We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Berlin
Post
Inbox
Search
Open today: 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience DDR Museum
from $13.23
More Info
from $27.90
More Info
from $109.16
More Info
Reviews (6,024)
Filter reviews
6,024 results
Traveler rating
2,324
2,231
960
353
156
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,324
2,231
960
353
156
Show reviews that mention
All reviews east germany trabant car interrogation room prison cell daily life interactive exhibits iron curtain great for kids interesting insight worth a visit berlin welcome card cold war couple of hours berliner dom on display berlin wall drawers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 6,024 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This small museum is all you need to get the real feel for what it was like in the former DDR. Their hands on displays and mixed media keeps the patrons of all ages engaged. I visited Slovakia right after Communism fell in 1993 and the apartments there were exactly how the apartment in this museum was set up - incredible! Go if you are ever in Berlin.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank 673sheric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This museum is a wealth of information. I spent just over 2 hours with friends and found there was enough to keep our minds occupied. You can book a guided tour but I did this with a small group of friends. You can sit in an old car and drive it like in an arcade and there's an opportunity to see how people lived and dressed. If you buy your ticket ahead online, you won't need to queue. Great morning or afternoon activity.

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank angela g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We - me being Danish, my wife born in the former DDR, and our daughter who was born in the Middle East loved the museum, that in an interactive way provides a great overview of the "good, bad, and the ugly" that was the DDR and how it it fit into the geopolitical setting! And thus of course also how life was for mom and her family.
The only issue is really that the museum was VERY crowded, do do yourselves a favour and book entry times ahead and/or avoid the rush hours!

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Stifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited and was impressed at first but as you go around it becomes clear it cld do with a refresh. The IT to enter is first rate then you’re left to open draws and cupboards to read the information.

This could be improved and then you’d have a lot better experience

Date of experience: January 2020
Thank Fredbear_Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

This is a unique museum with lots of interesting artifacts and details about what it was like to live in East Germany until the fall of the wall in 1989. The product display and representation of daily living is fascinating.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank Floyd S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews