We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better then expected and clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amstel House Hostel
Ranked #32 of 360 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Reviewed July 11, 2012

the staff was frienldy and helpfull
the room was clean, and so where the toilet and shower area.
all and all better then expected.
the location is good, 5mins walking of the u bahn,
and there is free parking in the street.
the only down side is: its quite a ubahn ride to warshauerstr. for clubs etc but there is a direct connection to zoo/kurfurstendamm.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff-Vrieling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 319 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2012

I scored a stay here for 0.30 euro cents per night, due to a flash sale that hostelbookers.com was having. Yes, I paid only 1.20 for four nights!!!! (I even e-mailed the hostel to make sure it was legitimate!) They were having a sale on stays from June 19-22. Naturally, I was bit nervous. I mean, who would give away rooms this cheap? However, this place was great. Also, I had booked a 12-bed online but ended up getting a 4-bed. Even better!

Downside: The computers in the lobby were out of order until Friday (the day I left) but there was Wifi so that was not a big deal. Also, the hostel caters to large groups - so there were loads of high school students running around the place, got a bit rowdy. However, there were people my age there as well, so again, not a big deal. It got a bit stuffy at night (Berlin is kind of humid) so the windows needed to stay open.

Bed clean. Bathrooms clean. Served breakfast (5 euros, all you can eat). If you wanted a cheaper breakfast there is a bakery located two blocks away, and that is where I went each morning. I would get a doughnut, a bagel with melted cheese on top and a Capri-Sun for under 2 euro.

Hostel also had happy hour from 6-8 where all drinks were 1.50. I am not a drinker, but I really wanted to try some of the local beers, so 1.50 at the bar was not bad at all. (Though, you could walk to the internet cafe on Turmstr. and get the same beer for about 30 cents less.)

About a 10 min walk from Turmstraße U-Bahn station (which is right next to this AMAZING Doner Kebab stand. I went there just about every night for dinner.)

Overall a great stay! Thanks!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abroadinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

Good hostel..get a very good promotion price to stay for 3 nights.toilet and hostel are very clean unlike most of the cheap hostel where you have dirty toilets and showers. have to pay for towel but free bed linen.

Wifi only works on ground floor. Good security, the door and lift upstairs have to be accessed by card. Front door will also be closed after 10 pm and you have to use your card to enter the building. 24 hours reception. about 5 minutes walk to underground, Turmstrasse. Not far from city center.. have to change at zoologischer garten for another line to city center, Alexander Platz..Overall very good price and worth your money

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikmalisvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We called the Amstel House Hostel and asked for reservations for 2 nights. The lady on the phone was very helpful and told me right away that she will book the beds. She even said that usually you would have to make reservations online, but she would make an exception over the phone that day. [...] We drove 5 hours, came to the hostel and they told us that somebody made reservations online and now "the hostel is full - sorry". This is unacceptable. Reservations need to be in writing then for future guests. Whoever the staff member on the phone was did a mistake.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank SagichNicht_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Was impressed with the cleanliness and it was quiet in the room. Wifi only worked on bottom floor and breakfast expensive but good. Location is okay, U Bahn only a few minute walk away.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank mjb_eswr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

The staff is noce and helpful;
The bar is ordinary prices.
It is clean from recpetion to the bed.
I felt relaxed.
The WIFI doesnot work in the bedrooms.
There is no kitchen and the breakfast is a bit expensive, I did not try.
I keep a good memary fro there.

Room Tip: Book the 4 bed rooms, it is spacious. I don't know about the rest of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ra a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2012

well i was lucky enough to have booked this hostle over new years and it was non stop. a great place to start drinks and end drinks with the bar being open till late. the staff were super friendly i had a ball. frede is a magical man, i would hands down recomend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#13 of 360 in Berlin
743 reviews
Mitte
baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel
Prenzlauer Berg
Generator Hostel Berlin Prenzlauer Berg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
Sunflower Hostel
Sunflower Hostel
#22 of 360 in Berlin
424 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 360 in Berlin
1,286 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 360 in Berlin
948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel House Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel House Hostel

Address: Waldenserstr. 31, 10551 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Moabit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 360 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $18 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Amstel House Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Amstel house you'll find a warm welcome in our spacious lounge 24 hrs/ day. Our staff will help with all your travel needs, for example: tourist information, ticket service (shows or city tours), night life tips, or just a beer while you plan your next activity 24 hrs/ day. The hostel is located in a district filled with tradition. With its quiet streets, green parks, various restaurants and local pubs, you'll find a warm and welcoming atmosphere that will make you feel at home in Berlin. The closest subway station U-turmstrasse (U 9), is just a short walk away from Amstel house and is the perfect start to discover Berlin. All of Berlin's famous sights are easily reachable ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Amstel House Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amstel House Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing