We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, well worth a visit!”
Review of Hotel OTTO

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel OTTO
Ranked #20 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent location, well worth a visit!”
Reviewed August 24, 2010

The Hotel Otto is a great place to stay. It's central and within easy walking distance to the U-bahn (Ernst Reuter Platz- 5 mins from hotel) and the S-Bahn (Savignyplatz- 10 mins walk). I was fortunate to be upgraded to a studio apartment on the 6th floor , which was really good.

It was clean throughout and had great facilities. A lovely comfortable double bed and spacious wardrobes with a safe inside. The kitchenette had a 2 ring electric hob and a full size fridge, which I found very useful. The cupboards had 1 frying pan and 1 saucepan, crockery, cutlery and even a corkscrew. It even had a cafetiere with free coffee, which was a nice touch. The room was cleaned every day and the Zents toiletries were lovely. It was nice to have extras like a hairdryer and a TV. There was even a dvd player if you wanted it. I had lovely views over the city from a mini balcony.

The hotel's lounge and breakfast/cafe room on the 7th floor was nice and had great views from the balcony patio. However, every time I went up there, there were no cakes (I think I must have timed it wrong!) but there was fresh fruit and coffee available.

The staff were very helpful and polite. I liked the fact that when I spoke to them in German, they answered me in German, rather than in English. I have an A-level in German so I like to practise using what I know! Their English was excellent though as I overheard them talking to other guests. I was also able to leave my backpack locked away reception on my last day, as my flight wasn't until the evening and staff were very accomodating.

The nearest supermarket that I found was a 'Netto' on the corner where Knesebeckstrasse meets the Kufurstendamm road. It was a bit like Lidl. On the actual road of the Hotel Otto, there is a lovely bakery, a pharmacy and a digital photo printing shop that I found sells batteries if you need them for your camera!

Be warned though- most of the shops are closed on Sundays so don't plan to go shopping then.

Overall, a fantastic location, clean and smart, with helpful staff. I would happily go back again!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marple27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    370
    38
    13
    2
See reviews for
296
400
120
194
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 15, 2010

I stayed at the Hotel Otto in August 2010 after reading the excellent reviews on trip advisor. My stay at Hotel Otto Berlin for 3 nights was in a comfort room. The room was bigger than I expected and there was even a luggage room as part of the room. The hotel staff were friendly and always helpful especially when I asked about recommendations about eating at local restaurants. The location is great. Charlottenburg is a lovely part of Berlin. I especially liked the roof terrace at the top of the hotel. I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelkuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2010

Having as always used Tripadviser to work out the best place to stay we opted for hotel Otto and this turned out to be a great choice.

As other reviews have stated its a great area with lots of resturants and the area has a great vibe.

The hotel room is very hot at night and you do need to open the window or put on the fan but its no hardship to do this.

Hotel very clean and liked the set up of the rooms and staff happy to help.

All in all a great stay and this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windy1875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2010

Hotel Otto is very centrally located in Berlin. The underground (U2) is just around the corner. There is also a taxi stand just around the corner – with a line of waiting taxis day & night. There are lots of restaurants and smaller shops throughout the entire hotel neighborhood.

The reception personnel were very friendly and helpful. The front door is locked / reception is closed from 8:00 p.m. until early morning (I am not sure how they handle late arrivals). You need your room key to open the front door in the evenings.

During the day small cakes, coffee, tea, water and juice is offered (free-of-charge) to all guests at the 7th floor dining area.

Breakfast is from 7:00 a.m. until noon. Breakfast costs 13 Euro per person. It is well worth it. Lots of fresh fruit, juice, muesli, bread, pastries, eggs, sausages, etc.

All common areas in the hotel are clean and tidy. Our room was very spacious. Everything in the room was very clean (bathroom, sheets – spotless). There was even a walk-in wardrobe. Hairdryer, soap, hand cream, shampoo, etc. is available in the room

The hotel offers you unlimited bottled water. A bottle is placed in your room upon arrival. Simply go to the reception to get a new one once it is empty.

Free internet is available. Ask for it at the reception. You will need a user name and password. The pass is valid for 24 hours of internet usage. If you need more, simply get a new pass from the reception.

The television in the room was very small. However, Berlin offers a great night life.

The rooms are very quite. We didn’t hear any noise (or neighbors) during the day and at night.

There are no balconies in the rooms (there is a balcony – where you can sit outside – on the 7th floor dining area).

There is a small safe in the room.

I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bm73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2010

Amazing hotel! Highly recommended, comfortable, clear rooms and fantastic breakfast. Friendly staff, convenient location.. a very nice place to stay if you visit Berlin. If only the treated mineral water was a litlle bit cooler, it would be just perfect!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene_7770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

I stayed in Hotel Otto for 2 days during a business trip in Berlin. The hotel is nice and cozzy and some of the best staff I have seen, especially for a 4 star hotel, the service was far better than most 5 star I have stayed. The rooms are very clean and there is a free wifi and free bottles of water for all guests which was very nice. It is close to pretty much everything in berlin, and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enterpreneur1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2010

I have travelled far and wide over the years. I have travelled for pleasure and for business. I have stayed in the most plush of the luxury hotels and in backpackers digs as well. But, I have never stayed in a hotel which has as friendly and helpful a staff as Hotel Otto in Berlin. The hotel has great location and great rooms - no doubt, but its staff takes the cake. And this is true for each and every member of the staff at the reception. All of them go out of their way to advise you on sights and attractions. They always seem to be patient, relaxed and happy.

Now coming to the room - I booked a single room, but was given a great double room - I was told that all rooms are at least as big - the only difference is in the rate (for single use it is cheaper!). The decor and style is minimalist, but very comfortable. I really appreciated the unlimited free bottles of water - a rarity in Europe.

The location is great for people who want to use public transportation - the hotel is strategically situated almost midway between a U Bahn and a S Bahn stop. The neighbourhood is quiet with some very good restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,647 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#13 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel OTTO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel OTTO

Property: Hotel OTTO
Address: Knesebeckstrasse 10, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Berlin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#14 Family Hotel in Berlin
#18 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#50 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel OTTO 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our privately run Hotel OTTO is only minutes away from the famous Kurfurstendamm. Surrounded by theatres, museums, restaurant, bars and boutiques it is the ideal starting point to explore Germany's pulsating capital. For short trips as well as business. 46 Rooms and studios offer you functional design and highest comfort. Greet the day in the breakfast lounge "Etage07" with an extraordinary view over the rooftops of Berlin. Our very favourite place: the sundeck! Our Hotel OTTO is only minutes away by taxi from the Berlin convention centre. The Undergound Station (Ernst-Reuter-Platz), the S-Bahn Station (Savignyplatz) and several busses are only minutes of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel OTTO reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Otto Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing