We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price, good rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amstel House Hostel
Ranked #31 of 350 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Reasonable price, good rooms”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed there for two nights in a small room for two. It was for really reasonable price, the room was clean and bathroom although it was one for the whole floor was new and clean too and we were satisfied with the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Kovarova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    132
    46
    11
    14
See reviews for
25
40
51
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Horrendous place. Teenagers running around screaming at any time of the day or the night. The location is far from being optimal (sketchy neighborhood and at least 30 minutes from anything interesting). The room was small and looked like a prison cell. Avoid Amstel house if you can afford a decent hostel for the same price or maybe even less; unless of course this is your first time traveling to Europe as a teenager and you don't mind getting two hours of sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myriam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our 3 night stay at Amstel house was great! My friend and I stayed in a 12 bed dorm due to the cheap price and availability. Beds were comfortable and plug sockets were evenly spread throughout the room. Large lockers are available to use within the room, all you need is your own lock, however locks are available at reception for €2. The 24/7 bar was great and happy hour is worth a visit as you can get any beer or cocktail for a bargain price of €1,50! The downstairs lobby area was great to sit in as it had sofas and regular tables and chairs, it had a real communal feel to it! Also felt it was a great place to meet other guests too! Showers and bathrooms are communal however they are kept very clean! Whilst we were staying there were two school groups, yet housekeeping kept on top of the mess they made and made the bathrooms spotless everyday! Location isn't central, in terms of proximity to city centre, however there is a u-bahn station 3 minutes away from the hostel and seeing as berlin is flat, walking isn't a huge deal. I would highly recommend taking up the hostel's €12 bike hire offer as the best way to get around and see all of Berlin! Staff is very friendly and more than happy to help whether it's queries about the hostel or about the city itself! Would definately visit again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Priya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I had a great stay at the Amstel House hostel. The rooms are fairly basic but have everything you need, including a good number of plug sockets and large sized cupboards to safely store your stuff. Each corridor has shared toilets and showers and these are of a good standard and cleaned regularly. The staff are helpful, welcoming and enthusiastic about the hostel and Berlin. The greatest feature of this hostel is the atmosphere, with a great communal area and a well stocked 24/7 bar its easy to meet people and start a night out. I watched the mens 100m final at London 2012 here and the place went crazy. There is a metro station a short walk away which makes it easy to get into the centre during the day and night and there is a very wide range of different food vendors just round the corner as well as food markets, I ate really well whilst I stayed here. When I come back to Berlin I am defiantly going to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our stay in the Amstel House Hostel was very good.
We liked that the bar was open 24/7, and the rooms were clean, as were the toilets and showers.
Also the free parking spaces around the hostel are a plus. The hostel is located a good 5 minutes walk from a subway station, so its easy to reach all the highlights in the city.
One point of remark would be the breakfast.

Will come here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

A very nice place, welcoming and helpful staff. The bedroom was small and very basic but also clean. There was a sick in it with a small mirror, and the bed were OK to sleep in. The shower rooms and toilettes were cleaned regularly. And you can park outside free of charge. Cheap drinks. We didn't get to try the food but they hold regular theme nights, on Friday they had a BBQ night.
There is a market building right outside, you can get pretty much any food to eat in/take out for a very reasonable price. We went for fish n chips and then a Vietnamese take out, both tasted very nice.
Location wise it's near Turmstrasse UBahn station, but we hardly ever used public transport. We didn't mind walking and found out way to the main train station and then city centre easily.
The only downside, I would say, is WiFi is only available downstairs (possibly to stop people from downloading stuff or to get customers to buy drinks from their bar).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Amstel House was amazing. Great atmosphere, the friendliest staff and clean living arrangements. Every time we left the hostal or wanted to go somewhere, they gave great suggestions of places to go and very specific, helpful instructions on how to get there. The lobby is super cool as soon as you walk in, with colorful seating arrangements, and an awesome, cheap bar with a 1,50 beer happy hour. Certainly can't complain about that.

The only downside is that it's a bit far from the main sites, but not too bad. There is an express bus to the Brandenburg gate (where most tours begin) but you have to transfer U-Bahn or S-Bahn to get to most other places. We actually liked that aspect though, because it helped to familiarize ourselves with the public transportation and see more things along the way. And we never got lost because the staff gave such good directions! :)

I 100% suggest staying here! Especially for young travelers who don't know the area and are in Berlin for a short while, like me and my friends were!

Room Tip: The 4 bed private room with shared bathroom was very spacious with large closets. Locks available fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
Sunflower Hostel
Sunflower Hostel
#24 of 350 in Berlin
351 reviews
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#13 of 350 in Berlin
696 reviews
Mitte
baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Moabit
Wallyard Concept Hostel
Wallyard Concept Hostel
#23 of 350 in Berlin
180 reviews
Mitte
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
ONE80 Hostels Berlin
#27 of 350 in Berlin
1,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel House Hostel

Property: Amstel House Hostel
Address: Waldenserstr. 31, 10551 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 350 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amstel House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Amstel house you'll find a warm welcome in our spacious lounge 24 hrs/ day. Our staff will help with all your travel needs, for example: tourist information, ticket service (shows or city tours), night life tips, or just a beer while you plan your next activity 24 hrs/ day. The hostel is located in a district filled with tradition. With its quiet streets, green parks, various restaurants and local pubs, you'll find a warm and welcoming atmosphere that will make you feel at home in Berlin. The closest subway station U-turmstrasse (U 9), is just a short walk away from Amstel house and is the perfect start to discover Berlin. All of Berlin's famous sights are easily reachable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Amstel House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel House Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing