We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Break from the kids” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel de Rome
Ranked #14 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Break from the kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

We decided we needed a break so left the kids at home and took ourselves of to berlin for a relaxing/cultral break.
The hotel is very classy and the rooms spacious, clean and modern.
All the staff were wonderful and went out of there way to make our stay great.
The pool was a great place to relax but i think my favorite part of the hotel was the roof bar/ lounge, its a wonderful place to see the beauty of your surroundings and to see the wonderful architecture of the square below.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R0ger_r0th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Dear RÜger_rüth,

Thank you so much for this great evaluation! I am very glad that you enjoyed Hotel de Rome and hope that you someday will have the opportunity to savour our beautiful rooftop terrace!

With best regards from Berlin,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    223
    49
    19
    4
See reviews for
193
378
70
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luzern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

This should have been a very nice stylish hotel. The staff was friendly, the food good, and the location impeccable. Try the rooftop terrace: good vista, surprisingly good burgers. The rooms are rather large. The pool is rather large for a city hotel and tastefully designed. And the location is perfect - within walking distance to most attractions and i.e. museums.
However, there are some issues: the TV is small and the picture grainy (watching the soccer championship was to feasible); the furniture looks worn and chipped; internet was included in our rate but abysmally slow, making it only acceptable for occasionally checking my mailbox.
Generally, housekeeping could do a better job: We asked for foam-pillows (Elsa/Tempur) and were initially told that there were no more available - an answer I do simply not want to hear in a hotel of this category. After check-in, we went through three rooms until we've found one without hair in the cupboards. And do not inspect the mirrors in the pool area, they look as if they have not been cleaned for a long time.
Please note also that the baths are stylish but not very practically designed - there is little decent storage space and one sink only. Also the lighting is not perfect, rather dim.

Room Tip: The opera nearby is undergoing renovation. Most of the noisy work seems to be already done, but I do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molar67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear molar67,

I hope you had a safe trip back home to Luzern.

I am glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and have noted the points for possible improvement, which you mentioned regarding the cleaning service (which is unacceptable) and the technology. These have been addressed to all involved departments to ensure improvement.

I hope this isolated issues will not deter you from returning to Hotel de Rome and I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in not too distant future.


With best regards from Berlin,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
89 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

This is a very nice and modern hotel right in the heart of Berlin. The rooms are A+ - clean, modern, very nice shower and quiet. The lobby is gorgeous and the food is fantastic. It is also in the perfect location - in 'East Berlin' but within walking distance to Brandenburg Gate and the various things you would want to see as a tourist. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamLoewy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear AdamLoewy,

Thank you so much for recommending Hotel de Rome here on TripAdvisor! I hope you had a safe trip back to Texas. Your evaluation showed me that you overall had a nice time and you relished our facilities and our food.

Once again thank you very much for taking the time to right about Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome!

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is very charming, small and elegant. The rooms are very nice with a fabulous bathroom. It has an excellent rooftop bar/lounge that overlooks a lovely square with a great view over part of the city. It is walking distance from the museum area and there are many great restaurants also within walking distance. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Southernmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Croeh,

Thank you so much for your superb evaluation here on TripAdvisor! I am very glad that you had a fantastic time in Berlin and at Hotel de Rome!

I really hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome!

With best wishes,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oberhausen, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in July. Excellent hotel. Very friendly staff. Rooms well equipped and in great shape. The only thing I missed: Tea/Coffee makeing facilities in room. Very enjoyable roof top terrace. The building is full of nice surprises. Great breakfast with healthy choices. Easy 5 minute stroll to next subway station, therefore well connected. Easy walink distance to Brandenburg Gate.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie46117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Robbie 46117,

Thank you so much for your comment here on TripAdvisor! I hope you had a safe trip back to Oberhausen.

It was fantastic to read that you very much enjoyed the facilities and everything our hotel has to offer.

It would be my pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future at Hotel de Rome!

With best regards from Berlin,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is the third Rocco Forte hotel my wife and I have visited and it is stellar in every category. The hotel is well situated -- an easy walk to a couple of major train stations, some interesting neighborhoods, the major museums and tourist sites. A converted bank, the interior is very different -- very high ceilings, wide hallways -- and extraordinarily quiet. The public areas are very stylish, the bar was a fun venue for watching some World Cup games. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooftop lounge area was a great location for late afternoon drinks, very relaxed, great views. The fitness center was moderately well equipped, but enough for a good workout. There are both dry and wet saunas and an attractive indoor pool. The entire spa area was clean, well appointed and uncrowded. Our room was spacious, lots of electrical outlets for our devices, great bathroom, and extraordinarily quiet. The room was serviced twice daily by what seemed to be an invisible cleaning staff; we couldn't figure out how we never manager to see any cleaning personnel for five days. The concierge was extraordinarily helpful. Two minor things: the bed was fairly stiff and the basic free internet was slow; the hotel should provide a faster service at no charge. Overall, this was one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in and a great choice.

Room Tip: Our room faced in interior courtyard; no view, but very quiet all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Michael J,

Thank you for taking the time to comment here on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Hotel de Rome. I hope you had a save trip back home to California.

Your evaluation has been gratefully received and it has been my pleasure to pass them on to all the team. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With best regards from Berlin,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

Everything from start to finish was pure class at this Hotel.

The staff are attentive and excellent.

The rooms are large and very tastefully decorated.

The bar staff were excellent and there knowledge of local Gins was well appreciated.

The concierge arranged a guide to take us to historical sites round Berlin. The guide was amazingly knowledgeable...

The best business Hotel in Berlin by far.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Richard E,

Thank you so much for this perfect evaluation! I am very glad that you felt comfortable from the start until the end at Hotel de Rome and that you overall enjoyed our staff.

I hope that you soon will get the chance to come and visit us again at Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome.

With best regrdas,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#4 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#17 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#3 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,403 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Property: Hotel de Rome
Address: Behrenstr. 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#12 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#24 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rome Hotel
De Rome Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing