We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, excellent location, needs wifi availability.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #31 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, excellent location, needs wifi availability.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights in one of the standard rooms. Rooms were very clean and had all facilities required.

The hotel is on a busy street with trams so I can imagine the noise might be a little intrusive on the lower floors. My room was on the 4th floor so it wasn't really a problem. Had a couple of drinks in the hotel bar which were a bit expensive (but probably standard by hotel prices) and a meal in the Tapas bar which was average.

The biggest selling point for this hotel is it's location. Two mins walk to the U bahn and S bahn. I can recommend getting a Berlin travel pass as these make travel around the city exceptionally easy

Staff were very helpful and polite. I would stay here again. The only drawback was the lack of internet. Wifi was available at hourly or daily rates but the price was ridiculous. Only real let down with this hotel was the lack of free (or evenreasonably priced) wifi.

If the hotel management could getthe wifi sorted then thiswould be a 5 star review

Room Tip: Ask for a room on as high a floor as possible. The River side of the hotel is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bayntonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,853
    1,514
    237
    55
    26
See reviews for
756
2,272
227
702
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

I recently stayed at this hotel with my husband as we were holidaying through Europe for 4 weeks. We arrived via the train which was conveniently located 2 minutes from the hotel. On check in I found the staff to be a little abrupt and just not service orientated. They didnt show us a map of the city or offer to take our luggage. In every other hotel we stayed in (we paid around the same price for Melia) we had breakfast and wifi including but this was not offered at Melia. Breakfast was 22Euro a head (hope they are serving champas) and Wifi was $4.99 Euro per hour. In todays interconnected environment I think it's a bit backwards when internet is not either free or included in the room rate. The room overall was spacious and ok. There was no tea or coffee making facilities and it just lacked something. Needs to be a little more customer focused and pay more attention to detail and basic customer needs

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank open2xperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hotel is located in town center, just near subway, bus and train station. Hotel is great, rooms are tidy and clean, and the hotel bar is ok too. Only annoying thing were the price of wifi internet. It's not ok to charging that much for day use or (hour of internet).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter7415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Melia Berlin is excellently located in the city centre of Berlin (Friedrichstrasse). It is a modern hotel with high standards. Breakfast and Internet was not included, which you should take into account when comparing the offer from Melia with other hotels nearby.

If free Internet access is not important for you, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. If it is important to you, you will find better deals nearby.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sveino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is an excellent hotel. I had a large doubleroom by myself. The room was absolutely sound proof. It's perfectly located on Friedrichstrasse right by the station and there are lots of restaurants and shops nearby. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifeisalongjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balcombe, West Sussex
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights and had a great time. The location was pretty much perfect - being just 50m from Friedrichstrasse station and within easy walking distance of Museum island, Brandenberg Gate, Reichstag etc. We only got the metro to the Ku'damm and to explore the Prenzlauer Berg area.

We booked a Level Room and were very pleased. The room itself was very comfortable and quiet. A bonus we could open the windows as it was quite hot inside. We ate a very good breakfast in the Level Lounge which goes on until 11am (great if you come in on the late Easy Jet flight!) and then didn't eat again until afternoon tea in the lounge when we got in from sightseeing. The canape buffet and drinks are also good from 6pm.

If you are able to book the $30 F and B credit it's a fantastic deal as we were astonished to find the 3 night credit of $90 was deducted from one meal that we had in the hotel so the meal was basically free - we'd only expected $30 to be deducted. We ate in the Tapas bar and the food was really good and unusually for a hotel the bar was buzzing with tables being turned 2 or 3 times on Friday night.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room and you will get an inside view ie no view but quiet rather than street facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

You cannot fault this hotel the rooms are immaculate ,the service is top rate as is the food & the choice at breakfast. We stayed on the level (floor 7) which we had before as we loved the use of the lounge which you can relax in with beverage of choice available all day including a great array of nibbles.We always buy the ABC travel card covering the number of days we are there as it covers all areas including just outside berlin & all 4 modes of transport (train,subway,bus,trams,) The location is perfect for visiting anywhere in berlin ,a great place to walk around in the evening with all the buildings beautifully lit & often with querky ideas. with plenty of eateries & shops all around.We would definatley stay again

Room Tip: If you like peace & quiet don't have a room facing the road as the trams are noisy this does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fab4lawsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,599 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#50 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
Mitte
The Mandala Suites
The Mandala Suites
#11 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Property: Melia Berlin
Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#29 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and the exclusive DreaMax mattress allow you to relax and to dream pleasantly. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you are awaited by fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing