderful and could not have been more helpful. Good location near the East Railway Station was good for the connection by train to Schoenerfeld Airport.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

We stayed here when visiting Berlin for the weekend, the hotel is in a great location-easy to get everywhere. The staff were friendly and offered great advise on where to go and what to see. Hotel itself was clean and we had a big room ensuite with a separate are with couch and table.
We will definitely stay here if we visit Berlin again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BendyWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

Easy to find, VERY clean and tidy. Generous space for the money, Very helpful staff, room service daily, ex breakfast with good variety. I would come back definitively,

EX value for money. worth its rating

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 317BarryK317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

Located in great place - this part of district Friedrichshain good place for young tourist, it has youthful, fizzy life. Really cool. The other parts of the city are easily reachable - tram, u-bahn, s-bahn are close there, and it is not far from the center of Berlin, Alexanderplatz. In the surrounding streets you can find lots of cafés, bars to have a breakfast or just drink or eat something. There are groceries too, and about 5-10 mins walk are standing supermarkets.
Our room was on the top, so it was quiet. But not so roomy for 4 persons, and the plus bed was not really comfortable. The bathroom is really small, but clean. The equipment made-up only the necessary things, it's okay.
The staff could't speak english, only some words. We had no problem about this, but some tourist could have - i really don't understand this. There is free internet access, but we couldn't use it anyway. It's possible to have breakfast in the morning, witch is worth it.
In total, this place it better than average, but it's not very good - it needs some improvements. Anyway I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davidabraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

This hotel is in the old East Berlin. The location is fine, only a 10 minute walk to the metro. The rooms have shared bathrooms but the bathrooms are excellent and very clean. The room was small but all that was required for a base for exploring Berlin. It is about half an hour from Alexander Platz (walking and Metro). I stayed here for 4 nights and it worked out about £30 per night for me which I considered excellent value. Previous visitors had said that the ground floor was noisy but I was on the ground floor and heard no noise at all. The entrance arrangements are slightly strange but you are given 2 keys, one for a gate into a courtyard and the other into the hotel. I stayed for 7 days altogether and found Berlin very interesting. The third Reich walking tour was fascinating and led by a young fit American man who strode on ahead at about 5 miles an hour as we toured the main places of interest. At 10 euros each this ( to me ) was amazing value. I bought a 7 day two zone travel pass and a 3 day museum pass and if you are staying for 7 days would recommend both.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scotpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2009

I was going to be in Berlin for one night to catch a flight the next day and wanted a place cheap. I booked the single room on the ground floor with shared bathroom. I was never comfortable with sharing bathrooms but I thought for one night, I would try. The experience was totally fine. It was in the middle of the week and the hotel was not full. I saw two other girls sharing with me the two showers and one toilet. It was fine, very clean. However, I wouldn’t want to do that during busy seasons since you might have to wait for the facilities (and also the possibility of more mess in the bathrooms). The room I stayed in was extremely basic--one single bed with a TV and armchair—but very clean. It’s right next to the reception desk. The window faces a bunch of bikes parked in the central courtyard. So it’s really just a safe, clean place to sleep. Since it’s next to the reception desk, you hear noises of people talking and walking past, which might be a problem when you need to sleep (I used ear plugs and it was fine).

The reception staff showed me one other room (double) with a private bathroom upstairs. That room was much more spacious and it naturally didn’t face a bunch of bikes. I would recommend that.

The owner is a nice man who speaks some single English words. During the day, his staff speak English. Everyone’s nice. The breakfast is sufficient. The juice was much better than juices I got at other 3 or 4 star hotels I stayed at during my trip. It wasn’t freshly squeezed but it’s not the watery stuff I got elsewhere (it was more like Tropicana). There’s free Wifi internet.

The area Friedrichshain is great with lots of restaurants, bars and cafes. The U-bahn is one long block away (about 5min walk). I would recommend this basic, clean and no-nonsense place.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Juncker's Hotel Garni
Juncker's Hotel Garni
#352 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Friedrichshain
nu hotel berlin
nu hotel berlin
#311 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
Zarenhof Friedrichshain
#253 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Hotel & Hostel Friedrichshain
Friedrichshain
Hotel 26
Hotel 26
#323 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Friedrichshain
Upstalsboom Hotel Friedrichshain
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Comenius? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Comenius

Property: Hotel Comenius
Address: Gruenberger Str. 22, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #301 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Comenius 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Comenius reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing