We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Berlin to your Saves list
Melia Berlin
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
SPECIAL OFFER
Ranked #29 of 661 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Melia chain has set the bar really high as far as service is concerned. We recently spent 4 nights on the level floor in a junior suite, which was absolutely fantastic for the price. It included free wifi, breakfast and evening drinks/snacks in the level club room, which was great value. Staff cannot do enough for guests and are uniformly friendly and helpful. We are members of a number of hotel loyalty programs but are now major Melia fans.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vickio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,276
    1,186
    179
    45
    22
See reviews for
545
1,787
196
575
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We stayed at the Melia in late August. A very short walk from Friedrichstrasse station. Being near a major station means there are many inexpensive fast food places around. There were renovations in the lobby but that is a passing thing. The rooms are great. Downstairs is a tapas bar restaurant which is quite good and you can sit outside or have a good view of the Spree from many tables inside as well. Fantastic location - near Museum Island, the Brandenburg Tor and the Reichstag. One short term down side is the major metro construction going on in nearby Unter den Linden. One this is finished it will improve u-bahn connectivity (which is a bit convoluted) and restore this beautiful street. Even now I would recommend the Melia but if I was going back in twelve months it would be a must.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Melia is on the river end of Friedrichstrasse with the train to anywhere only steps from the door.
We stayed in The Level for 4 nites. Excellent value as the breakfast alone was worth the extra charge and the private lounge makes one feel quite pampered. The Level offers a large and varied breakfast with hot and cold items and delicious omelets cooked to order; a lovely tea time fare in the afternoon and cocktails and hot appetizers in the early evening. Any request was gladly met.
The rooms are large, modern comfortable furnishings, beds comfy with perfect firmness. I judge general property maintenance by its carpets and the Melias are spotless, as is the entire hotel. I would walk around in bare feet which- personal quirk-I'm usually loathe to do in a hotel.
Everyone in the hotel excells at customer service: welcoming, helpful, and friendly but not phony or intrusive. Obviously very well managed and all staff set the perfect tone.
There is a lively tapas restaurant, with a good crowd nitely, especially pre and post theater.
Really one of the better hotels I've stayed-in regardless of price-in my travels. A perfect base for a great city.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank flannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
184 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights on the 7th floor, our room being associated with the "Level" club.
All of the staff we had dealings with were very good especially the young lady at the desk of the Level in the mornings. She was of help to us on a certain matter.
The well appointed room overlooked the Spree river with the vista including the Dome of the Reichstag.
We had breakfast in the Level which was very adequate and at night relaxed with our IPads and had a few drinks and nibbles of lots little snacks and on two occasions a hot dish as well.
The wine selection could have been better, only one red and one white of dubious Spanish quality ! Plenty of other beverage selections though.
My serious complaint is in an upmarket quite expensive hotel in a major city in the 21st century.......no WiFi access in the rooms! Not good enough.
It is available in the Level but we like to do research on the days' sights before and after in the privacy of our room.
We walked to many of the nearby major attractions of the Mitte area such as Museum Island, Brandenburg Gates, DDR Museum, Dom, Reichstag et al.
Also a very short distance to the major S and U Bahn stations of Fredrichstrasse.
Tip. Direct train from S Station to Berlin Schoenefeld (SXF) airport. Go to Platform 1. About 30 mins max and frequent trains.

Room Tip: We enjoyed having the river view, wasn't too noisy on the 7th Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PKC54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for 4 days in June and despite the weather not being the best, we had a lovely time.

The hotel was in a great location, right next to the train station and near a lot of good sites, bars and restaurants.

The room was lovely although the "double" bed was just two singles pushed together (no one likes to fall into the gap!)

Staff were very helpful, wifi was 5 Euros per Wifi card for 24 hours and the cocktails at the hotel bar were outstanding.

I would recommend this place and would no doubt stay here again on my next trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smoothedoutdrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Melia is very convenient to some of the major sightseeing attractions in the area. Whether visiting the Berliner TV Tower's observation deck, or checking out Checkpoint Charlie, everything is a few minutes by foot. The hotel itself is just OK. The "King" size beds are a couple of adjoined twin beds which made it difficult to snuggle. The beds were not the most comfortable. The remainder of the room is well appointed. The hotel was challenged servicing rooms. On three separate occasions, our room was not serviced by the time we returned from some of our daily activities. On these occasions we were out by 9:00am and did not return until 3-30-4:00pm to find the room in the same condition we left it in the morning. This was a point of frustration and the reason for the average review.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank JYG61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My stay at this hotel was superb. The service is great, the staff ar very helpful and caring. One heartwarming note was a card hanging on the window saying 'please do not open the window in case of mosquitos' and I found this leaves me a very good impression on the service of the staff. As a result the sleep was very good. Did not book the breakfast so have little to comment.

Also the location was the most important reason I chose this hotel - very easy to walk to the museum island, and a number of other places in 10 minutes. And I really would recommend this hotel. Really indeed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank the-crimson-cosmos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#42 of 661 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,589 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#4 of 661 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 661 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 551 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Leonardo Hotel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Property: Melia Berlin
Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#26 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and the exclusive DreaMax mattress allow you to relax and to dream pleasantly. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you are awaited by fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing