We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”
Review of Newton Bar

Newton Bar
Ranked #19 of 604 Nightlife in Berlin
Attraction details
Ilkeston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We visited this bar one tea time & straight away was disappointed with the reception from the bar staff, we probably don't fit their business person's demographic. The drinks were the most expensive we found in Berlin & served by an unsmiling barman, with a superiority complex. He was obviously finishing his shift, as he came round to collect monies from those he served, now he was chatty & smiley with the others as he was angling for a tip. We did not tip him as we were genuinely upset with the service, this did not stop him standing over us in the vain hope of getting one. The other staff were miserable looking too. A shame really as the decor in the bar was very unusual but appealing & it would be lovely to sit outside people watching in the summer.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nigel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    98
    39
    13
    31
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 516 helpful votes
“Berlin Conference”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

We finished our Dinner at the Grand Hyatt Hotel and we asked the concierge to recommend a good local bar.He directed us to the Newton. We were not disappointed.The DJ liked British music and he played all our requests.The beer and cocktails flowed and we were made very welcome. We all had a great night.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gerry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

really great cocktail bar ,good staff fabulous cocktails,they even made one for me off menu.big thank you to the waitress and bar people who made are visits there so special.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrightonBasil77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Crowded, Primarily with Older Business Men trying to be hip”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Went here with a friend on a Friday night, had a great cocktail and the DJ was good. However, it was primarily filled with older men trying to be hipsters. If this is the kind of scene you want, go for it but you can find bars like this in any major city and there are so many places in Berlin that are much more interesting and fun.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank hargravesg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vedbaek, Denmark
Level Contributor
55 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Coolest bar in town!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

When you expect very little from a cocktail bar places like Newton Bar can really surprise you! Great drinks, cozy atmosphere and the coolest Mick Jagger-looking DJ playing really good music. Thumbs up!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ogfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Newton Bar also viewed

 

Been to Newton Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing