We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best-Case Scenario for such low price”
Review of Eastener Hostel

Eastener Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eastener Hostel
Ranked #47 of 357 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We had doubleroom and were pretty happy with the hostel. the room was very small but comfy. We had spare bathroom with 2 spare keys for it. Sheets were very new and very clean and entire hostel was properly cleaned everyday. room was rather small and had no mirror in it -which could be a problem for a girl)). and when you travel with big suitcase in a middle of winter with lots of clothes it might be a little difficult to sort it out in such small closet. But in the end the owner was very kind and helped us with everything he could. He brought us extra blankets when we complained about temperature in the room and fixed the heating to make it warmer. Every problem was taken into account: we were searching for a guitar shop with secondhand guitars and our sweet owner actually stayed on the phone and on-line to find a proper shop for us. We learned he is a musician too.Nice. The only real problem I could mention is weak internet connection. If you travel and have to work in your room you have to pick room in the main hostel building. The main one and the additional one are just next door to eachother. Main one has better connection. There are maps and info about guided tours in the hostel. Always free tea and coffee. Hostel is very clean and well organized. It is a rather calm place without crouds of crazy travelers all over it. Which is fine with me. If you just need safe place to stay when travel - thats the best place. Staff including cleaning ladies is very very friendly!Later when i had to change hostel i really missed this cosy friendly place. For sure would love to be back.

Room Tip: If internet connection matters to you-pick rooms in the main building where reception is. (although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SelenaValyavkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 101 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

You might think it strange to allude to a pillow in the title of a review but my god, that was a nightmarish pillow. It was perfectly clean but had the consistency of a deflated beanbag. I had to fold it into quarters to get it to hold its shape.

But I digress. This hostel is good value for money and has a great location. About a minute's walk away from Oranienburger Tor U-bahn and close to the bigger Friedrichstrasse station, it is quiet yet well-connected. Wifi was patchy in the room but fine in the kitchen.

We were in a twin room with ensuite and it was very small but is advertised as such so that was fine. There's a small kitchen area where you can prepare breakfast, make coffee/tea, use the microwave. (Note that breakfast is not included).

The staff were extremely helpful and set us up with a free tour that does a pickup at the hostel and pointed us in the direction of some small remains of the Berlin Wall within walking distance of the hostel.

we enjoyed our stay here and felt safe and content. Would stay again. (But please, get new pillows).

Room Tip: Ask for room away from reception and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WannabeBallerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I just stayed here for 3 nights and we really enjoyed our stay. We stayed in a room with a double bed and private bath and it was nice and clean. The hostel comes with a common area that has a fridge and you are able to cook and warm up your food. The staff were really nice and helpful as well. There is also a free walking tour that a guide will pick you up for right at the hostel. We would recommend this to anyone.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great location, ideal for sightseeing in Berlin. Have been there in August 2012 and absolutely worth value for money. Place is very nice, familiar and clean, which is very important for hostels. no smoking place. Brilliant staff: they helped us with maps, very useful tips and local advices for unusual explorations (not always known for tourists). All very friendly. Would recommend it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adriana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Matt was very informative when welcoming us. Other staff were fine, but a problem with the in-room safe was a little slow to be resolved. The location was very good, close to public transport (both the U-bahn and the S-bahn) and with restaurants and bars nearby.

We stayed in a double room with ensuite in the lodge in late August for 5 days. (The lodge is about 3 doors down the street from the hostel.) The room was basic but comfortable and quiet, though it was right next to an area where children were playing, so some noise was inevitable during the day.

The kitchen in the lodge was fine for cooking basic meals with a reasonable range of cooking utensils.

Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiAbroad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Only have positive things to say about my stay here. The location was fantastic - while the hotel is quite a quiet place you are right next to a street with some of the best bars in Berlin and all open til about 4am. You are only 2 mins from the nearest U Ban station and are about 10 mins walk from Friedrichstrasse station which is a pretty big S Ban station which will take you to the airport direct or any other major district in Berlin without change. We arrived after the reception shut so we were given some pretty detailed instructions of how to get to the hostel and how to get in. And they're very patient too - as there was nowhere the night before to get money exchanged they happily waited as long as it took to get hold of the money to pay the room (they unfortunately don't take card). the staff are really friendly and speak good english to answer your questions. There's free wi fi but my only complaint was it didn't work all the time we were there. Though there is a free computer to use at reception if you don't want/ can't use wifi. There are kitchen facilities with everything you need to cook, and there's a mini mart to buy food nearby. The room was relatively spacious and very clean and modern looking, and you're even provided with an electronic safe. There's no bathroom amenities so you do need to buy soap and shower gel and stuff and there is a €2 charge for linen. For €25 a night this was fantastic value and I'd happily recommend to anyone else.

P.S if you're looking for bars there is a great street down off Fridrichstrasse though Warschauer is better for nightlife

Room Tip: We went for a double en-suite which was perfect in terms of size and value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Criztiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hostel is fairly well located and made it a good spot to travel from.
We stayed in a private double room with ensuite and although it was quite small, it was clean and warm.
Bit disappointing they wouldn't provide any soap in the bathrooms!
Kitchen facilities were more than adequate and we were happy with our stay,

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PaulNBeckTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Adelante Berlin-Mitte
Mitte
Novalis Hotel
Novalis Hotel
#350 of 635 in Berlin
89 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Aquino
Hotel Aquino
#260 of 635 in Berlin
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#14 of 357 in Berlin
713 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 357 in Berlin
1,272 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Alcatraz Backpacker Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastener Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastener Hostel

Address: Novalisstrasse 14, 10115 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 357 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $24 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing