We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic in every sense”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #32 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fantastic in every sense”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Stayed for my 30th birthday with my family (party of 6). My husband contacted the hotel prior to arrival to organise champagne on arrival, the hotel organised this without any problem (and exercised great discretion when issuing room keys to the rest of my family!!!). Also on my actual birthday the Melia team left a selection of mini cakes and a birthday message in the room - this touch was appreciated. My Dad also contacted them separately to get restaurant recommendations and these were great and worked out perfectly. The Melia team could not have done more to help my family whilst we were there and everyone was impressed by the service received and professionalism. The rooms were generously sized, of a good rate and exceptionally clean - i could not fault anything. During our stay we had breakfast in the hotel which was dear but to be expected - and the mini bar rates were also a bit pricey. The concierge were also very helpful and organised for us to get tickets to the Olympic stadium for a football match and again, this was done efficiently and without any problems. We were given good directions and the hotel is perfectly located by the river, near train station and attractions for a city break in Berlin. I can not speak highly enough of our experience here and would absolutely recommend to others and stay here myself if ever in Berlin again. All in all, a great stay!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatFarrell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,857
    1,514
    238
    55
    26
See reviews for
756
2,274
227
703
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

Five of us stayed at the Melia 3rd-6th May and found it perfect in every way. We had quiet rooms on the 3rd floor inward facing and didn't hear a sound!!! Lovely, spacious rooms with fabulous bathrooms, gowns & slippers, safe, mini bar, choice of pillows etc etc. The breakfast, which was included in our Expedia deal, was worth every penny.The choice is fantastic...everything you could possibly want and more.The staff are friendly, super efficient and the riverside location is brilliant. We had a booking for the Reichstag one morning which is a 10min walk along the riverside from the hotel.There are also some lovely little restaurants on the riverside and a great Piano Bar.Taxi back to Tegel airport was only 20euros for a people carrier. My only complaint was the price of a bottle of water .... 8 euros is seriously expensive!!! As others have said, cost of wi-fi is also pretty steep. Would highly recommend the Melia and will look forward to stayin in their hotels again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CopeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at the Melia in Berlin from the 6th to 9th May and it was a great hotel. Our Melia Room was large, clean and comfortable. We had requested a King bed and river view, which we got on check in. The hotel location is excellent, right next to the River Spree, a short walk to all the main sights etc, and in a nice part of Berlin city with restaurants and shopping close by. Breakfast was great, lots of choice and good food.
I booked direct through the hotel website and became a Melia member, its free and we got vouchers for 30EUR per day to spend in the hotel, if we wanted. We ate out at local restaurants so didnt get the value out of this, but you can use it in the hotel's two restaurants, or room service if you want.
Parking was a little expensive l thought at 23EUR a 24hr / night but then to be fair its a capital city and the car was safe and secure in the underground car park.
Would definately stay here again on our next visit to Berlin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jillaroo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Wife and I stayed at the Melia in Berlin from May 3 to May 7, room 612. Definitely this was the best hotel of our trip. Great location, great services, great food and very nice people in every place. It might be a bit expensive but it is worthy.
Let us break down our experience.
Location, right in the river, very close to the S and U Bahn Friedrich station and very popular place. Walking distance from Museums Island, Cathedral, and other important places.The breakfast and the food in the Tapas lounge was delicious and very fresh. We paid for the breakfast there and we thought it was expensive but you can eat all you wish and the variety is fabulous.
Personnel at all levels, very friendly, spoke many languages and very informative.
Room service - always great, cleaning good and always with all we need.
Room - very quiet as requested, the view was to an interior patio.
I became member of the Melia Reward Club and it gave us some additional benefits.
We will stay in the Melias again

Room Tip: It depends, noise (facing river and street) or quiet. It is up to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANTONIO G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
335 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Hotel Melia Berlin is at the intersection of Friedrichstrasse and the river. It is within 80 meters of the Friedrichstrasse subway station. Unfortunately, part of the subway station just south of the hotel is under construction and won't be completed until 2015, so we couldn't ride the subway as close as possible. The subway doesn't run to the airport, but you can take a bus. When you get off the airport bus and walk along Charlottestrasse, when you get to Friedrichstrasse, turn right (north). The hotel is about two blocks from there, through a construction zone. The hotel itself is quite nice, and there were usually three helpful, friendly people at the reception desk to help guests. We didn't eat there (breakfast with the room is quite expensive), but found coffee shops, usually at the train station, were quite adequate. We usually shop at grocery stores for some of our meals, but there are very few in the center of town. There is one called Bio (green and white sign), a 3 minute walk, located across the river and across the street from the Melia.
Hotel Melia has very spacious rooms and well-appointed, useful furniture. Our room had a bench large enough to hold our two suitcases. The only negative is that we had to pay for wi-fi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Hotel is very conveniently placed pretty close to S bahn and U bahn as well as Oranienburger Strasse. We got an upgrade in order to get breakfast and some evening snacks/free drinks. Great idea! For a Norwegian at least, this is a good deal.

Further, it is clean and as I said; it has a splendid location.

It had a spa as well but we did not check it out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OnklReisendeMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for having chosen the Melia Berlin as well as for your splendid comment.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your upgrade at the level !
We hope to see you soon with us!
Best regards from Berlin to Norway.
Your Guest Experience Team - Meliá Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo
Level Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We thought everything was perfect about this hotel. The location was not far from all the sites and shopping areas. We walked everywhere and only took the S-bahn to west Berllin where we spent the day. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel because we went to Dunkin Donuts down the street to have their coffee and bagels in the late morning. But we did stop for drinks in the restaurant or the lounge. We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcbabci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
we would like to thank you for your review and for your stay with us.
it is a pleasure for us to read that you have enjoyed your stay and would like to see you soon again among us.
Best regards,
Your Guest Experience Manager - Meliá Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,604 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#50 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Property: Melia Berlin
Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and the exclusive DreaMax mattress allow you to relax and to dream pleasantly. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you are awaited by fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing