We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable, comfortable and fun hostel”
Review of Schlafmeile Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Schlafmeile Hostel
Ranked #442 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Went here with the lads in July 2011 on our eurotrip. Had a great stay, I enjoyed the fact that the doors could be opened from the street as it meant no having to go through a reception or commons area. Clean and fun kitchen with other friendly people staying there. Always a buzz in the common area when you went in, which livened up at night. Very cheap at just under 20 quid a night and super close to Frankfurter Allee tube station.

Will definitely go back if I go back to Berlin on a budget.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 140 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

Short walk from Frankfurter Allee train station, which is no more than 15 minutes away from the city center by public transport.
Friendly staff. Great food and beer at the restaurant, and still very cheap.
Try Anne's(?) bacon and eggs for breakfast - very nice and just like the bacon and eggs you get at home!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theJoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I chose Schlafmeile Hostel on the basis that it was the first entry on a quick and desperate computer search performed on HostelWorld after arriving at the Berlin bus station on the overnight coach from Amsterdam. It was cheap and close to the airport (Schonefeld) where I would eventually leave Berlin from. Travelling with a friend, we believed when booking that we would have to wait until after 2pm to check in. But when we arrived we were greeted enthusiastically and ushered straight into a room at 9.30 in the morning. After a nap in a comfortable bed we went in search of food and found an extensive menu at the bar of the hostel. The food was delicious and affordable and the service was excellent.

The hostel is located in East Berlin but it is a simple city to navigate and you can get anywhere. The advantage of staying in this district is that it is very cheap. Even if you are seeking some serious nightlife this is an ideal place to stay because you can take advantage of the cheap drinks at the hostel bar (and in the supermarket across the road) and then take the train to elsewhere in the city. If you simply want a good night's sleep (which let's face it we all need after an honest night's drinking) then you will certainly find it here.

The staff are very friendly and very helpful. The owner has a typical Kiwi love of life and was a great laugh. There is a common room where you can meet other guests, the hostel is clean, the showers hot and the coffee ready and waiting to counter the hangover in the morning. As a place to stay I can't speak highly enough of this place. I was there for three nights and never encountered any bed allocation problems at all. Some of the other guests did have to move rooms during the time I was there but they were long-term 'residents' and didn't mind this at all. All in all, I would strongly recommend this place to anyone staying in Berlin.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2011

We stayed here 3 nights and chose it because it was a New Zealand hostel and we are both kiwis. The kiwi owner was really helpful and nice but the other staff didnt appear to be very happy or friendly. Hostel was impecably clean and the owners daughter has done artwork on the walls which is nice.

The hostel is really quiet and unsociable, this was probably because the hostel is quite far away from where all the action is. The centre is easy to get to via public transport.

The staff were careless with the allocation of beds in the room and my boyfriend and I had to share a single bed one of the nights because someone took his bed and we werent sure if the other beds were free and reception was closed when we got home at night so we couldnt inform them. A numbering system for the bunk beds might be a good idea.

Personally I wouldnt return again, but the hostel is ideal for people who enjoy a quiet stay away from the hustle and bustle. We also found the street to walk down uneasy at night and a bit far

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kylee181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

All in all disappointing. The main guy, was a average to poor host, who did not give us useful advice on nightlife, we had better luck just heading out and finding stuff ourselves. We were overcharged for a room, as one guy did not show up so we had to pay for his bed still (though someone else then took it even though je charged us for it) We never found the cheap breakfast offered, and office hours are bad, especially if you leave early or arrive late, as you then wave goodbye to key deposit. Location is not bad, though better can ne found, and the rooms where clean.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamieamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I have never written a review and am generally satisfied, but this time I have to make an exception.

Our flight is late, we arrive at 11:15pm and reception is closed. We are told by a patron to wait and see if they show up. We wait until 2am, then end up having no option but to stay at a hotel. This is understandably not their fault, but the drama ensued from this.

First thing next morning we check in and they tell us the room has ben given away. The hostile worker then says "ok maybe you will be lucky" and takes us to a room. We were "lucky" and were given 2 beds.

that night we return after a day of sightseeing and the beds have been occupied. The occupiers tell us that they had checked in that night. As we have already paid for our beds and could not afford the steep price of a hotel again, we have no option
but to sleep on the floor.

Next morning, another hostile worker says it is our fault we checked in late and another worker didn't write it down. We are again given two different beds.

That night, one of the beds was occupied so again, one of us slept on the floor.

3rd day, we are told to leave by 11 and come back at 3 because the bed I had slept in the night before was booked and I had to change rooms. so, we are left with our bags, waiting around until 3 when we may have a place that WE HAVE ALREADY PAID FOR. I told the man at the desk that we one of us had not had a bed for the past few nights and he shrugged and said move your stuff out by 11.

The only positive thing I can say about this hostel is that the rooms are clean. The staff are hostile and unwilling to accommodate, and I would not recommend it to anyone.

Stay at wombats or at christophers, it will only be an extra 6 euro per night that you would spend on trains per day to commute to the centre.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rebecccy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

This hostel has everything you need - clean, nice wide beds, great location, friendly staff... And for the price they charge - it's brilliant value! Really recommend. Bit annoying that since there is only ever 1 person on duty, sometimes you can't find them - but that's a small price to pay for such a bargain. Bring your laptop or smartphone - they've got good WiFi, but only 1 computer to use.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ness_Smidre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
#351 of 635 in Berlin
89 reviews
Hotel B1
#423 of 635 in Berlin
96 reviews
Charlottenburg
Smart Stay Hotel Berlin City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Hotel Lichtenberg
#376 of 635 in Berlin
303 reviews
Lichtenberg
Hotel-Pension Victoria
Hotel-Pension Victoria
#356 of 635 in Berlin
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlafmeile Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlafmeile Hostel

Address: Weichselstr. 22-26, 10247 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #442 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $13 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 219
Also Known As:
Schlafmeile Hostel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing