We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous hotel for a Berlin visit”
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #28 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I spent 3 nights here on a short visit to Berlin ( December 2012 ).
Having researched the Melia website and the reviews on TripAdvisor I deliberately booked a room on "the level", therefore this review is based on our experience of this standard of accomodation.
Our stay got off to a good start, speedy check-in with both of my room requests catered for ( a balcony and a view ).It is always a great start to a hotel visit when you know your requests have been considered.
We were allocated room 745 which overlooks the street and has a side view of the river. At no time did we have any problems with traffic noise.
Our room was spacious enough with a massive bed ( with lots of pillows to choose from ), plenty of storage, and a flat screen TV ( limited english-speaking channels ).
Bathroom was fine, there is a shower over bath, a bidet and some freebies ( sewing kit, shaving kit, toileteries etc. ).
Booking The Level turned out to be a great decision. This is a great concept and I'm sure it would be popular if it was available in more hotel's. The great thing about The Level lounge was that it was a relaxing environment with snacks and drinks freely available until 10pm which is a great option to have after a hard day's sightseeing. Breakfast is also served here if you wish and there is everything ( hot & cold ) you will require to give you a good start to the day. It also has the added bonus of wi-fi which I noticed is quite expensive if you have to pay for it. If you don't have your own device The Level has a couple of PC's for customer use.
I feel I must make special mention to our Level concierge, Nina Fiedler, who was informative, friendly, helpful and she proved to be the perfect hostess.
Our stay included a special 30 Euro per day spend ( booking direct with The Melia website ) but we struggled to use it up. The Hotel restaurant ( The Madrid ) was tapas which isn't to our taste but it looked very nice and the setting is good, overlooking the river. It is possible to roll up your 30 Euros per day allowance and use it here for a meal, so if you like Spanish/Tapas food you are onto a winner.

Location-wise the hotel is well placed, a few major attractions are within walking distance but public transport in the shape of under and over ground trains, trams, buses.

Our Late check-out request was not a problem and ended our stay on another positive note.

I would definitely return to this hotel if we ever re-visit Berlin and I can highly recommend it if you are looking for a hotel which is affordable with great extras.

Room Tip: I would not have a problem asking for a street/river view if we returned but not sure if the lower r...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank advocaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,135)
There are newer reviews for Melia Berlin
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,753 - 1,759 of 5,135 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

could not fault this hotel, everything was perfect. the location is amazing. all the main sights are within walking distance! the staff were so friendly and helpful, would do anything for you! could not recommend this hotel more. loved it....going back again in the summer and staying here as i was so impressed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katieb91xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Booked this for special weekend and cannot fault the Melia Berlin. The Level Room package is well worth the extra money, with a choice of breakfast at the Level Lounge area or in the Madrid restaurant. Offerings are substantial and very high quality. Additionally used the Level facilities in the evening for drinks & buffet food that was all part of the package. Also had a meal in the well frequented Tapa's restaurant which was most enjoyable. Service across all aspects of the hotel was exemplary, the people are a credit to Melia organisation.

Our room (749) was spacious and very nicely furnished. Two full length window/doors provided a super view across the Spree and down towards the Reichstag. Bathroom was spotless and very well presented, with underfloor heating that was most welcome after being out on the cold Berlin streets.

Location was spot-on. Very near to Friedrichstrasse station, on the river, in the middle of the shopping area and walking distance to the Christmas markets. Would recommend Deponie 3 as a very good bar. Also the Paulaners on Gendarmenmarkt was great service and drinks/food.

Thank you to TripAdvisor people who answered my messages before we booked - the advice was spot-on and the choice of Melia Berlin was 100% perfect.

Room Tip: Level Room with a river view - a bit of noise but didn't bother us one bit.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clifftours_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Attended a business conference here and stayed 5 nights. Located on Frederichstrasse, directly across from a train station and close to restaurants & shops. Decor is modern and comfortable.

Needed to pay 40 Euro for WiFi access as the hotel did not offer it. Chef was able to accomodate special dietary requests.

If return travel to Berlin was necessary, would stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallchick1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in one of the standard rooms. Rooms were very clean and had all facilities required.

The hotel is on a busy street with trams so I can imagine the noise might be a little intrusive on the lower floors. My room was on the 4th floor so it wasn't really a problem. Had a couple of drinks in the hotel bar which were a bit expensive (but probably standard by hotel prices) and a meal in the Tapas bar which was average.

The biggest selling point for this hotel is it's location. Two mins walk to the U bahn and S bahn. I can recommend getting a Berlin travel pass as these make travel around the city exceptionally easy

Staff were very helpful and polite. I would stay here again. The only drawback was the lack of internet. Wifi was available at hourly or daily rates but the price was ridiculous. Only real let down with this hotel was the lack of free (or evenreasonably priced) wifi.

If the hotel management could getthe wifi sorted then thiswould be a 5 star review

Room Tip: Ask for a room on as high a floor as possible. The River side of the hotel is quieter.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bayntonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with my husband as we were holidaying through Europe for 4 weeks. We arrived via the train which was conveniently located 2 minutes from the hotel. On check in I found the staff to be a little abrupt and just not service orientated. They didnt show us a map of the city or offer to take our luggage. In every other hotel we stayed in (we paid around the same price for Melia) we had breakfast and wifi including but this was not offered at Melia. Breakfast was 22Euro a head (hope they are serving champas) and Wifi was $4.99 Euro per hour. In todays interconnected environment I think it's a bit backwards when internet is not either free or included in the room rate. The room overall was spacious and ok. There was no tea or coffee making facilities and it just lacked something. Needs to be a little more customer focused and pay more attention to detail and basic customer needs

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank open2xperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hotel is located in town center, just near subway, bus and train station. Hotel is great, rooms are tidy and clean, and the hotel bar is ok too. Only annoying thing were the price of wifi internet. It's not ok to charging that much for day use or (hour of internet).

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter7415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#58 of 635 in Berlin
1,962 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 635 in Berlin
1,845 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#13 of 635 in Berlin
831 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#25 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $122 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and offer a seating area as well as bidet and heated bathroom floors. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you can expect fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing