We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aside from the street noise, an excellent find!”
Review of Pension Peters

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pension Peters
Ranked #7 of 194 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed 4 nights in early Sept. 2012. Staff are VERY friendly and helpful. Our room on the second floor was very large with big windows, lots of light and very clean. Breakfast was wonderful and in a bright ground level room looking out on the street. Easy 1 KM walk to the Zoo transportation hub to catch buses and trains. Tons of reasonably priced restaurants within easy walking distance. (a few blocks). The only downside was our room was above the bars, and Berliners like to party until 3:30 A.M. all week long. Yes, you can close the windows, but then the room gets stuffy. Bring ear-plugs and have a good sleep, because this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: You can try asking for a room that doesn't sit over the bars on the street for something a littl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RND22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 311 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

As others have written, conveniently located in western Berlin between two train stops. Zoo stop is also end of line for many buses.
Had room #12, a single room facing courtyard. Quiet. Doesn't get sunlight. Basic furniture, small toilet. Poor lighting not conducive for reading. Needs a luggage rack. Had to put suitcase on trash can. The upholstered chair should be replaced with a plastic or wooden chair that can be easily cleaned. Also small rug seemed dirty so I tried to avoid touching it.
Daisy, Uwe and Charlie were so helpful. Good info about the city, even called hotels in other cities for me to book ahead.

Neighborhood nice, safe and pleasant for walking around. Lots of restaurant choices.
Breakfast fine but boring after a couple of days. Needs some variety.

Despite the criticism, I would recommend it especially because of the friendly service.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KitFujian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at Pension Peters for four nights during the weekend of 28 September to 1 October (Berlin Marathon). The rooms are spotlessly clean and tidy as are the beds and the excellent shower. The hotel itself is situated in the prestigious SavignyPlatz and is close to a large number of cafes and restaurants and the S Bahn. Pension Peters represents excellent value for money and I recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

While I was initially a bit worried about our room based on the condition and cleanliness of the hallways, I was pleasantly relieved when we entered our room. Our room was clean and spare but completely sufficient for our needs. The free wifi was a bit tricky at times, but overall didn't prevent us from doing what we needed to do online. Breakfast was the same everyday, but there was enough variety for me, and it was all good. It's conveniently located to both an S-Bahn and U-Bahn station, and the bus from the airport dropped us off just a few blocks away. A good value option.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I was really pleased with our 4 night stay at the Pension Peters. The location was good, and we always felt safe in the neighborhood; being near the S-Bahn and the Bahnhof Zoo made it easy to get around town. The rooms were small but nice, and the shower was great. The breakfast was especially good. I enjoyed the free WiFi, and my travel buddy enjoyed the computer available for guests who didn't bring theirs along. One tip about the WiFi; you have to sign in frequently; for some reason it doesn't remember you, but don't worry about it, it is free. Daisy gave us a thorough orientation to the city when we arrived, and the hotel staff was friendly and always available to help. The art in the rooms was rather unusual, but it amused us. I would be glad to stay here again, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msrlswan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Although this is highly rated by many and recommended by a renowned "Back-Door Traveler", I was somewhat underwhelmed. We were assigned a small room #6 which is across a courtyard from the main building. Although it was shielded from the noise that would be expected on such a busy street, we were awakened early by the rattling and rolling of nearby garbage bins. Our room was spartan with just a wardrobe, two chairs and table. There was no place to set our cases to load or unload. Lino floors with a couple of throw rugs...
We asked for advice for finding a secure parking lot for our rented van and were told, "I ride public transportation and don't know about that stuff". I would think that an innkeeper ought to know something about the neighborhood. After a bit of a search, we found a garage just 100 meters away. Got one recommendation for a restaurant but, again, found numerous offerings at nearby, less expensive and pretentious eateries. The neighborhood is fine but it is no short walk to either places to hop on either public or private tours buses.
The breakfast was good enough but I've had comparable at hostels that charge about one third the price for a night's stay. They prefer cash payment but will take credit card for a 3.5% upcharge. For the price of the room, $100+, you would think they could absorb the card charges.
Friendly enough staff, spartan rooms, only fair location, okay breakfast= over priced, over lauded.

Room Tip: Traveled in a party of six and visited three rooms. All had their drawbacks. If ever I went back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank czken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I had a very small room with the bathroom next door. The bathroom was bigger than the bedroom. Still as a single traveler with only a large backpack the small room was okay. No A-C, free wi-fi in room, and very clean room and bathroom. Great location with very short walk to S-Bahn. Plenty of shops, food options, etc. nearby. Good budget option.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#125 of 634 in Berlin
797 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hommage a Magritte
Hommage a Magritte
#2 of 194 in Berlin
373 reviews
Mitte
CALMA Berlin Mitte
CALMA Berlin Mitte
#6 of 194 in Berlin
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel-Pension Bregenz
#11 of 194 in Berlin
357 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Pension Absolut Berlin
Pension Absolut Berlin
#17 of 194 in Berlin
100 reviews
Schoneberg
ArtHotel Connection
ArtHotel Connection
#8 of 194 in Berlin
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Peters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Peters

Address: Kantstr. 146 | Charlottenburg, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 194 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range: $64 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Peters 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small hotel in the very heart of the city, which is managed directly and personally by its proprietor and which appreciates and cultivates the special flair of the genuine "guest house." Pension Peters is a place with a family atmosphere and an unmistakable personal touch, a good-tasting breakfast, huge and bright rooms, comfortable beds and free fast internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pension Peters reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pension Peters Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing