We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect for Berlin sightseeing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #30 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
173 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Perfect for Berlin sightseeing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were very impressed with the Melia. It’s location is great because not only are many of the main attractions and the U and S Bahn stations are in walking distance but also there are 3 theatres are nearby, numerous restaurants / bars and it overlooks the Speer river which our room had views of. Staff, especially the receptionists and concierge, are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a buffet that offered a huge choice of fresh fruits, numerous breads, cheeses, cold meats, smoked salmon, yoghurts, pastries and much more plus eggs cooked to order in what ever way you wanted them. You can even have a glass (or 2) of sparking wine with your breakfast. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for rooms on higher floors with views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinner Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your stay as well as for writing such nice words and recomend us.
We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay in the German Capital and that the situation of the Hotel helped you to visit confotably the city.
We would like to welcome you soon again,
Best regards,
Your Guest Experience Team -Meliá Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,370
    1,255
    188
    50
    24
See reviews for
601
1,858
201
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (534)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
116 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

This is the best Meliá property I have ever stayed in. Right in the middle of everything and walking distance to all important sightseeing.
Everything is well mantained and beautiful, it seems the hotel was built yesterday.
As a Platinum member I was upgraded to The Level floor. My room was very nice and cosy, had a balcony overlooking the river. The bed was not so comfy as in other hotels I stayed recently but still had a good sleep. I found the tv a little small for the viewing distance. The bathroom was excellent, nice amenities which smelled so good. Great shower.
The Level lounge is one of the finest I have experienced around the world. Food was delicious, carefully prepared and presented. It was peacefull at all times with relaxing music and ambience (could not compare to my last two Sheraton lounge experiences which seemed like a children's school canteen). The staff was attentive and helpful.
My only negative impression was waiting time for check in and no special priority line for top members. The front desk staff was just frendly and cold. Would expect much better customer care.
I was missing the spa with a pool area.
Tips: go for top floors

Final verdict: Top class hotel, tastefully decorated and spotless!
I really enjoyed every minute of
it. Would rate 4.5* if I could.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ludwig70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your stay in the Melia Berlin.

It is a pleasure for us to read this nice comment coming from a Platinum Guest.
We are very glad to know that our The Level lounge was one of the best you have experieced and that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We can assure that this words gives us great motivation.

we would like to welcome you soon again and convince you 100% of our customer care, which is of most importance for us.

Best regards and have a nice summer,

Your Guest Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Modern hotel in great location, nice, comfortable rooms. Great breakfast buffet with excellent choice. Friendly, but rather reserved staff at reception.
BUT would definitively not recommend the hotel for a conference; rude and unfriendly congress staff. Instead of being cooperative, we only seem to be disturbing with some requests. Many additional costs not included even in congress package, we had to pay for a laser pointer 15 euro for half a day, they charge for beamer table, screen etc, so make sure to check the final, final confirmation. Lunch buffet included in meeting package was very moderate quality, not much of a choice.

Room Tip: I would guess rooms to the back are less exposed to street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrielaz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Guest Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for expressing openly your experiece at the Melia Berlin.
we very much regret the inconvieniences you have encountered during the congress and we can assure that this is not our standard. we have forward your comments to our meeting and events team in order to sensibilised them. We are the hosts and we are always warm, friendly and helpfull towards our guests.
we hope you will visit us again so that we can convince you about our friendly and proffesional service.
best regards,

Your Guest Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights – most attractions ( and much more ) are in walking distance and if not a main U and S station is near. The service is great, great breakfast.
Somewhat expansive but worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoramk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Public Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear guest,
we are very glad to know that your stay with us was worth every penny and would like to welcome you back .
Best regards,
Your Guest Experience Team - Meliá Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Great location for sightseeing, the main sights are all nearby. Also handy for arriving in Berln as it's only about 100m from Friedrichstrasse station. Room large and comfortable, breakfast excellent choice avaiable. Good choice of restaurants and bars close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fergie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Public Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear guest.
we hope to welcome you back soon for a longer period of time and delight you again with our hotel and services.
best regards,
Your Guest Experience Team - Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
108 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night whilst on business. Check in was quick and easy. My room on the third floor faced the river and the street and was perfectly acceptable, clean, well furnished and comfortable. It was quite warm whilst I was in Berlin so I had the air conditioning on, which was a little noisy but did the job. I loved the shampoos etc and the fact there was separate conditioner. The bath towels were extremely clean but it would have been nice if they were a little fluffier - just a personal preference. Breakfast was buffet style and was lovely. Check out was efficient. Overall a good stay and the hotel is located very close the the train station on Friedrichstrasse which was very convenient too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BertieDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Public Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for choosing the Melia Berlin for your stay at the german capital.
it is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us from ammenities till service.
We wish to welcome you back soon.
Best regards,
Your Guest Experience Team - Meliá Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I liked this hotel and I would recommend it if they improve the Wi-Fi. I had no problem with the street noise as I was in the fourth floor. The room was very clean and bed comfortable. Staff friendly and very helpful. The best part of it is its location. Two minutes walk from U Bahn and S Bahn and the worst was the ridiculous expensive Wi-Fi. They charge you per hour or per day but the price is prohibitive and ridiculous high. This does not suit a hotel with a good reputation. After all was a great experience.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DuckyFace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MeliaBerlin, Public Relations Manager at Melia Berlin, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your review and your stay at the Melia Berlin.
We are glad to know that you were happy in the hotel and apreciated our staff.
we can assure that we always want to satisfy our guests and keep improving everytime.
we wish you a nice summer,
Best regards,
Your guest experience Team Melia Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#41 of 662 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,636 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#5 of 662 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 662 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 stars 574 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Property: Melia Berlin
Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#28 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and the exclusive DreaMax mattress allow you to relax and to dream pleasantly. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you are awaited by fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing