We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classy Hotel”
Review of Hotel de Rome

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel de Rome
Ranked #10 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Athens, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Classy Hotel”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed in the Hotel de Rome for nine nights during October. It is a classy hotel. The hotel's lobby, dining room, bar and individual rooms are all first class. The staff is extremely helpful. Upon arrival and check-in we were given a tour of the key places in the hotel by one of the assistant managers. The food was outstanding. The location, in the old East Berlin, was the best place to stay. Within walking distance of the major museums and the river. We liked visiting Humboldt University across the street. The hotel is pricey, but if you can afford it, it would be hard to beat for all dimensions of hotel comfort, style and location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RetiredDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear RetiredDawg,

Thank you very much for your comments here on TripAdvisor. We are very glad that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you will have the opportunity to come back soon and visit us again at Hotel de Rome.

Best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    901
    231
    54
    19
    4
See reviews for
210
405
75
340
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were undecided between the Hotel de Rome and the Adlon, and we made the right choice. The Hotel de Rome is located on the Bebelplatz, very near Museum Island, and just off Unter den Linden, at the opposite end from the Brandenburg Gate. It's a terrific location, and when the construction is completed on the theater that stands near the hotel, it will be part of a stunning architectural composition. The hotel is located in the old Dresdner Bank building, which was a socialist office during the separation. It's quite a beautiful restoration and adaptation of an old building.
The style is quiet elegance, with very contemporary furnishings. I'm not sure how much longer the furnishings can last without becoming dated, and the carpets in the room floor hallways is right at the point of needing replacement. That might be our only negative.
The service was excellent, although we did not rely on the hotel staff for much. We had made most plans in advance. The doorman did offer up the the hotel limo to take us to our restaurant one evening, which was a great unexpected pleasure.
The room was on the small side, but if you check out the website and look at the photos of the rooms, you can see that size varies widely. Although tight, the room had everything we could wish for, short of coffee making facilities. All the expected 5 star amenities were in place, with the exception of a US style outlet in the bathroom. A separate shower was much appreciated.
We didn't have a regular meal in the restaurant, but as we were there around New Years Eve we decided to splurge on their dinner and dancing special, which included a visit to the roof terrace of the hotel to see the fireworks bringing in the New Year. A really special treat. The food was good, but not exceptional. I think that I would use the hotel restaurant for a (very expensive) breakfast or have a quick snack in the bar, which we did a couple times. The breakfast buffet was extensive and quite good.
We did check out the Adlon for a wildly expensive breakfast one morning, but were reassured that we had made the right decision staying at the Hotel de Rome. Much more our style than all the traditional style at the Adlon.

Room Tip: Ask in advance about the size of the room, and if you are not satisfied ask to see others. They vary...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManhattanTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Manhattan Tripper,

Thank you very much for your kind comments which have been gratefully received and it has been my pleasure to pass them on to all the team.

I am very glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Hotel de Rome in the near future.

Thank you once again for sharing your experiences, here on TripAdvisor!

Kind regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The hotel is on a quiet, yet centrally located street right near the Gendarmenmarkt. It is a 10-15 walking distance from the Brandenburg Gates and from Checkpoint Charlie in the other direction.
The service was impeccable and room service quick and served with a smile. The breakfast buffet is wonderful, with delicious a la carte options available.
Everyone from the front desk staff, to the concierge, to the bellmen, went out of their way to ensure that we had a very pleasant stay in Berlin.

Room Tip: Because the hotel is attached on both sides, many rooms seem to face inner courtyards, but these roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chookoo57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear chookoo57,

Your evaluation here on TripAdvisor has been gratefully received and it has been my pleasure to pass them on to all the team. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Berlin in not to distant future.

With best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

The Hotel de Rome has is quintessential understated sophistication. Unlike other top hotels in Berlin and elsewhere, there is no in your face over the top. Hotel de Rome is stunning, with great food and great staff. This is the place to stay in Berlin. The location is unbeatable as well.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tnyca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Tnyca,

Thank you so much for this fantastic rating here on TripAdvisor! It is so lovely and exciting to read how you experienced your stay with us!

All the best for you and your family in 2014!

Best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zurich
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

The location was great, close to public transport and walkable to many of the places I wanted to see.

The room, which I believe was a standard double was excellent. Possibly could have done with tea making facilities, but that's just me I hate to be too far away from a kettle and tea bag.

The amenities that we tried were great.

The best thing about this hotel was it's staff though, from the doorman at the beginning through every department we tried, apart from the waiter who tried to persuade me that Earl grey was English breakfast tea, that wasn't going anywhere, but at least gave the German guests a laugh at the eccentricity of the English and their tea. He did redeem himself though by finding the proper English breakfast tea and serving it to me.

It's not the cheapest hotel in Berlin, but I honestly though it was great value for money. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Imhunting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear ims h,

Thank you so much for this fantastic rating here on TripAdvisor! I hope you had a safe trip back home to Zurich.

I am very glad that you enjoyed our staff at Hotel de Rome and hope that I shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon in the near future.

Best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated in a good location, within walking distance to all tourist attractions. Nearest is the Gendarmenmarkt, now filled with the Christmas flavor and ambience. The Q (kind of a mall) is also nearby and Galeries Lafayette is just downstairs for some easy grocery shopping.

Hotel service is excellent. Staff is always around to please. Breakfast is a good spread of sausage, bacon, eggs, cereals, fresh fruits, cold meats, dry fruits and different kinds of bread/rolls.

It was raining one day we were there. They were happily handing out umbrellas for our use. Taxis to airport are easily available.

The only advise I'd give is not to book an airport limousine from the hotel!! It would cost you abt 150 Euros vs 30 Euros!! We were a family of 5, so needed a van/mini bus/MPV. Even that was an easy thing to accomplish as there is always a long queue of taxis coming out from Tegel airport. Going back to airport, same thing. Just ask concierge to call for a taxi for you 15 mins before you need it and the cost is only about 25-30
Euros.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Contented13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear Contented 13,

Thank you very much for your kind comments here on TripAdvisor!

We hope you and your family had a safe trip back home to Singapore.

We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel de Rome and considered the staff and the service to be excellent. We very much hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

With best regards from Berlin an all the best for 2014,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

My wife, daughter and I visited Berlin for the first time over Thanksgiving this year 2013. We love Berlin. And this hotel made our stay even better. Great service. Best location with easy walking access to numerous top places; Humboldt University is just across the street in the beautiful small plaza area. The best kind of contemporary: classy, comfy, beautiful interior and not trying too hard to be cool. Food at restaurant is great. Breakfast buffet is first-rate (even if you're not staying at the hotel, try it), fresh high quality ingredients, nice variety, eggs cooked anyway you want, terrific bread, and very attentive service. Staff is very friendly and responsive. The best Christmas market (gendarmenmarkt) was just around the corner. Easy walk to Museum Island. All this despite rain on 5 out of 7 days.

Room Tip: The 4th floor (top) is great but stay away from rooms near the exit to the rooftop bar, which was cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MILKONY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel-de-Rome-37, General Manager at Hotel de Rome, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Dear MILKONY,

I was delighted to learn that overall you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Hotel de Rome and considered the hotel facilities to be classy, the food quality to be excellent and especially the staff at our Restaurant Parioli to be friendly and responsive.

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences here on TripAdvisor.

I wish you all the best for 2014!

Best regards,

Thies Sponholz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Regent Berlin
Regent Berlin
#5 of 634 in Berlin
1,542 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
#16 of 634 in Berlin
3,362 reviews
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#8 of 634 in Berlin
2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#15 of 634 in Berlin
822 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Rome

Property: Hotel de Rome
Address: Behrenstr. 37, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Berlin
#6 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#9 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#24 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Rome 5*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de Rome is located on Bebelplatz, off Unter den Linden. It is a conversion of an existing building constructed in 1889 by architect Ludwig Heim (appointed master builder of the government), which housed the head office of Dresdner Bank until 1945. This is one of the few luxury hotels in Berlin located in an original building making use of its full architectural splendour and thereby offering guests an authentic Berlin experience.The ornate and classical design of the original building has been given a contemporary twist by designer Tommaso Ziffer, who also designed the Hotel de Russie in Rome. Tommaso Ziffer has been assisted by architects Aukett + Heese with Olga Polizzi and her design team at Rocco Forte Hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Rome Hotel
De Rome Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing