We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booked but didnt stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Atrium Charlottenburg Hotel
Ranked #430 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Booked but didnt stay”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had booked a double room for 3 nights but on arrival were told that that "we would have to change rooms in the morning to a different room"... when questioned the receptionist explained that we would stay the first night in a room with 4 single beds, then move the next day to a double room. As we had booked overa month prior we asked that we have a double room that night also, but she advised that there were none. I advised that we had a booking that was confirmed etc. She explained that bookings come in a ll the time and that the hotel did its best to provide requested rooms etc and was quite pleasant about it.
I said that we would cancel the booking as we realy wanted a double room and we had a confirmed booking for a double, also i wasnt happy about packing our bags the next morning again so they could move our room.
Again the receptionist was pleasant about and it agreed it wasnt good, she even offered to sign a piece of paper on which I had written that we were cancelling due to the lack of a double room.
There didnt appear to be anything she could do for us so we left and went to the Best Western just down the road which was very good.
I guess its summer in Europe and eveyone is busy but it was annoying even with substaintial notice and a confirmed booking we couldnt get the room we had paid for.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    83
    47
    25
    12
See reviews for
39
68
21
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Hotel Atrium (ex Artim) Charlottenburg is located about 20 minutes away from the center of Berlin, with both the S-bahn (Charlottenburg station) and the U-bahn (Wilmersdorfer station) within easy reach, as well as the handy 109 bus (taking you to and from Tegel airport) station located right in front of the hotel. While the area may be further away from popular tourist attractions, you do have the advantage of being closer than most to the Charlottenburg Palace and gardens, as well as to the Berlin Zoo (best part of our trip, so make sure not to miss it!), and the trip to the airport only takes 20 minutes.
The area is quiet, but by no means isolated from the rest of the city, and there are many restaurants around, ranging from Turkish, Italian or international cuisine to the traditional currywurst stand that can satisfy your craving for a bite to eat for only 1-2 Euros.
There is also a nice little Asian supermarket across the street where you can get your grocery shopping done or try some Asian brand products instead of the stuff you’d usually buy.
The hotel was clean and quiet and the staff was polite, although we didn’t get a chance to interact that much, however the room was quite small. As soon as I opened the door to the room, I was immediately greeted by the bed, and the bathroom door had to be closed at all times since it would hit the room door otherwise. But these are only minor details that really made little to no difference after our first day of staying there.
Breakfast is served between 7 – 10 a.m. Monday to Friday and between 8 – 11 a.m. Saturday to Sunday, and the food is alright. They serve an open buffet stocked with beverages such as juice, tea, coffee and milk, several types of bread and bread rolls, yoghurts, fruit compote, fresh cucumber and pickles, cereal, biscuits, butter/margarine, jam, honey, chocolate-hazelnut spread, cream cheese and one type of hard cheese, various types of eggs (hard boiled, omelette, etc.), meatballs and fried ham and many types of cold cuts. The largest part of the buffet is occupied by meat-based products (Germans seem to be very fond of them) and they serve the exact same type of food every day which, for someone planning on a longer stay (we stayed for 9 days), might prove a bit dull. I should also point out they only had a couple of fresh fruits on one or two occasions, so I’m not sure their menu would suit vegetarians or people who are not that fond of meat for breakfast, but all in all, it was ok.
If your pockets aren’t loaded and your guidebook only suggests places for shopping in the price range of KaDeWe and the like (read: big designer brand names and outrageous prices), make sure you head for the Wilmersdorfer U-bahn station, as a shopping district is located about 10 minutes from the hotel, hosting some VERY interesting outlet-type shops (you can easily spend more than one hour in one of them that is quite huge and you’ll get some big designer names for bargain prices), as well as regular fast food places and all the rest.
My only warning about the hotel is that they are sticklers when it comes to the check-in/check-out time, so if you’re going to arrive there early, do not even dream about seeing the inside of your room before 2 p.m. However, they will let you store your luggage for free so you can go explore the city until you can officially be handed the card-key to your room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarkWidow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mallacoota, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2012

Apart from the breakfast, which is generous and tasty, I would give everything else a miss.
Receptionists who aren't very friendly or helpful.
Location is very far away from central Berlin.
No fridge, tea or coffee making facilities in room.
Pillow SO bad I woke up with neck pains every day.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

The hotel is situated near the s bahn and the services into central Berlin are frequent. The hotel itself is basic but clean. The staff are helpful and the breakfast is adequate. Good for visiting Berlin on a budget but with what we paid for in tube and taxis fares we would have been better off staying in the centre of the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroleg41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Although renovations were underway when I stayed here with my boyfriend in december 2011, the staff were friendly and we didn't notice the noise at all in our room. The room was very large with lots of space and a decent sized bathroom. The breakfast was generous and good variety! Overall had a wonderful time at this hotel.Located close to the train station!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

The hotel is good. Convenient location, close to many cafes and shops of different cuisine. Near the station S-ban, from it you can get to almost any station, not far from metro station and right in front of a bus stop. Rooms clean, but the size is not large. At the reception desk is always ready to help. Food delicious, always fresh, big enough choice the only thing that repeats every day. To whom it may eat up to, I'm not bothered. Next to a bar with girls, but does not notice it. The hotel is suitable for young people, tour programs, or those traveling on business. Good 3 *

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bagin1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samara
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This hotel is really good for its 3 stars. The rooms, though close, but very clean and the furniture is cheap, but the new thing that has pleased. Staff polite, willing to listen to questions and suggestions have helped, if applied to them, and 24 hours a day. Power, yes, lean, and if to come for breakfast among the latter, you can go without coffee or milk or sosisek)), etc. .. But that's the whole stuff. The hotel is located very close to the subway and the only minus in front of hotel at night, and Turkish settlements nearby prostitutes work, it's nice when you go to a friends and not so great when you go with your family .. But it is in the eye, in any case is not evident and, in principle, does not create a nuisance. By the way, the water is hot, indeed, in the hospitality during peak hours virtually non-existent at night is fine) Total all good).

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andyl2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
A I Hotel Koenigshof
A I Hotel Koenigshof
#452 of 634 in Berlin
86 reviews
Europa City Hotel
#436 of 634 in Berlin
224 reviews
Charlottenburg
Art-Hotel Charlottenburger Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Atrium Hotel Berlin
#557 of 634 in Berlin
68 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Abendstern
Hotel Abendstern
#309 of 634 in Berlin
207 reviews
Hotel-Pension Rheingold
#480 of 634 in Berlin
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atrium Charlottenburg Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atrium Charlottenburg Hotel

Property: Atrium Charlottenburg Hotel
Address: Kaiser-Friedrich-Str. 53, 10627 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #430 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atrium Charlottenburg Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Atrium Charlottenburg Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artim Charlottenburg Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing