We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eastener in August - quiet and convenient”
Review of Eastener Hostel

Eastener Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eastener Hostel
Ranked #45 of 346 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eastener in August - quiet and convenient”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Matt was very informative when welcoming us. Other staff were fine, but a problem with the in-room safe was a little slow to be resolved. The location was very good, close to public transport (both the U-bahn and the S-bahn) and with restaurants and bars nearby.

We stayed in a double room with ensuite in the lodge in late August for 5 days. (The lodge is about 3 doors down the street from the hostel.) The room was basic but comfortable and quiet, though it was right next to an area where children were playing, so some noise was inevitable during the day.

The kitchen in the lodge was fine for cooking basic meals with a reasonable range of cooking utensils.

Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiAbroad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    36
    16
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
46
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Only have positive things to say about my stay here. The location was fantastic - while the hotel is quite a quiet place you are right next to a street with some of the best bars in Berlin and all open til about 4am. You are only 2 mins from the nearest U Ban station and are about 10 mins walk from Friedrichstrasse station which is a pretty big S Ban station which will take you to the airport direct or any other major district in Berlin without change. We arrived after the reception shut so we were given some pretty detailed instructions of how to get to the hostel and how to get in. And they're very patient too - as there was nowhere the night before to get money exchanged they happily waited as long as it took to get hold of the money to pay the room (they unfortunately don't take card). the staff are really friendly and speak good english to answer your questions. There's free wi fi but my only complaint was it didn't work all the time we were there. Though there is a free computer to use at reception if you don't want/ can't use wifi. There are kitchen facilities with everything you need to cook, and there's a mini mart to buy food nearby. The room was relatively spacious and very clean and modern looking, and you're even provided with an electronic safe. There's no bathroom amenities so you do need to buy soap and shower gel and stuff and there is a €2 charge for linen. For €25 a night this was fantastic value and I'd happily recommend to anyone else.

P.S if you're looking for bars there is a great street down off Fridrichstrasse though Warschauer is better for nightlife

Room Tip: We went for a double en-suite which was perfect in terms of size and value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Criztiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The hostel is fairly well located and made it a good spot to travel from.
We stayed in a private double room with ensuite and although it was quite small, it was clean and warm.
Bit disappointing they wouldn't provide any soap in the bathrooms!
Kitchen facilities were more than adequate and we were happy with our stay,

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulNBeckTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I really don't understand why everyone is so highly rating this place. Sure, it was a good location next door to a U-bahn and a S-bahn, but the actual hostel wasn't worth the asking price. We paid £35 per night to stay there and it was a tiny bedroom, which sure, it was advertised as, but later we saw bigger rooms elsewhere throughout the hostel, so surely the smaller rooms should have been cheaper? There was kitchen facilities that we didn't use much other than to make a coffee which was not nice, at all. The owner Matt seems very enthusiastic and informative about anything we should need which is great, but we were on a bit of a time schedule when we got there and his, overly informative check-in/welcome, telling us about everything the hostel offers and the surrounding area offers made us too late for a tour we had planned to go on elsewhere. The room is ok, very basic, no lock on bathroom en-suite, also the bathroom window (which was at ground level) didn't have a curtain, so someone had put a bit of building plastic tarping wedged around the frame...which didn't work fantastic and looked messy.

All in all, i'd probably stay again but i would expect SUCH a lower price for this place say £25 max, on a travellers budget £35 for that was so not worth it.

Sorry Eastener.

Room Tip: If you can somehow get one of the big rooms we saw elsewhere throughout the hostel at the same price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP_TrAd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here as a couple for a few nights in May 2013 and really loved it! It was my first time staying in a hostel and I was pleasantly surprised by it. The room was quite small but worth it for the price. Very cozy - felt like a home. Lots of recommendations about breakfast places, etc., which was helpful. Nice kitchen and common room. The location was nice because it was only a couple of stops from the main train station and was quite close to several train stops, but it was in a quiet neighbourhood which was nice to walk around in. Only complaint would be the wifi, which wasn't great (but was free) and the thin walls which didn't keep out noise from the hallway too well. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Safina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had not visited Berlin before and wanted to enjoy it on a 'shoestring' so took a gamble with this small hostel that was promoted as a quiet hostel.

Although we didn't want to be too far from the buzz, this hostel was very conveniently placed just off of one of the main streets - Freidrichstrasse. This I would describe as the 'Oxford Street' of Berlin and we couldn't believe our luck with the position yet it was so quiet where we stayed which was a big bonus!

The lady we spoke to was extremely helpful - pointing us to other areas we may not have thought of to take in historical areas. She even answered her phone at 11.30pm to help us open the locked door.

The only reason why we stopped short of 5 stars is due to the size of the room. Functional, clean, great bathroom - but the room was fairly small with bunked.

Would still definitely book again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p_sailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was my first experience staying at a hostel and I was very pleasently surprised. The managers mattias and Kai were amazing and helped us with everything we needed. Rooms were cleaned daily and the kitchen was spacious enough that we cooked almost all of our dinners comfortably. The location is not central but is in walking distance to two train stations. We found our way around effortlessly. My only complaint would be the lack of pressure in the showers. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I prefer the private rooms-they feel just like a hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Novalis Hotel
Novalis Hotel
#349 of 635 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#15 of 346 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Mitte
baxpax downtown Hostel Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Citystay Mitte
Citystay Mitte
#47 of 346 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Mitte
Cityhostel Berlin
Cityhostel Berlin
#48 of 346 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Moabit
Amstel House Hostel
Amstel House Hostel
#39 of 346 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastener Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastener Hostel

Property: Eastener Hostel
Address: Novalisstrasse 14, 10115 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 346 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Eastener Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing