We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - perfect location”
Review of Melia Berlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Berlin
Ranked #26 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and it was super. Room was spacious, comfortable, and clean. Staff were very helpful, location was perfect and price was good - what's not too like!. Highly recommend - also if booking book through their website as they give you a €30 credit per day which was spent happily on some lovely cocktails to start the evening off!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biddieboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,941 - 1,947 of 5,321 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was our first time staying at a Melia property, and I trust it won't be our last. I can only echo most of the other reviews extolling the excellent service, helpful attitude, immaculate and stylish guest rooms and bathrooms, and convenient location. By booking well in advance, the room rate we received was excellent, giving us remarkable value for our dollar. My husband, participating in an educational program, had arrived earlier to Berlin than I and had up to my arrival stayed elsewhere in a three star hotel. I moved us to the Melia, and he was so glad that I did.

We did not upgrade to the Level, mostly because we are not huge eaters and room dwellers, preferring to get up and out early before the city sights become crowded. That said, the next time we return to Berlin we would again stay at the Melia and opt for the upgrade since the breakfast restaurant options in the immediate area are not very appealing.

Also enjoyed a relaxing pre dinner wine and tapas special at Tapas, dining on the patio. Excellent tapas and wine pairings as well as good people watching!

Just a note: if you walk about 8 minutes up the Friedrichstrasse, you will come to the Balzac coffee shop where you could purchase delicious lattes, freshly-squeezed orange juice and tasty breakfast pastries. Starbucks is a block in the other directions, across from the subway entrance.

Room Tip: It's worthwhile to ask for the room location that best suits your needs. We requested and recei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MassFamilyTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

We stayed at the Melia Hotel during a short break to Berlin in Spring, first impressions were good - less than a minutes walk from the train station on Freidrichstrasse, and it looked great. The reception staff were both welcoming and helpful and spoke excellent English (not even struggling with our Scottish accents). The room itself was large and clean, and with a view of the main street (we were offered the choice of a garden view room also). The hotel was perfectly positioned for tourists, everything was walking distance, and if you wanted to go further afield the train station (with a direct route to the airport) was right on its doorstep. Shops, restaurants, and take away/bars all on the same street was another bonus. The only negatives were that due to having no double rooms left (that's what we had booked) it was a room with two twin beds pushed together, which wasn't uncomfortable but wasn't what we had expected from such a nice hotel. The cleaners were also in the room everyday and left it spotless, unfortunately they also helped themselves to any food that was there - to the point where a bag of haribo was left with 2 sweets in it lying in the cupboard, easily resolved by putting any cool German sweets away in our suitcase before heading out!

Overall we had a great stay, and this hotel was the perfect base for exploring Berlin.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula_8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed here last summer during my first trip to Berlin and the location was great. It is central, it is easy to walk to attractions and there are lots of restaurants and stores nearby as well. I especially liked that it was very near to Museum Island and the underground (though we didn't have to use it, because we were able to walk to all our destinations). No complaints about the room and the staff were very friendly as well.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Where better to stay in Berlin than in the heart of the 'walking district'? The history of the Wall and Berlin's heartbreaking years of separation come alive within an easy walk of Hotel Melia. The river with a variety of boat tours is at the front door. And all the gentlemen behind the desk are most congenial! Best of all, the overnight price is reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Good Hotel. Stayed in junior suite on a deal for about 5 days. View average. Room very nice. Good fittings. Food and drink excellent. Not cheap but reasonable value. Centrally located and next to U-Bahn. Bit weird being an Australian in Germany staying at a Spanish chain hotel. Staff fantastic all of them.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ludditeluddite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
NH Collection Berlin Mitte Friedrichstrasse
Mitte
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
Eurostars Berlin Hotel
#64 of 634 in Berlin
1,993 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,938 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Hilton Berlin
Hilton Berlin
#68 of 634 in Berlin
4,717 reviews
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Checkpoint Charlie
Mitte
Radisson Blu Hotel, Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 103, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#32 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range: $99 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Melia Berlin 4.5*
Number of rooms: 364
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Meliá Berlin! Our rooms and suites are the perfect place to switch off from the world and enjoy the fine detail. All 364 rooms are bright and spacious and offer a seating area as well as bidet and heated bathroom floors. At our Restaurant Café Madrid you can expect fresh products and the best creative international and regional signature cuisine with views to the river Spree. Feel Spanish passion, enjoy culinary delights and let your senses be spoiled by traditional and innovative tapas in the Meliá tapas bar. Located in the heart of the German Capital, directly at Friedrichstraße and next to the River Spree it is just a few minutes walk to monuments and major attractions such as the Brandenburg Gate, Museums Island or Alexanderplatz. The Melia Berlin is the perfect choice to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prodigios Interactivos SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Melia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing