We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too simple”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Ranked #26 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
152 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Too simple”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

The location was Great,
the room was huge, but the decoration was a bit
too Simple for a 5 stars hotel.

The bathroom need a little re-decorating,
it is getting OLD.

The Breakfast was delicious.

Shopping is just outside the hotel,
and there are hundreds of little restaurants in the
neighbourhood.....

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HongKong1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear HongKong1234,

Thanks for taking the time to share your impressions with us.

The building as well as the interieur is designed by the famous architect
Jan Kleihues who focused on clean design. I am very sorry that we did not
meet your taste in that point.
Furthermore, I regret that you were not satisfied with the shape of the bathroom.
Please be ensured that we have a daily focus on the maintenance.

We are looking forward to welcome you back very soon!

Kindest regards

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,844
    632
    122
    40
    26
See reviews for
329
1,155
227
591
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stayed here in March for a business trip to Berlin and had a fabulous time - so much more pleasant than most business hotels I stay in!

Room was huge, comfy and had plenty of storage space in the handy, spacious wardrobe area - plenty of hangers and drawers, as well as nice slippers and robes. Incredibly clean at all times and loved the artwork - which was unique in every room I visited colleagues in! Also liked the fact that they offer *not* to change bedding if you don't want them to - as an eco-obsessive, this was great for me, but of course you can get everything changed daily if you want to. And, on the subject of beds, it was extremely comfy with great pillows!

Lots of plugs in handy places - one of my biggest bugbears in business hotels - and free wifi throughout. Well-stocked bar with nice local beers - although it did take me an embarrassingly long time to work out how to open it... my problem, not theirs!

Restaurant and bar areas were clean, fun and friendly too - ate a couple of meals in the downstairs restaurant which were lovely and the breakfast was one of the best I've had in a European business spot. Awesome choices! Loved the sculptures and artwork throughout the hotel too.

Friendly helpful staff and a brilliant spot within walking distance of everything too - right round the corner from all the shops and zoo as well as restaurants and bars etc.

Gym area looked fantastic too - I only had a nose around in the end but the sauna/plunge pool looked fantastic!

Stayed for work but I would definitely return for a personal trip as it didn't have the stuffy corporate feel of some business hotels - thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: I stayed in 609 - it was big with a view over the street, but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Dear furcoatonholiday,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are very proud
to read about the perfect service and the friendly staff.
I am glad that you liked the big rooms and the decor of the
hotel.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best Wishes

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

What a great hotel. The rooms were a good size and spotlessly clean, location was great, just off the main shopping street and close to underground and overground stations. The staff were friendly and professional. I will definately return to this hotel and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear David139,

I am very happy to read your compliments to me and
my team.

Thanks yo much & See you soon!

Best Wishes

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Rooms are generous in size and the location of the hotel is excellent.

Service very professional, yet friendly and personalized at the same size. The only minor disappointment was a view overlooking concrete roofs and brick walls.

A great hotel and one I very much look forward to returning to in the near future.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view, not overlooking brick walls and concrete roofs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieinCHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear AussieinCHC,

I am very pleased to read your compliments about the professional staff and
the friendliness. Thank you so much.

Hope to see you soon again here in Berlin City!

Best Wishes

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Had an excellent stay in a thoroughly professional and friendly hotel. All staff at any levels were very helpful, and you were given the impressions that they really liked their jobs.

We will definitely stay here again next time we're in Berlin.

The bed was not suited to my back, but blame my back rather than the bed for that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear NorwFoodie,

I am so pleased to read the compliments about my staff -
thank you so much!

We have special beddings for soften the mattress so please
let us know at your next reservation request.

We are all looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Kindest regards

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

We chose Hotel Concorde because of a package deal on Expedia. I met my 20 year old daughter for a five day leisure trip booked at the last minute in February. The hotel staff is exceptionally friendly, accommodating and knowledgable. They all speak English beautifully and were happy to do so without a hitch. The room was large (we upgraded to an executive room for 10E/night when we arrived), well-decorated and clean. The bathroom was lovely and exceptionally clean. Beds were firm and with nice linens.

Location is good. We were steps from good shopping, KaDeWe, and good restaurants. Hotel is 2 blocks from the start of several Berlin tour bus line starting points. We took taxis everywhere which was a bit expensive (12E to get to Brandenburg Gate or Museum Island), but we didn't feel like learning the underground.

The concierges made our whole trip. I travel a lot and found these men to be superb. I booked tours, restaurants and other things through them and they were a wealth of knowledge and quite efficient. It's is a hotel where you will feel that the whole staff snaps to attention to serve you at every turn.

A few things to note: the hotel food is overpriced (breakfast, restaurant, room service), so eat elsewhere. There is a decent market two blocks down, tons of restaurants, and an outdoor food market a dozen blocks away on the weekend. The hair dryers are small and ineffective. Americans beware of the sauna...is coed and all are naked (a rude awakening for my 20 year old who thought about relaxing there until she walked in and encountered a crowd!)

I feel we lucked out with this hotel. Definitely a good choice!

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and toward Kufurstenburg.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Connvinced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Connvinced,

Thank you very much for your detailed and valuable review.
I am glad to read that you spent an enjoyable time with your
daughter.

Thank your for your compliments to the concierge team, I already
passed it to my colleagues.

I am very happy to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes,

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Concorde on business for 9 days in February 2013 and would definitely recommend it to anyone. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The bathroom was very nice shower and separate bath. The breakfast every morning was very good with many many choices. The location was perfect just blocks from Ku'damm.

Room Tip: I was on the 5th floor at the back of the hotel. There was no view to speak of but there was also v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clgarb111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HCBBerlin, General Manager at Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear clgarb111,

Thank you very much for your positive review.
I am pleased to read that you spent an enjoyable
time with us and that you will recommend us.

Happy to see you soon again here in Berlin!

Best wishes,

Carsten Colmorgen
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Pullman Berlin Schweizerhof
Charlottenburg
Swissotel Berlin
Swissotel Berlin
#36 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,823 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel am Steinplatz, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
The Mandala Hotel
The Mandala Hotel
#10 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Mitte
Sofitel Berlin Gendarmenmarkt
Charlottenburg
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
Waldorf Astoria Berlin
#25 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm

Property: Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm
Address: Augsburger Strasse 41, 10789 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Hotel Concorde Berlin)
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Sofitel Berlin Kurfurstendamm is situated right in the heart of the City West area, within striking distance of the renowned Kurfurstendamm shopping quarter. A showcase for a unique fusion of art, architecture and design. The impressive 17-storey stone facade constructed from Kirchheim shell limestone is a real eyecatcher. Breathtaking views can be enjoyed from the Sofitel Berlin Kurfurstendamm right across the vibrant city of Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, ACCOR, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Berlin Kurfuerstendamm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing