We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient & cheap, but lots of overlooked potential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Three Little Pigs Hostel
Ranked #20 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Level Contributor
197 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Convenient & cheap, but lots of overlooked potential”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed here for two nights in September. We had booked a private double with en-suite and we were pleasantly surprised upon entering our room – I’ve stayed in many a hostel in my time and this has to be one of the nicest (and cleanest!) rooms I’ve stayed in.

The hostel is conveniently located close to the S-bahn and is a short walk away from Checkpoint Charlie and the Brandenburg Tor. There is also a supermarket within a block and plenty of restaurants/cafes in the area.

There is a large common area downstairs near reception with dining tables, couches, booths and some pool tables, they sell drinks at reception (you can’t bring in your own alcohol) and this is also the only area where the wifi works and where they provide a buffet breakfast for 5 Euros – however we had brought our own food with us – so we didn’t try it.

Our room was large in size (the site used to be a convent – so the rooms have high ceilings) – the building itself has some character (yes it’s a little old & rustic) but that just adds to the charm and certainly doesn’t distract from its comfort. The bathroom was also large in size and was spotlessly clean; towels & linen were provided. The walls are quite thick (an unusual characteristic for a hostel) but fortunate for here as there tends to be many school groups passing through – while they were a little loud and distracting in the common area (teenagers!!) – once we were in our room, we couldn’t hear them.

There are two reasons why I didn’t give it 5 stars: Firstly – the staff (unhelpful, unfriendly and barely raised a smile) make a concerted effort to (sternly!!) remind you not to smoke in the building – yet they proceed to smoke in the doorway (not 3m or further from the door but in the actual doorway) – you have to literally squeeze past them (& their smoke) to get out, – this also resulted in a great deal of smoke wafting into the common area and Secondly; the kitchen – which was a mess. It is apparent that the kitchen is only cleaned once a week – but the state of the fridge and the amount of unwashed dishes was off-putting. They have signs up asking people to clean-up after themselves, but a hostel this size (with a high turnover of clients) should be able to hire someone to spend at least an hour a day in the kitchen keeping it clean.

Convenient and cheap if that is what you’re looking for, otherwise a lot of missed potential that could be tapped to make it a more enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelling_Bilbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    280
    90
    24
    16
See reviews for
33
90
202
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novi Sad, Serbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed there with my wife for 7 nights while I attended academic conference. We took one double room with shared facilities for 383 eur (7 days, 2 people).
I am very satisfied with our stay there, the location of the hostel is great, there are 2 bus and 1 S-Bahn station very close by (less than 100 m). Also, Checkpoint Charlie is within walking distance.
There is 5 eur per person all-you-can-eat smörgåsbord option (which we enjoyed almost every day), and hostel also offers 12 eur per day bicycle rental (Berlin looks like very bike-friendly city).
The rooms are decent, the staff is polite (mainly young people) and the facilities are very clean and well-maintained.
There are only few drawbacks to the hostel:
1. There were a LOTS of noisy, screaming schoolkids during our last 4-5 days (first few days it was quiet and peaceful). Fortunately, they weren't located in our wing. Also, our room seems to have had awesome sound isolation.
2. At the check-in, clerk didn't want to accept out 500 eur bank note. We had minor problems trying to break it in 100 eur bills (our check-in was on Saturday afternoon).
3. The elevator is super slow and can take only 3 people (we were on the 5th floor and I'm extremely lazy).
All in all, if you are on a tight budget (like we were), I honestly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meelosh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK Southeast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

I haven't ever posted a negative review but really wasn't keen on this hostel. It gets a 2 star purely for it's location. It is 10 minute walk from Potsdamer Platz and 15 minutes from the Holocaust Memorial, Brandenburg Tor and various other big attractions.

However, the hostel was full for 4 of my 5 nights with large groups of German school kids. Most were teenagers that spent the whole time running around or congregating by the pool tables, where they just shouted the whole time. Maybe I just got unlucky with the timing of my stay. Thing is when there are about 100 kids there it means there are very few other travellers so it was impossible to mingle and meet people. They also play the most dull and morbid music so it is really quite a depressing place at times.

I also had some idiots in my room. Again, this is just hard luck, but the hostel do very little to enforce any kind or rules to make the stay a nice one. Two German men would walk in at 4-6 am each night, switch the main light on, open the curtains and then just chat until they fell asleep. This is nothing against German people as a whole, it is just there were several incidents with idiots showing no respect for others and on each occasion they were German. No-one else seemed to cause a problem.

The staff are also very lacklustre in making any effort. They either sit quietly behind the counter or stand outside smoking. On a few occasions I asked to use the internet or buy a drink not once was there a "hello", "please" or "thankyou". I stayed at the Generator in Copenhagen the two nights prior to staying here and the difference was amazing. In Copenhagen there was an effort to smile and be friendly but I never saw this once in Berlin. It just felt a bit miserable.

All in all it could be a nice hostel if more effort was made. I was very glad to leave though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stu_uk100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is a good place if you have not much money and are in high school on a field trip, which a large percentage of the hostel guests seemed to be. The building is in a good location, but it is old, and gives the impression of a mental hospital. Rooms have really thick walls but with minimal furnishings, the internet only works in the lobby, and bathrooms will remind you of what you see a prison movie (communal showers). The wall inside the building has stencil art that tries to make the place look more lively, but doesn't work. It matches the theme of the place: it gives the appearance of an attempt to cover up something bad with something quick and cheap, like putting lipstick on a pig. Elevators are slow and don't allow more than 3 guests at a time, lights flicker, and the room layout is strange. It is good for a night if you are in a pinch, but there are better options in Berlin.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank C_H959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2012

This is an excellent place, excellent reception, a young and dynamic team, smiling.
A good place to meet people in the kitchen, in the hall and outside.
The place is near the U Bahn and the bus, open 24H/24H.
The quality is excellent and the price is cheap.
The room and bathroom are clean and nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I had stayed in a couple of hostels before this one and really didn't expect it to be that nice because it was so cheap, but 3LPH was honestly one of the highlights of my holiday because the staff were so friendly, breakfast was really cheap and the dining hall where everyone hangs out is the best place to meet people. It was a really great atmosphere and I know this isn't a huge factor in choosing somewhere to stay but the music they played in the dining hall every day was so good! Black Keys and Rolling Stones get a big thumbs up. The hostel's also really close to everything, so it didn't take long to get to sights like the Brandenburger Tor even by walking (probably about 20 minutes walk). I will be staying in this hostel again in the future for sure. It was awesome.

Room Tip: Dorms aren't really loud like you'd expect and if you're wanting to make friends while y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madeleine_1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The place was nice and clean. Having a room very close to the entrance, I expected a lot of noise, but that has not been the case. Good hostel for the price. 5 min walk from a S-Bahn station (Anhalter Bahnhof) and 10 minute walk from Potsdamerplatz. Also, the staff is nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno_gm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 349 in Berlin
898 reviews
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#4 of 349 in Berlin
378 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#2 of 349 in Berlin
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#14 of 349 in Berlin
678 reviews
Mitte
baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Three Little Pigs Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Little Pigs Hostel

Property: Three Little Pigs Hostel
Address: Stresemannstr. 66, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 349 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Three Little Pigs Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Three Little Pigs Hostel Berlin shines with its central location directly at the Potsdamer Platz. Surrounded by Berlin's most famous sights as the Brandenburger Tor, the Checkpoint Charlie and the magnificient boulevard "Unter den Linden", the Three Little Pigs Hostel Berlin also offers short walking distances to several places of cultural interest and museums. Berlin's young and multicultural district 'Kreuzberg' - in which the Youth Hostel is placed- is well known for its awesome concerts, night clubs and typical Berlin Life. A recommendable place to find out, why Berlin is so en vogue! At our youth hostel guests sleep in a former nunnery with a unique atmosphere. Due to our quiet location, it is easy to switch off from city hustle and bustle, it is even possible to hear the birds singing - right in the middle of Berlin. Stay with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Three Little Pigs Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
3 Little Pigs Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing