We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Berlin”
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #26 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My first trip to Berlin and the Melia proved an ideal hotel, relaxing, friendly with roomy accommodation. Well placed to walk everywhere - museum Islands, Brandenburg gate, Checkpoint Charlie, Jewish Museum to name but a few.

Hotel is on Friedrichstrasse, 2 mins from the Friedrichstrasse train / underground station - easy to find our way from the airport.

Plenty of varied and good value restaurants nearby - try down the side of the Friedrichstrasse station - numerous restaurants set in the arches, lively and fun.

Melia is a lovely friendly hotel with a a breakfast to die for - join the Melia club before you stay and get discount on the breakfast and free WiFi.

Great stay in Berlin and great hotel - will effeminately be back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stackpoleboy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,509 - 1,515 of 5,187 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, nice hotel in a prime location. We did not eat here as there are several places to eat for breakfast and evening meals nearby. Especially if you want to experience local German cuisine. Top tip - we booked directly on the Melia website but before we did we registered to the Melia card, this meant we got 24 hour free Wi Fi access for the 3 days we were there and not only that we were given 15 euros per day to spend in the hotel, we put this to good use and purchased a bottle of wine for 21 euros each night to unwind in the hotel. Great money saver tip especially for all those Facebook junkies.
We also purchased the Berlin travel card at 26.50 each it was perfect value to catch the train to and from the hotel and travel anywhere in Berlin, it even got us to the Sachsenhausen concentration camp, which is 30 minutes outside of the city and well worth the visit.
The hotel is within walking distance to the main attractions of Brandenburg Gate, checkpoint Charlie etc, which we did on the first day as we arrived at lunch time and our room was not ready.
Top restraints to visit all within 5-10 mins walk, away.
Maredo, next door - excellent service and food
Berliner Republik, on the opposite side of the river to the left past Murphy's pub - good traditional German food but you need to book as it is always busy.
Treffpumkt Berlin, just off Friedrichstrasse on the right towards Walking back towards Checkpoint Charlie, cheapest beer in town - good food although service was a little slow, but this is because it is busy, book in advance. The locals love it.
On a small note to the hotel - coffee/tea making facilities in the hotel would be a nice. Also there is complimentary snacks at the bar so don't be afraid to ask.
We stayed on the 4th floor and asked for a view to the river, it is worth it. The noise from the trams and traffic wasn't a problem as we got up about 9ish for sight seeing, ( a lie in for some). If you are a light sleeper it may not be for you, so ask for a room to the rear but honestly it's not overly loud.
Well worth the visit and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Room with a view, high up, towards the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BandMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

We found the hotel to be of a very high standard with good service. Rooms we're comfortable and clean. We particularly enjoyed the breakfasts which had a good selection to choose from. The hotel is also in a great location if you're interested in visiting the sites, eating out or shopping. We would certainly stay there when we visit Berlin again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank DJ-Siv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Originally thought about staying at the Adlon or the Westin Berlin but owning a home in Spain and having stayed at the Melia Alicante we thought we would give it a try. We were not disappointed as we found the Melia to be very welcoming and stylish in a contemporary way and ideally situated for visiting the local points of interest. Getting there is really simple as the hotel is close to the main train station and river cruises are available by the bridge literally outside the hotel entrance. The rooms are ver clean and comfortable and overall service is excellent. We upgraded to the 'Level' which is well worth the extra as you then have access to a private lounge serving breakfast, drinks and snacks for most of the day and early evening. Basically if you think executive lounge at the airport you won't be far wrong, not a novel idea I know but it does provide a welcoming and relaxing area to rest your legs and recharge without having to either sit in your room or spend more money in local bars. We didn't eat at the Melia other than in the 'Tapas Bar' which truthfully in my opinion was the only negative of our stay. Maybe this bar reflects poor German taste rather than true Spanish tapas but the food was definitely bland, unimaginative, lukewarm and more frighteningly served chicken grossly undercooked. In fairness I don't think Berlin will ever be a culinary capital of the world as unfortunately the whole City is full of Starbucks, McDonalds, Dunkin Donuts, Currywurst and cheap Chain restaurants. Compared to the other great cosmopolitan cities, we found Berlin interesting but beyond that rather bland and dull. The City may now be relegated from our personal top ten in Europe but is still worth a short visit, so if you are looking for an enjoyable stay and a smile from the staff, the Melia Berlin should be high on your list.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the 'Level'
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Skymarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Short break in Berlin and chose the Melia based on the reviews here. It didn't disappoint; modern and sleek without being intimidating, and seems to cater to a wide range of nationalities. Located very close to the Friedrichstrasse railway station, which can be reached by a direct express train from Schoenfield Airport for £3.20 single fare, approx a 30 minute journey. There are also Underground, tram and bus links close by so very well placed for public transport if you get fed up walking.
Emailed ahead to request a river view but was told I would need to upgrade for that but could have a street or courtyard view in the room I selected. Opted for the street view room which as my photos will show look onto the river anyway from the 6th floor which was a nice bonus. Although it was a street side room there was not much noise bar the usual city street sounds you expect. In the hotel itself you barely heard anything from the corridor outside, no doors banging, loud TVs or shouting, the rooms seem to be well insulated so no disturbed sleeps. The twin room itself was bright, very clean and comfortable, with a nice en suite and the usual amenities; e.g. toiletries, hairdryer,mini bar, robes, slippers. The main window opened onto a juliet balcony which was a nice surprise, but be wary of this if you have children,although probably not all rooms have this. There is an air con system that was very easy to adjust yourself thankfully. TV was limited for choice for UK, however you could pay $6.00 per day to get additional channels but as you probably won't be in the room much this may not be worth it.
I know the Level rooms have coffee machines but the standard rooms have no tea/coffee making facilities at all which is a shame, as I think this would enhance the experience of the hotel for the customer. Even putting hot drink vending machines in the corridors would be a option. This along with the high cost of phone call tariffs from your room are the only negatives for me. The rates jump up quite considerably with each minute you are on the phone so be aware of this. A cheaper option would be to use the pay phones in the train station nearby.
Did not take the breakfast option or order any room service so unable to comment on the food. Plenty of places nearby for breakfast options though.
I will definitely return to the Melia as it was a great base for sightseeing in Berlin. It is a bit more expensive than other hotels but overall I think it was reflected in the high standards they offer. Next time I'll go for a Level room, if only for the in room coffee machine!

Room Tip: Room 651 twin room - located at corner of hotel so overlooks river on both sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loulou72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Ideal location , very close (450 metres) from the Museum Island and a similar distance in the other direction from the Brandenburg Gate.Easy to get to from both airports. The bus from Tegel stops a 5 minute walk away on the junction of Unter den Linden/Friedrichstrasse and only costs 2.60 euros. Also from Schonfeld you can catch the S-bahn to Friedrichstrasse station and the hotel is just across the road by the bridge.
The hotel is splendid. There is a dedicated member of staff in the lobby to give advice on tourist attractions; the map here is better than the one from Reception. I did not realise we had booked breakfast in the package we bought and would probably have baulked at the 24 euros price but in the end it turned out to be a big saving and well worthwhile. There was plenty to eat at breakfast, even for vegetarians like us. We did not really need to eat for the rest of the day. The Breakfast Room is always busy and you do need to be sharp to get a table, though it does quieten down in the last 45 minutes.We had an inside room on the 6th floor and it was very quiet. We booked in early, nobody seemed to mind.
It took us until the last day to find the supermarket which is on the same side as the hotel, about 50 metres down the road. There is only a small frontage and you have to go down an escalator. Originally I thought it was just a bratwurst stall. Cheap beer and wine, saves you having to pay hotel prices.

Room Tip: It's a quandry really. If you want a view you risk the chance of noise, if you want quiet like w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

I had a short break with my friend in Berlin and we chose this hotel because if its great location and fare rates. The hotel is ideally placed in the city center near to the metro station to discover the German capital on foot or by public transport. Lots of small restaurants are located around as well. I really have nothing to reproach to this hotel. The room was comfy, modern, spacious, with all the necessary facilities. It has great isolation from the street noise, you don't feel yourself in the center of the city once you close your door. Upon the arrival I got a small issue with a fridge that turned out to be broken but it was replaced in just one hour. The breakfast is too price at the hotel but you really don't need it as there are lots of cafes around where it is possible to have any type of breakfast in the morning at very cheap price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marykar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#57 of 635 in Berlin
1,970 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,883 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#12 of 635 in Berlin
840 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $110 - $384 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and offer a seating area as well as bidet and heated bathroom floors. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you can expect fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing