We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tries to be more than it really is”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Aparthotel Residenz 2000
Ranked #241 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Paris
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Tries to be more than it really is”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I spent two nights at the Residenz 2000 (which changed its name recently) because of its close proximity to the nearby research facilities, where I had to work long hours and start early - I figured I would not have spare time to visit the city, which by the way I know very well, since I lived there for many years. I would never stay in this part of town if I came as a tourist. On the plus side, the residential area where the hotel is located is calm and quiet.

Upon check-in the reception was unable to find my reservation, but since they had one room left, it did not matter. I had made the mistake to pre-order parking, which is not necessary in this part of town, very expensive in this hotel, and inconvenient because of the weird construction of the parking garage (you can read about it elsewhere).

The hotel looks modern from the outside, and tries to convey the message to be stylish. A closer look in my room revealed severe maintenance problems - a missing AC outlet, a broken shower door, two burned out light bulbs and a badly configured WLAN, which would only work from the lobby but not from the room. I have rarely seen so many maintenance issues in one hotel room. The staff was rather clueless about these problems; I cannot help but wonder if the hotel management had any formal training at all. The hotel itself has potential, the rooms are quiet, and with better maintenance and a management knowing how to actually run a hotel, the place might become a decent hotel. In its current state, however, it is unlikely that I'll return.

One last thing: There is a restaurant next to the hotel, but a much better place is "Il Mulino", a 5 minute walk close to the S-Bahn station Lichterfelde West.

Room Tip: From what I saw, the rooms are all facing the court, which means they should all be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marais75012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    15
    15
    7
See reviews for
20
18
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I came from venice, italy to visit the freie university of berlin, because the residenz 2000 was the nearest to the uni, we chose this. Our room was new and sunny, the bath was fine as well. The breakfast was ok for 10 euros, but there could be a better service. Maybe the service was not 100 percent, because it was very full. Anyhow we felt lucky to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EstefaniaLanzolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed with my wife and young daughter in the exceptionally hot summer of 2012. We had what was called a "family room". Upon arrival we found out that this suite had enough beds to sleep a full team! There were 10 bunk beds and 3 single ones. Beds were all a bit stiff. There were 2 wardrobes, one of which contained a kitchenette. It was awkward to access but was handy for light self-catering purposes. The toilet was clean but always had a bad smell. Shower was ok with enough hot water. TV had German channels plus CNN and BBC.

Location's good: 2 minute walk from an S-bahn station and close to Freie Universität (12-15 minute walk through the leafy suburbian-feel of Dahlem). There's a bakery around the corner, and an ice-cream parlor. Italian restaurant next door is good with nice seating (go inside to the conservatory-like area). Kebab stall opposite the hotel door is also very good!

Experience with staff varied. Some were much more helpful than others. We asked for a fan and got one the following morning. We needed an iron which one staff member said they had but could not obtain it, while 2 others denied they had any. Wireless Internet was available but was constantly cutting off during our whole 4-day stay. This was frustrating, but staff could not help much with this issue.

tl;dr: Good location. Large family room. Average amenities. Variable service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yehia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our stay here was not one that would make us come back. The sites say there is free wifi all day through out the hotel. Not true. The wifi is free but just in the lobby during business hours. The staff are very confused and disorganized. There was only myself and my friend and they gave us a 6 bed room. Bad on their part. They say there is no smoking in certain areas, people are smoking everywhere. It's hard to breathe. The staff, especially the manager, are never ever here. They seem incapable of doing their jobs. If you have a problem, you're on your own. They don't speak English well at all here, so if you only speak English, it's very difficult communicating around the hotel and neighborhood. The hotel is about 20-30 minutes from the city center. So the location is not good, but it is very safe and quiet. We asked for tourist information, they were clueless and did not help us at all. When we checked in, our room was not clean and we asked them to clean it, it took 3 hours (past check in) for them to clean it. The only pro is the quietness and how clean and modern the hotel actually is. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: No air conditioning
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexMark2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2011

We attended ITB and decided to look for low cost apartment to save money by cooking our own food. Location wise the property is a three train journey of about 45 minutes which is not so bad but the place does need some modernising. We booked a two bedroom but got a one bedroom with a bed stuck in the main room, be careful when you book to check what you are getting. We were overcharged one night but as soon as it was pointed out we got refunded right away. There are no real services. There was no spare key so our room was not serviced once in five days! The kitchen is a bot of a joke - two rings inside a cupboard with no utensils despite the fact i wrote ahead to ask to make sure the kitchen had lots of things for cooking. In the end we ind of abandoned the cooking idea. The price was ok though 69 euros a night, had the kitchen been more useable and there been a 2nd bedroom it would have been really good. We were on the top floor so it was quiet and the heating was very efficient. Next year we will look for something a little closer to the centre, i guess it will be smaller but maybe better equipped. Disappointing stay, even the plastic bag of trash we put outside our door stayed there without being moved for FIVE DAYS.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanilla_Custard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

These apartments are not what you would call comfortable and homely, rather they are business-like. My single apartment had a room containing bed, lounge, desk, TV and a small kitchenette with microwave, hotplate and fridge. There was also an ensuite with a shower.

There is no free internet available at this place. Only paid wifi, which appeared to be quite expensive. You need to purchase cards for the wifi at the reception for a certain time period.

The location of the apartments was not too good. It is close to the Lichterfelde West station, which has an S-bahn service to Potsdamer Platz. It takes about 30mins on the train to reach Potsdamer Platz, allow more time if you need to transfer to another line.

The apartments are on a main street, but noise from traffic was no problem. The streets by the station are residential streets and quite pretty. There are two supermarkets and a variety of smaller shops on the other side of the station.

I left on a Saturday when reception was closed. I had intended to store my bags here until the afternoon, but couldn't because there was no-one there.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank miss-k-perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2007

We're currently staying at this simple,clean and cheap apartment hotel in Berlin.

It's right in front of the underground station Bulow which is convenient and therefore in easy reach of both the old west and east parts of Berlin.

The rooms are very large and have a small kitchen, a large bathroom with both frozen or boiling water, a tiny TV and a bed that is a bit to soft and small for our taste.

The staff is nice, but the reception is often full of cigarette smoke.

Over easter we had many schoolchildren staying here, very noisy at times.

All in all we probably could have chosen a better place, but it is ok.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank davholloway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Zehlendorf
Apartment Hotel Dahlem
Apartment Hotel Dahlem
#496 of 634 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Pension Dalg
#360 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Park Inn by Radisson Berlin Alexanderplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Residenz 2000? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Residenz 2000

Property: Aparthotel Residenz 2000
Address: Unter den Eichen 96, 12205 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #241 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 56

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing