We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like in hospital”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ellington Hotel Berlin
Ranked #143 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Feels like in hospital”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This hotel is rather original than cosy. It is an old historical building reconstructed into a hotel. The interior is of a “pure style”, which gives you feeling as you’d be in old hospital. The rooms are small and compact. Bathroom is not separated from the bedroom and the walls are not very noise protected. The windows are large like a shop-windows, which is great for getting lots of daylight, however, before you go to take a shower, make sure the curtains are pulled out as it is easy to view your room from the houses across the street… and the daylight is gone then.. The rooms, in general, are very efficient. Service is fine, but bit “cold”. The hotel charges for internet (wi-fi) access, despite the fact you are hiring the conference room for two days, considerable fee per IP address (i.e. per person). This is quite old-fashion and outlived to me...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaZCZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    419
    202
    47
    24
See reviews for
75
315
73
373
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ekero, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Ellington for just one night in July and found the hotel very nice and the staff friendly and helpful. The room on the fifth floor was light and pretty, with the shower in the room and separate loo, which worked well. The hotel is in a charming building a very short distance from KaDeWe which makes it very handy for Ku'damm, the Zoo and Charlottenburg. The restaurant looked nice and we had a glass of wine in the comfortable and quiet courtyard bar.

We didnt try the breakfast as we found it very expensive - €20 per person! We instead walked over to Literaturhaus on Fasanenstrasse which is very lovely but you have to get there right when they open if you want a seat!

The only problem we found with the room was the size, there was no place to stow bags if we'd had hard suitcases.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tomlinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012 via mobile

Unique building in the heart of the city with an amazing courtyard!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FromDtotheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I have stayed at Ellington Hotel a numerous times during the past couple of years. I have stayed in Standard rooms, Superior, Deluxe, Suite and this time I decided to book a Tower Suite, due to the 'fantastic view of Berlin'. I must say, it was a huge disappointment and not worth the price. The 'fantastic view' the claim is just the buildings opposite. Also, just outside the window is a stream of lights that is not turned off until 2 in the morning, which means the room is constantly lit.
The service in the morning restaurant is terrible, I had an encounter with a waitor, who was extremely rude to us. He was more concerned about his looks, than serving the guests.
All in all a true disappointment this time, and I will look for alternatives for my next visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank annans7Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We booked to stay at the Ellington to explore the xmas markets and this amazing city of Berlin. We stayed here due to a 'generic' online city break offer website, and so arrived with many other people on the same night. However, its true what they say about the Germans, extremely efficient and quick service. With minimal fuss we were in our completely white room in no time! Very spacehip-esque!

Throughout our stay the staff were friendly, helpful, and very very quick at checking is in and out. They kept our baggage in a very secure and organised hold area for our last day. I was very impressed by the level of service.

The hotel itself is in a great location, just five minutes walk from the U-Bahn, so you can explore the city. Also, you are right next to the magnificant cathedral, a few xmas markets (in December) and the brilliant KaWeDe which was always worth an evening visit for a nice cake or ellaborate gift.

I imagine without a discount this is fairly pricey, but it is well worth it. Perfect for a city break. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

The hotel is really nice and quiet for such a central location. Room was clean and comfortable, breakfast adequate, but not special.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank AndKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Stayed here for Christmas markets December 2011 and found it to be a great west berlin location and a unique place to stay! Close to main metro station (5-10min walk) and mega department stores -good for shopping (Ka de We) and breakfast on the food floor! Hotel very white & clinical and minimalist - but this means it is CLEAN! Some people may find odd that shower was in the bedroom not a separate room?!! Room view was at back - so view of car park - but it was quiet and if you're in Berlin then it's an industrial/ commercial city so wouldn't expect a green view. Staff were professional and helpful and assisted in pre-booking a trip to the Reichstag dome (must do at least 3 days in advance) and printing out relevant documentation free of charge. If you ask staff will help as much as possible. Interesting and cosmopolitan staff - always a bonus in hotels! Cafe de Paris - 5 min walk away - good value for breakfast and lattes. East Berlin/ Alexanderplatz do-able on metro and mainline and Schlosse Charlottenburg Palace in Outer west berlin (quieter day) only 20mins away on metro.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScouseLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Schoneberg
Mercure Berlin Wittenbergplatz
Charlottenburg
Scandic Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Charlottenburg
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
H10 Berlin Ku'damm
#36 of 634 in Berlin
1,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Berliner Hof Hotel
Berliner Hof Hotel
#157 of 634 in Berlin
579 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Crowne Plaza Berlin City Centre
Schoneberg
Ibis Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ellington Hotel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellington Hotel Berlin

Property: Ellington Hotel Berlin
Address: Nuernberger Str. 50-55, 10789 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#104 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#164 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ellington Hotel Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ellington Hotel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berlin Ellington Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing