We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice hotel, friendly staff and well priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #155 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great location, nice hotel, friendly staff and well priced”
Reviewed March 11, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights and was impressed! Initially there was a problem with my first room in that it was much smaller that my dad's and also smelt of something very unpleasant. Although there was nothing the hotel could do for the first night as they were fully booked, they moved me the next day into a much bigger room on the first floor, facing the street.

Rooms with yellow décor are on the first floor, green décor are on the second floor, blue décor are on the third floor and red is fourth floor. I think the red rooms are the 'superior' rooms, as they appear to have balconies from the front of the hotel.

The staff couldn't have been nicer or more apologetic about it and they dealt with it in a professional manner. The rooms at the back of the hotel face into a large court-yard with a plain brick wall for a view. I suggest you request a front facing room! The road that the hotel is on (Hedemannstraße) is a quiet residential road and doesn't get much traffic. The street intersects with Friedrichstraße (one of the main streets in Berlin) and therefore major attractions and things to see & do are easily accessible.

The hotel itself is modern, very clean and despite previous reviews, the staff are friendly and helpful. Both rooms I had were clean, well appointed and well equipped. The beds are very comfortable, however the pillows are wafer thin and the duvets provided were in singles. Otherwise I slept very well.

Breakfast (not included in the price: €12) was very nice and typically continental. Wide variety of cold meats, salads, veggies, cereals, bread rolls, scrambled eggs & bacon for the Brits. Along with something called Bircher muesli which I now need to work out how to make as it was seriously good!! The breakfast room is nicely bright & well furnished, however was also very stuffy and warm - even with windows open. Would suggest that you don't wear anything too warm in there!

One thing amongst many that I liked about the hotel was the security. Each room has a safe with a digital lock and the rooms can only be accessed from the lobby/reception area by guests with a key card to open the main door. This would hopefully stop unwanted visitors.

The hotel is approx a 5 min walk to the nearest U-Bahn station (Kochstraße) and Checkpoint Charlie. For the central area of Unter Den Linten, Brandenburg Gate and the Reichstag, I would allow 20-25 mins to walk it.

Overall I would recommend this hotel. For the location, price and proximity to the major attractions I don't think you can do much better!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobfromTheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    557
    199
    37
    25
See reviews for
135
562
73
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2011

Me and a friend have just returned from a 3 night stay at this hotel and I am hard put to fault the hotel, The location is excellent - just a few minutes walk from Checkpoint Charlie and Friedrichstrasse. The room was adequately sized and spotlessly clean and warm - very necessary as the February temperatures were freezing. Staff were friendly and spoke good English. The breakfast was 12 euros but worth it. Facilities generally very good. All in all excellent value. I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Twix5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2011

*Super location within walking distance of many of the major sights. *Clean and modern rooms. *Knowledgeable and efficient staff. *Open bar area pleasant to have an evening drink in. *Free Internet access available in reception

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannalovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Six of us, all adults, stayed at this hotel for three nights, three couples so therefore using three different rooms on different floors of the hotel. We all enjoyed our stay and experienced no problems what so ever.
I was first impressed by how modern the hotel was, it reminded of ikea as it was quite minimal and new. The toilet in my room was in it's own little closet however the shower was in the main room, some of the glass was frosted but not all of it, which i liked and thought was a different idea. The rooms contained easy to use safety deposit boxes, which were a decent size.
The room was very very clean and towels were changed regularly. I slept very well but i am used to sleeping with one pillow, my partner suffered a little due to needing two. I'm sure if we'd asked the hotel would have provided us with another pillow.
The staff were friendly and helpful when we needed directions. The hotel was well located, we walked everywhere!
All in all, brilliant value for money, brilliant hotel and brilliant break in Berlin.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayLady016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights. The building has been recently renovated and the room is modern, clean and cozy. It is also is very close to Checkpoint Charlie and to the U Barn. The downside with the hotel is that the room is on the small side - you can literally jump to bed as soon as you open the door and opening the wardrobe is tight with the study table next to it. Also, I can hear next door's showers when switched on or when doors are being opened/closed nearby. The receptionist is efficient but can do with being more personal.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuen_clara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

This hotel is very modern from the reception area to the rooms. Free internet but you pay a lot for breakfast, but the room price offsets the breakfast costs, which by the way,, the breakfast was great. Staff is very friendly, rooms are spotless. The location is more or less a few blocks from where the hustle and bustle of the city really begin.
If you are arriving via train, you will need to take the U-bahn to Kochstrasse, you are then two blocks from the hotel. If you arrived at the central station you will need to take the S-bahn to Fredrichstrasse and then switch to the U-bahn. It may sound confussing but it isnt, it is a very quick trip and the whole Bahn system is easy to understand even if you dont speak German.
You are only a block away from "check Point Charlie" Where, if you like, for a few Euro you can get your passport stamped, which I know a lot of people miss now.
Overall it is a great value to stay here. You can walk to the gate (about 20 minutes) or take the U-bahn. Once you are up in this general area, you can see much of what people come to Berlin to see.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kman773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2010

Stayed for one night. Good location and nice room. The one and only downside was that the hotel couldn´t (=wouldn´t) help to pay the taxi with cash when we arrived from the airport... (the hotel had our creditcard info at the time). But nice room and nice hotel and very cheap. Would use the same hotel next time in Berlin :-)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Statement-dk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Kreuzberg
GOLD INN Angleterre
GOLD INN Angleterre
#146 of 634 in Berlin
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Kreuzberg
Relexa Hotel Stuttgarter Hof
Kreuzberg
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
NH Berlin Potsdamer Platz
#115 of 634 in Berlin
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Hedemannstr. 11 - 12, 10969 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Novum Winters Hotel Checkpoint Charlie)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#122 Family Hotel in Berlin
#132 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#144 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berlin's new and old centre mixes history and future: At Checkpoint Charlie history was written for decades. It is located in the direct neighborhood of the Potsdamer Platz, which is a symbol of Berlin's future and its new centre with political, media, cultural- and lifestyle institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winters Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing