We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful but not the perfection you would expect” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Rome
Ranked #14 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful but not the perfection you would expect”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2009

Beautiful women usually don’t have great personalities. They can rely on their looks, so they don’t need to be particularly intelligent, funny or interesting. Plain-looking women, on the other hand, usually figure out that they need to have a great personality if they want anyone to pay attention to them.

The combination of both beauty and depth is rare and narrowly escapes the Hotel de Rome in Berlin. On questions of design and aesthetics the hotel is difficult to fault. Its designers have seamlessly converted a chunky old bank (and filming location of the movie Run Lola Run) into a sleek modern luxury hotel. A magnificently-lighted pool, spa and ample fitness facilities occupy the former vaults in the basement. Our room’s design and layout were also effortless, modern and stylish. The beauty is apparent at first glance and never fades.

Then you get to know her a little better, and the Hotel de Rome begins to disappoint. Underneath the bedspread are two twin mattresses pushed together, not a single king. In the bathroom, the marble, mosaic tiles, large bathtub, heated mirror and ingenious toilet-paper dispenser are delightful touches. But they are overshadowed by the shower’s reluctance to provide more than lukewarm water, even when ample hot water is available from other faucets.

The Italian food is colorful and flavorful whether served in the restaurant or promptly in the room. But characteristically, the vermicelli with shrimp lacks meat and substance, with only a single prawn perched on a bed of pasta. With passive-aggressive flair, the room service staff never fails to ask when they should return to retrieve your tray, and then consistently fails to actually return.

It’s unfair to cite that single example because the hotel staff was usually extremely courteous, helpful and unobtrusive. But sharing a bathroom proved complicated when the cleaning personnel left a bottle of cleaning fluid next to my mouthwash.

Finally, it became frustrating to be asked to pay for every little thing, particularly internet and phone at unreasonable prices (20€/day and 2.50€/call to a free 08 prefix, respectively). Even when paying with company money, a twinge of guilt accompanies the use of these basic services. When will luxury hotels realize that these services are, in the 21st century, analogous to indoor toilets in the early 20th century? Just as we don’t worry about fees to use the toilet, we should not have to deal with fees for basic communication services, particularly in luxury hotels that should make life easier.

Despite the imperfections under the surface, the Hotel de Rome is a beauty and worth the visit. After all, nobody’s perfect.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Morda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    223
    49
    19
    4
See reviews for
193
379
70
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2009

We loved our stay at the Hotel de Rome: (1) perfect location - convenient yet removed from the hubbub of Unter der Linden; (2) beautiful, large room (we booked deluxe double and were first shown to a courtyard view, but were graciously shown to a similarly sized room with a wonderful view of the Berliner Dome, the television tower and St Hedwig's Church) with wonderful bathroom with large tub and separate shower; (3) excellent service - friendly, informative, and not too formal; (4) and fantastic spa and pool area. We have also stayed at the highly rated Hotel 1898 in Barcelona and the Gresham Palace in Budapest - both of which the Hotel de Rome is somewhat reminiscent - converted historic buildings, modern furnishings, etc, but much preferred the Hotel de Rome - it gets everything right. Ranks right up there with our favorite European hotels - the Sacher, the Berkeley, and the Ritz in Paris, and is relatively well-priced.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank undertone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2009

First impressions are good - externally big imposing building- the lobby very attractive (the building is an old bank) and large with lots of marble, staff are attentive and friendly. Checked in and they acknowledged I'd stayed before.

Rooms are quite dark (I stayed in a classic room) but this is down to the decor which is on the whole quite nice (modern)...beautiful bathrooms (love the rain fall shower) had a bit of a flood due to drain being a little blocked but very nice housekeeping manager sorted it.....very comfy beds and pillows - linen sheets. TV set up is annoying - you can't just switch on and view a channel have to go through this whole 'entertainment' Rocco Forte system - really annoying and only CNN and BBC world for the UK. No ipod dock - would've been a nice touch. You'd expect a bit more state of the art judging by the rest of the hotel, i.e. some Bang & Olufson wouldn't be out of place. View into an office bit strange.

Spa extortionate. Very attractive pool etc though.

Food very nice (I wasn't immediately grabbed by anything on menu however everything I had was very good indeed).

The staff in this hotel (and in all Rocco Forte properties in my experience) are very well trained - helpful and friendly. Prices in the bar are over the top with cheapest bottle of wine approx €36.

Recommeded a restaurant by concierge. Food v good there but service bad and upon receiving the bill we discovered they didn't take credit cards and so we had to scrabble around to get enough money to pay - this included a colleague being directed to nearest cashpoint (described as very close) 15 min walk away!!

Overall good but tried to charge me twice for the rooms when I checked out - and this happened when I stayed there previously in 2007!!

  • Liked — comfortable rooms and bathrooms
  • Disliked — entertainment system
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Chavtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2009

The Hotel de Rome is an absolutely fabulous property. I was (and still am) a fan of Rocco Forte's Brown's Hotel in London but I loved the Hotel de Rome even more. It's in the former Dresdner Bank headquarters on beautiful and serene Bebelplatz in the former East Berlin (though these days you can't really tell where the line once was). The hotel is elegant, beatifully designed and wonderfully staffed. The public areas are elegant and trendy at the same time. The rooms have a modern design but are still warm. The bathrooms are wonderful with both a rain shower and a separate bath tub as well as a heated floor. The buffet breakfast is excellent and not to be missed. The staff are also almost perfect - helpful, polite and always going a bit above and beyond to help you out. I would definitely return to this hotel should I be in Berlin again. (Oh yes - the spa is great as well!)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYC304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
77 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2009

My wife and I decided to go to Berlin for a quick weekend trip...The hotel was a quick taxi ride from the airport...The hotel was very centrally located, a 10 minute walk from Museum Island and the Brandenbourg Gate...Inside the hotel was relatively modern but not minimalist...There were a lot of deep colors and dark woods and the building acted as the former headquarters of a bank...The rooms were spacious and furnished with contemporary furniture...There is also a roof top terrace and a very nice spa/fitness center...The staff was helpful and efficient and the concierge staff knowledgable...The hotel was great for a weekend break and I could not imagine staying anywhere else in Berlin...Berlin is very interesting and offers an effective balance between a vibrant new capital and a city filled with culture and history.

  • Stayed September 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bobd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, Kent ENGLAND
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2009

We visited Berlin for the purpose of sampling Germany's Christmas markets in Dec 2008. We have a 3yr and a then-3month old so any mini-break choice would have to be carefully thought out. The Hotel de Rome impressed us by its friendliness and enthusiasm about hosting our young children. We booked directly with the hotel's staff, who excitedly told us about their children's program.

The location of the hotel in Mitte (old East Berlin, now the museum hub of the city) was fantastic; it was within a 5 minute walk of two of the best christmas markets, including a charming one in beautiful Gendarmenmarkt. Near the hotel was one of Berlin's upscale shopping avenues, for those needing a break from the museums. The Brandenburg Tor and several other famous Berlin sites were only 20-30 minutes by foot, in all a great location.

The hotel lobby impressed us with its luxe feel. It was more "quiet sophistication" than business hotel atmostphere. The high ceilings of the old bank building site were breathtaking and the parlour for tea/breakfast was lovely. Staff were so friendly and went out of their way to fuss over the kids.

The kids club is new so will need tweaking, and is targeted towards older kids. THey had special classes, including cookie baking, which a 5-10 year old bracket would enjoy. The staff dropped off cookies with our children's names spelled out and candies on individual plates. My husband and I enjoyed sampling them, in lieu of our 3month old.

The room had an enormous bed and even with a crib for our toddler, it was spacious for the four of us. Top notch finishings in the room too, again more quiet luxury.

In all, this was a lovely, sophisticated hotel that would appeal to couples, business travelers and yes, even young families on a short weekend break looking for an elegant, enjoyable place to relax.

  • Liked — service was top-notch
  • Disliked — our room, upgraded from a classic room to the next size up, was still a bit small
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sbenemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2009

This is a very agreable hotel in a perfect position if visiting the main museums of Berlin is your intention. The rooms are huge and very well appointed, but the public spaces are too empty and barren to be welcoming.
This is very much a business hotel - I can't image it as a suitable one for family visits.

Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank saintvalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#17 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#3 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Property: Hotel de Rome
Address: Behrenstr. 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#24 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rome Hotel
De Rome Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing