We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel de Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Rome
Ranked #12 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed July 20, 2014

This hotel is very charming, small and elegant. The rooms are very nice with a fabulous bathroom. It has an excellent rooftop bar/lounge that overlooks a lovely square with a great view over part of the city. It is walking distance from the museum area and there are many great restaurants also within walking distance. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southernmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Croeh,

Thank you so much for your superb evaluation here on TripAdvisor! I am very glad that you had a fantastic time in Berlin and at Hotel de Rome!

I really hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome!

With best wishes,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,255)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de Rome
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in July. Excellent hotel. Very friendly staff. Rooms well equipped and in great shape. The only thing I missed: Tea/Coffee makeing facilities in room. Very enjoyable roof top terrace. The building is full of nice surprises. Great breakfast with healthy choices. Easy 5 minute stroll to next subway station, therefore well connected. Easy walink distance to Brandenburg Gate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Robbie46117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Robbie 46117,

Thank you so much for your comment here on TripAdvisor! I hope you had a safe trip back to Oberhausen.

It was fantastic to read that you very much enjoyed the facilities and everything our hotel has to offer.

It would be my pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future at Hotel de Rome!

With best regards from Berlin,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is the third Rocco Forte hotel my wife and I have visited and it is stellar in every category. The hotel is well situated -- an easy walk to a couple of major train stations, some interesting neighborhoods, the major museums and tourist sites. A converted bank, the interior is very different -- very high ceilings, wide hallways -- and extraordinarily quiet. The public areas are very stylish, the bar was a fun venue for watching some World Cup games. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooftop lounge area was a great location for late afternoon drinks, very relaxed, great views. The fitness center was moderately well equipped, but enough for a good workout. There are both dry and wet saunas and an attractive indoor pool. The entire spa area was clean, well appointed and uncrowded. Our room was spacious, lots of electrical outlets for our devices, great bathroom, and extraordinarily quiet. The room was serviced twice daily by what seemed to be an invisible cleaning staff; we couldn't figure out how we never manager to see any cleaning personnel for five days. The concierge was extraordinarily helpful. Two minor things: the bed was fairly stiff and the basic free internet was slow; the hotel should provide a faster service at no charge. Overall, this was one of the best hotels we've ever stayed in and a great choice.

Room Tip: Our room faced in interior courtyard; no view, but very quiet all the time.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Michael J,

Thank you for taking the time to comment here on TripAdvisor in regards to your stay at Hotel de Rome. I hope you had a save trip back home to California.

Your evaluation has been gratefully received and it has been my pleasure to pass them on to all the team. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I do hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With best regards from Berlin,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Everything from start to finish was pure class at this Hotel.

The staff are attentive and excellent.

The rooms are large and very tastefully decorated.

The bar staff were excellent and there knowledge of local Gins was well appreciated.

The concierge arranged a guide to take us to historical sites round Berlin. The guide was amazingly knowledgeable...

The best business Hotel in Berlin by far.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2014

Dear Richard E,

Thank you so much for this perfect evaluation! I am very glad that you felt comfortable from the start until the end at Hotel de Rome and that you overall enjoyed our staff.

I hope that you soon will get the chance to come and visit us again at Rocco Forte Hotel de Rome.

With best regrdas,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This is definately the best hotel I have ever stayed in. Lovely, quiet, spacieux room, the friendliest staff ever, excellent food, and a roof tarrace where we spent a lot of time just enjoying the view, the sunshine and drinks. The bathroom was big and the cleaning was impeccable! A conseiller!! I cannot think of anything negative to say about this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 117. Perfect for 2 persons.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear Kirsten B,

Thank you so much for this great rate! It has been my pleasure to read your kind words and I am more then happy that you enjoyed your stay at our property in Berlin!

I hope that we shall soon have the opportunity of welcoming you back in not to distant future!

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014

I'd detour to stay at the RF Hotel de Rome - one of the best properties in Europe for a variety of reasons.
1. Staff is unfailingly pleasant and competent. The Regent and Adlon teams are great, but the Hotel de Rome team is much more relaxed and informal in a good way. Only hotel in Germany that I've encountered where you could say that some of them are humorous.
2. Killer physical plant. There's nothing quite like it - you definitely feel like you've landed in a serious old bank, beautifully renovated.
3. Gorgeous, comfortable rooms. Particularly those on the lower historic floors are amazing (and the few with terraces up top). A plus that they've at least made basic web access free.
4. Great pool and spa zone. The old vault turned into 20 m pool is unlike any I've seen. Good steam, sauna, relax that's impeccably maintained.
Location is good for most cultural attractions, but the "groovy" new things are going on in the West which is a bit of a hike.
Unique, satisfying experience every time.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ez2plsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Dear ez2plsNYC,

Thank you for taking the time to comment here on Trip Advisor! I hope you had a save trip back home to New York City.

Your fantastic evaluation has been gratefully received and it has been my pleasure to pass them on to all the Hotel de Rome team. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I've not stayed at the hotel as I live in the city, however it is definitely worth a visit to the roof terrace to have a sundowner cocktail overlooking the humboldt university, unter den linden and the Berliner dome.

Great service, a tranquil setting and extensive cocktails to choose from - definitely a go to place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nottsgirl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2014

Dear Nottsgirl12,

Thank you very much for your nice comments about our rooftop terrace here on TripAdvisor!

I hope that you soon will have the chance to come and visit once again to enjoy a nice drink at our beautiful rooftop terrace at Hotel de Rome!

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 635 in Berlin
1,586 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#16 of 635 in Berlin
3,502 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 635 in Berlin
2,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Berlin Gorki Apartments
Berlin Gorki Apartments
#1 of 635 in Berlin
476 reviews
Charlottenburg
Das Stue
Das Stue
#6 of 635 in Berlin
1,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Address: Behrenstr. 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Berlin
#7 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#10 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#24 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $319 - $781 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rome Hotel
De Rome Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing