We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Ranked #151 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A four star hotel only five minutes walk from Checkpoint Charlie and its associated u bahn station, Winters Hotel is quite large and modern. It has an excellent breakfast buffet in a large well lit room. The rooms are clean and good, the beds comfortable. The staff are helpful and speak good English. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANS321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    324
    556
    199
    35
    24
See reviews for
134
560
73
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I just came back from this hotel two days ago, and enjoyed my stay. The location was what really made the hotel, it was absolutely perfect. We had no need to use public transport for the whole duration of our stay as we could just walk everywhere.

Our room was clean and spacious, and the hotel and street were very quiet. The bathroom was nice enough although the shower cubicle was slightly broken and would spurt water out all over the floor every time we tried to take showers. Although the towels were changed every day they always had a slightly musty smell.

Although I wasn't disappointed in this hotel at all - far from it - I wouldn't go back. You can probably find much better for your money and I was glad I paid on a special deal. It's more of a good three star than a four star: clean, nicely decorated and central but a bit underwhelming.

PS: 14 Euros for breakfast - no chance!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Breakfast was splendid. Hotel is situated in a relatively quiet neighborhood and is easily accessible by metro and regional trains.. They have their own rent a bike service.

There was no air conditioning or temperature control anywhere in the hotel which is rare for a 4 stars... had to sleep with the window open all nights!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank usmanfarrokh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
303 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Well, I know Berlin hotels well and I never booked here but ended up here...very nice, VERY friendly and helpful and extremely clean, new and spacious.

Upon entering I had prompt service, helpful hints for the city and was even given one of a limited number of parking spaces for an affordable 15 Euros a day.

The rooms are fully fitted out with modern, minimalistic and dare I say the are even a bit "sexy" when it comes to style, very pleasing to the eye!

I can highly recommend this hotel, if you need a parking space, reserve it in advance, not to many up for grabs. Great Breakfast and FREE WLAN as well...

This hotel is also Business Friendly with all amenities needed.

Room Tip: Out to the front can be a bit loud, ask for a room facing the courtyard or "back" of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevenekuhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I had never been to Berlin before. I selected this hotel based on the location and price. We travel a great deal so price is a major factor. Winters Hotel far exceeded any of our expectations. It is on a quiet street very close to an underground station and a half a block from one of Berlin's main streets, Friedrickstrasse. The decor was functional modern but on the deluxe side. The hotel was immaculate and our room had a small balcony and was nice and bright. The staff very helpful. The icing on the cake was the fabulous buffet breakfast in a bright and cheerful room. They had everything one could want and it was included in our room rate. I highly recommend this hotel but shop the price as it changes regularly. I lucked out on Booking.com.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Friskyfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

For a 4* hotel I expect a few bells and whistles. My friend and I stayed here on a city break. Although in separate rooms we emailed ahead and asked that our rooms be close. That didn't happen. I was on the 2nd floor, she on 1st at the opposite end of the building. The rooms were functional. Shower pressure pretty eratic. Managed to flood the bathroom at least once. The carpets in the hallways were badly stained. I could get wifi in my room most of the time, my friend couldn't. Location was ok, generally within walking distance of sites and a metro station nearby.

Helpful?
Thank Jacsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

This hotel is nice. Its clean, in a quiet location and only a hop, skip and a jump from the metro station. The rooms are simply furnished and a fairly decent sized, well mine was anyway. But I have to question the four stars. Three stars, yes, but don't think I would class this as a four star hotel. I just thought there was a couple of things lacking including a problem accessing the free wi fi service which seemed to work well in the lobby but not in my room. However I should point out that my friend had no issues here. So not a bad place to stay but just make sure you get a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bemusedcat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin The Wall
Mitte
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Kreuzberg
GOLD INN Angleterre
GOLD INN Angleterre
#146 of 635 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Novum Select Hotel Berlin Ostbahnhof
Kreuzberg
Relexa Hotel Stuttgarter Hof
Friedrichshain
Leonardo Royal Hotel Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie

Property: Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Address: Hedemannstr. 11 - 12, 10969 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Novum Winters Hotel Checkpoint Charlie)
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#109 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#122 Family Hotel in Berlin
#132 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#144 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Berlin's new and old centre mixes history and future: At Checkpoint Charlie history was written for decades. It is located in the direct neighborhood of the Potsdamer Platz, which is a symbol of Berlin's future and its new centre with political, media, cultural- and lifestyle institutions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Novum Select Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winters Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing