We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best place in Berlin”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hommage a Magritte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hommage a Magritte
Ranked #2 of 187 Berlin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Poznan, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best place in Berlin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Hommage a Magritte is one and the only place where you can feel like home ... and even though you see people there for the first time in your life, you feel you known them since ever :) great interior design and very comfortable rooms! Delicious breakfast :) Great localization - near metro and great a restaurant. The host - Aurelia and Roman ... you can't imagine better one !!! Can't wait to go there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    51
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
53
154
29
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

I'm an architect who flew into Berlin from the US in May and stayed at the Hommage a Magritte for a week to attend a wedding. The location was prime: right off the Kudamm in the heart of Savignyplatz, one of Berlin's best shopping/dining neighborhoods. It was the perfect jumping-off point for our adventures around town. Just as other folk have written, owners Roman and Aurelia were super-friendly without being over-obtrusive. Roman gave me great destinations to visit that I would have otherwise missed. My room was spare in the minimal European way, exceptionally clean, and very comfortable. And the public room up front was a great place to hang out with friends drinking a glass of wine, eat breakfast, or read a book. The street-front balcony was just the right height for people-watching. When I return to Berlin, I will DEFINITELY stay there again! It is indeed "a special place".

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fisherarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed here in June with our 15 month old son and enjoyed it so much we extended our stay to 4 nights. As our first overseas holiday with a child we were worried about some places not being child friendly but Roman and Aurelia could not have been more accommodating. It was the little things they did like closing off the doors to the eating area so that we would not have to constantly keep a young child quiet. All of the guests were so friendly to our son and this was no doubt partly because of the way that Roman and Aurelia treated us. Roman also recommended 2 fantastic restaurants ( Vietnamese and Italian ) which were both very authentic, reasonably priced and not touristy.
I was concerned about the size of the rooms especially with a portacot and Roman advised me to book a premier room which although was 20 euros a night more gave us so much space for our son and his toys. The bed was very comfortable and bathroom/shower excellent. The breakfast each morning was also very good with fresh pastries, fruit, meat, eggs, cereal etc. the location is lovely as well, ( west berlin is definitely a much nicer area to stay in )
Berlin was the start of our trip and we did not find another place in Germany or the UK that rivalled the experience at Hommage a Magritte.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aimsw31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the unique hotel during July 2013 and was impressed with the art, the attention to detail, and ideal location. It is not your ordinary anonymous experience - think "boutique guesthouse".

Roman advised us about restaurants and places to visit - we would have missed Cafe im Literaturhause and the Schloss Charlottenburg otherwise ... wish we had more time to visit the excellent art exhibits Roman mentioned.

Aurelia's breakfasts are worth staying in for. We also got a graciously late check out before our long haul flight home that we appreciate greatly.

Helpful?
2 Thank Manti_Gr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pickering, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Was fortunate to spend time at this small boutique hotel after our Baltic cruise. Situated in west Berlin zoo area just half a block off the Kudamm and close to the subway lines, it is the perfect jumping off point for all your Berlin adventures. Roman was the best host with his attentive but not obtrusive demeanor. Great breakfast, clean rooms with an artistic flair, free WiFi and reasonable rates. We had a room overlooking the courtyard. Peaceful and serene setting in comfortable bed, we slept well.
We will be going back and will be our only choice of where to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sidvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Our friends booked the hotel for our long weekend trip to Berlin. I was not expecting a great deal, as I am happy with a quiet, clean hotel at fair prices. What we got surpassed my expectations!

This hotel is very new and clean, and seems to be well built to last. It takes up a single (part) floor on an old apartment complex. Once through the main entrance door and up some steep steps you enter the world of Magritte! Delightful artwork on all walls and each bedroom with its own work of art on the wall (not hung on the wall, painted).

As mentioned elsewhere, the owners are friendly, helpful and ready to make your stay in Berlin more enjoyable if you need any advice or guidance.

The area of the hotel is pretty quiet, but just off the main West Berlin shopping street, with a many restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk. You really feel that you are out of the centre of a big city. The metro (choice of 2 stations) is also just minutes away, meaning you can travel around Berlin quickly and safely.

A few points that should be mentioned; this is not a full service hotel. It provides bed and breakfast and no other meals or facilities. This will be fine for most people. Also, the entry is up a short but very steep set of stairs with no lift access - not a problem for many, but if you have difficulty moving around or young kids this may be a problem.

All in all, I and my partner had a very enjoyable time in Berlin which was enhanced by our stay at this wonderful find. Should I be in Berlin in the future, I shall certainly check availability at this hotel first.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_Warsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this boutique hotel for a few days with a couple of friends. We will definitely stay here again next time we visit Berlin. This hotel is special for four key reasons: location, quality, price and service.

Location, location, location. The hotel is very centrally located in "West Berlin" (this is an advantage because most of "East Berlin" is still a noisy and dusty construction site) and it is close to the main transport links (both underground and aboveground) which makes sightseeing easy. The charming Savigny platz lined with restaurants and bars is a short stroll from the hotel and the main Berlin shopping street is just around the corner. Despite being so central, this is a place where you can get some rest. The street on which the hotel is located is quiet and lined with trees.

The hotel is completely renovated and consists of 18 guest rooms, a breakfast area with a small balcony and a reception hall. The rooms have high ceilings, modern furniture and fittings and a very comfortable bed. As the name of the hotel suggests, Magritte inspired frescos can be found throughout. The place is brand new (opened not more than 6 months ago) and impeccably clean. The breakfasts are fresh, tasty and plentiful. Importantly, you don't have to pay through the nose for this luxury. The prices are very reasonable at 100-120 Euros per night per room with breakfast. It really is the perfect place to stay for those who are bored with the blandness of hotel chains and the anonymity of modern travel.

The couple who owns and runs the hotel is extremely helpful, warm and easygoing. They take the time to make you feel at home and to recommend the best places in the area for food and drinks as well as the most interesting museums and sites in Berlin. We also really appreciated that they were fine with us checking out late on our last day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Loredana_Warsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Hotel Q!
Hotel Q!
#11 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#5 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,435 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hommage a Magritte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hommage a Magritte

Property: Hommage a Magritte
Address: Grolmanstr. 32-33, 10623 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Hommage a Magritte 1*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A serene and small hotel dedicated to the spirit of René Magritte and the poetic aesthetics of surrealism. Family-run, assessable and welcoming. Located in a side street of the well-known Kurfürstendamm, just a few steps away from the legendary Savignyplatz, in a quiet area with many small cafes, art galleries and family-run shops. Every room has its own bathroom, comfortable box-spring bed and a TV set. The rooms are designed differently, but equally well equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hommage a Magritte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing