We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spanish Berlin”
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #32 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Glasgow
Level Contributor
59 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Spanish Berlin”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

A really clean and efficient hotel in an awesome location at the top of Friedriechstrasse in old East Berlin. The Spanish theme and restaurants do seem a little bit incongruous for the location but over no complaints. We had a room at the front looking onto the River. No noise but a great view.

Room Tip: We got a great deal on Lastminute .com
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thingypsythief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,975
    1,576
    241
    57
    26
See reviews for
790
2,370
234
724
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel is wonderful!!! Perfect location, lovely rooms, great bar and great staff. Walking distance to restaurants, bars, metro and shops. No need to book taxis etc... when staying here! Best hotel in Berlin! Having stayed at this hotel recently I would most definitely recommend it!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lima, Peru
Level Contributor
94 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Arrived to Melia Berlin coming from London.
My first surprise was the size of the room. This is the size two persons really need to rest, place 2 bags and can walk. Spacious!
The location is perfect with a river view and near the transport station. Also you can do a lot of tourism walking. The Street is a shopping área too.
The hotel has an excellent service. Excellent breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the upper floors so you avoid some noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

On my recent trip to Germany and the Czech Republic stayed here at the beginning of the trip and again at the end of the trip in June 2013. Loved this hotel, was in a super location as many others have stated and right beside the U Subway and S trains, also the Streetcars are available right on the other side of the train station and is one stop from the Main Berlin HBF station.

The rooms are larger and I had expected in Europe based on previous trips, very comfortable and quiet. Room was very clean. Beds are comfortable as well and they have a pillow menu. All of the staff that I came in contact with were very friendly and helpful.

Taxi from the airport to hotel was 18 euro in each direction. The only recommendations I have is if you chose this hotel and like breakfast, make sure it is included in your room rate, otherwise it is 24 euro per person per day. WIFI is also about 14 euro per day which is steep in my opinion.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Preston71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stopped there for five nights in a standard double room on the 4th floor. We had a view on the river and ernst&young building - very nice. When the windows were closed, we could enjoy the silence during the night and slept well! There were no crazy teenagers or some noisy neighbors with kids. It is also important when you want to relax and enjoy your evening in your room.
Sauna is a place that should be attended for sure. We liked it a lot. The gym is also very nice providing free water. Unfortunately, they don't have a pool, but is not a big problem.
I broke a glass an they didn't ask me to pay for it. It was very nice if them. Usually they charge for the every small thing that is broken (in Milan they did).
Location is really great! You need to walk 5-10 minutes to see most of the places of interest of Berlin.
Beautiful hotel! Next time will stop there again!

Room Tip: Standart rooms that are closer to the Spree have more beautiful view so that you can enjoy river vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy1986_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you for your stay at the Melia Berlin and for sharing your experience to other tripadvisor users.
We are very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in our house and that you had a great holiday. For us it is very important to be a second home for our guests.
We hope that we see you again in Melia Berlin
We wish you a nice day
Best regards
Our Guest Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mill valley,ca
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our first trip to Berlin (for 4 days en route to Greek Island in late May)) and we wanted a great hotel with the right location, good rooms, good food/great buffet breakfast, professionsl/friendly/helpful service (no attitude) and fair value for money.
We were familiar with the Melia chain and had stayed in a Melia in Bali years ago.
We booked directly and joined the Melia loyalty program.

The choice of the Melia Berlin was pefect. The location on the Spree, in the Eastern sector and within walking distance of Musuem Isle, Brandenburg gate, etc was perfect.
The quality of service at the front desk was excellent, anxious to please, and up berat.
The buffet breakfast (costs Xtra) was well worth it and a great start to the day (did not need lunch). Our last night dinner in dining room was excellent and reasonably priced.
The room and bathroom was terrific-bed, river view, size of bath tub, condition was excellent.
We had considered staying in a "traditional", "locally owned" hotel, but gave up nothing by staying at a "Spanish owned: chain hotel.
We stayed on a "regular" floor-not "The Level" accomodations, and felt we missed nothing.
The main train station was within 50 yards of the hotel and provided us train service to the Schonefeld airport on our departure(30 minutes). The public bus from Tegel airport on arrival got us within a block of the hotel.(20 minutes)
If we ever return to Berlin, the Melia will again be our choice.

Room Tip: High floor-river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillValley_caEkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guest
First of all thank you for your stay at the Melia Berlin and your review at tripadvisor.
We are very pleased to realize that you have enjoyed your stay in our house and appreciated our service, the bedroom and our great area. Such comments make us happy and show us, that the way we work with the guests, is the right one.
We would like to welcome you back soon in our hotel!
Best regards
Our Guest Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We spent three nights and the Melia during our break to Berlin. The hotel's location is ideal, very well placed for the S and U Bahn linking you to the whole city. There are also a number of bars and cafes very nearby. Check in was fast and efficient. Our room was as expected, spacious with modern decor and spotlessly clean. The bed wasn't a double but two singles pushed together, and there were no tea and coffee making facilities; these were really the only two downsides to the room. Mini bar prices were reasonable. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel so can't comment on the dining. Wifi must be paid for, €5 for 24 hours which wasn't extortionate. Check out was at 12pm however we were able to leave our luggage at reception so we could make the most of our last day in the city.

Overall a very comfortable stay at an ideally located hotel. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becksybooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for staying at the Melia Berlin and for sharing your experience to other tripadvisor users.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our services, staff attitude and our location.
We hope that we see you again in our house and wish you a nice day
Best regards
Our Guest Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#52 of 634 in Berlin
1,905 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 634 in Berlin
810 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Property: Melia Berlin
Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#28 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and the exclusive DreaMax mattress allow you to relax and to dream pleasantly. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you are awaited by fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing