We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here in the internet is important to you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Am Savignyplatz
Ranked #459 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Don't stay here in the internet is important to you”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

The hotel is clean, rooms are simply furnished, beds are comfy, but overall we did not think this place gave good value for money. The free internet didn't work most of the time. To access the internet we had to carry our laptop over a courtyard, down a footpath, up a flight of stairs to the breakfast room. After all that, it still didn't work some of the time! This is not good enough.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank julietheoracle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    30
    11
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
11
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2010

My family and I stayed in the Hotel Am Savignyplatz for 4 nights and were quite happy with the hotel. It is inside an apartment building, so the location has a residential (versus large hotel) feel, and our room, while not large, was comfortable and very clean. The hotel is located close to the Savignyplatz SB stop, making it easy to reach the hotel and to go explore the city. The neighborhood is nice, with a number of good restaurants, and the hotel provides a good cold breakfast each morning, with a selection of meats, cheeses, breads, etc, along with juices, coffee, and tea. From when we first made our reservation to when we departed the service was always prompt and helpful.

There are a couple of things to be aware of, though, that could be problematic. First, we didn't find a way to access the hotel, on the first floor (US second floor), using an elevator. This meant having to carry up luggage and a stroller. If you have a lot of luggage, this could be a problem, so check with the hotel first. Second, we did have some noise from the floor above ours. In our case this was someone quite good practicing the piano, but if you are sound sensitive this could make it difficult to sleep. Even though our room faced out onto a major street, we didn't have any problems with street noise, so apparently the insulation around the windows is quite good.

Overall, a nice place to stay, especially for the price, and one we would be willing to return to in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2009

located near a railway station, we had a nice stay at the hotel am Savignyplatz. Rooms were simple but very clean, which seems to be not mandatory in other b&b's i visited during my travels. The quarter around the hotel is a usual Berliner area with lots of small retro/ alterativ/ hippie shows narrow sideways. Though i would not recommend a stay with small children since there's drug trafficing in the area, with is quite common for berlin.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathishark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2008

In a useful location near major railway stations, this hotel gave a very good breakfast and the room was generally comfortable and quiet - well, no noise over the weekend but come Monday morning, the click-clacking of a person wearing metal heels was very audible through the lofty ceiling... very annoying, and I was glad that I was leaving that day. The staff were helpful and this is a good location in a pleasant part of Berlin, an easy taxi trip from Tegel airport. Also very easy by S Bahn to Schonefeld.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank JayeffSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2007

[--] we had a brill time staying here agree with the previous review without repeating ourselves. difference being we had requested a quiet room and was honoured. the main entrance to the hotel can be a little confusing but it doesnt take long to understand were reception was, up the stairs on first floor. i could not fault the hospitality of the staff. this accomadation is great value for money and is central enough to explore. there is only so many things you can do inside a few days so dont push yourself, ttry not to cram everything in because berlin is big and it is amazing. best city we have been to yet. to sum up the hotel is cheap, clean and comfortable. free tea and coffee as much as you like too. it is not luxurious but it is everything you need to explore the city. we truley enjoyed it.

  • Liked — its central location
  • Disliked — the room was a bit small
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chrissymoore29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bognor regis england
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2007

Mike and Doreen May 2007
This is a good hotel for the budget conscious traveller, offering clean spacious rooms with hot showers and large comfortable beds. Free tea and coffee avaliable night and day and a good breakfast make for en enjoyable stay.
Zimmers 1-8 very good and quiet, while 9-11 in the hotel annex are to be avoided at all cost due to excessive overnight noise from upstairs residents.
Reliable and cheap public transport on the doorstep, good and plentiful bars , restaurants and shops make for an ideal location.
Staff have limited english but are very friendly and helpful.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank oxonion24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2007

The location was excellent, about 2 minutes from the Savignyplatz U-Bahn. I had a small single room, but it was very clean. The TV had more channels that I was used to, and amenities like a mint on pillow on arrival and a nice, powerful shower and soap. The bathroom was in good shape, and the wood floor was nice. I'm not sure if the hotel is new or if the rooms were just recently renovated, but it is very up to date and clean. Breakfast is also big, with a lot of nice options.

A couple small negatives. The staff only speak a small amount of English, but I got by okay with pointing and facial expressions. They are all very nice. It can be noisy at night because of both street noise and noise from the other rooms ... the rooms are close together and it was definitely possible to hear people coming in late at night. No staff is present from 10 on, so you have a key to open the front door and another key to open the door to the hotel, which is up one floor from the ground level.

Overall, I had a very nice stay. Good value and amenities for such a location. Also, I don't think many people know about it yet.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank joeyt28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Sir Savigny Hotel
Sir Savigny Hotel
#95 of 634 in Berlin
803 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel-Pension Cortina
Hotel-Pension Cortina
#586 of 634 in Berlin
92 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Carmer 16
Hotel Carmer 16
#349 of 634 in Berlin
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel-Pension Waizenegger
Hotel-Pension Waizenegger
#408 of 634 in Berlin
60 reviews
Charlottenburg
NH Berlin Kurfurstendamm
Charlottenburg
Novum Hotel Gates Berlin Charlottenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Savignyplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Savignyplatz

Property: Hotel Am Savignyplatz
Address: Kantstr. 22, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #459 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Am Savignyplatz 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Am Savignyplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing