We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel with a Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Citystay Mitte

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Citystay Mitte
Ranked #49 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hostel with a Perfect Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and I loved this hostel. It had a great feel about it in the common areas, including the outdoor courtyard spaces where a BBQ was held most days. The hostel is across the road from the TV tower and there are lots of places to eat and drink. The hostel bar is cheap and I found the staff to be very helpful. The toilets and showers are OK, could do with a bit of an update, but that's it. The room came with lockers and space to place and hang clothes. Plenty of power outlets and lots of ventilation, so no waking up in a green house!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    169
    70
    25
    22
See reviews for
8
82
82
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Has a bar, plenty of lounges and an outside courtyard.
Can bring in your own food and alcohol in as well even though there is a bar.

Staff are very friendly and helpful.

Is in a great location and the bike tour was the best one I have been on in Europe so far.

Breakfast is ok. It cost about 5 euros but if you want eggs and bacon It's another 4 euros.

There is no Airconditioning however the rooms have windows and it was ok to sleep unlike some other hostels.

Room was a 6 bed dorm with private bathroom. Excellent setup and very spacious.

The whole place seemed clean and was tidy most of the time.

Cons:
Bathrooms could do with some maintenance. Our tap barely worked and the toilet outside had a broken seat.

I was a student so didn't have to pay for sheets but others had to which we didn't know about before arriving, should be included in the price.

The wifi was ridiculous, can only connect right near reception and it was extremely slow, constantly dropped out.

All in all it was a great stay at the city stay and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashleybrown88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

So we stayed in the Citystay Mitte for 3 nights in July/Aug 2013. The hostel has a brilliant location very close to the city centre and the large station of Alexanderplatz and the TV Tower. There are loads of resturants near by... spoilt for choice.

The foyer/bar area was nice, lots of seating and a great outside square where they often held BBQs in the evening. (Steak roll - YUM!) All good bar prices too.

The rooms were a decent size, although not a great amount of storage - but there were lockers in the room (padlocks avaliable from the front desk if you didnt have one) The decor felt like you were in the childrens area at Ikea... But you get used to it! We were in a 4 bed dorm - which comprised of 2 bunkbeds - plenty of space.

The showers and toilets were a bit hit & miss - could do with a bit more maintenance and cleaning!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Such a great hostel. The staff were super helpful - they provided maps and advice on where to go out during the day and night. My friend and I stayed in a double room which was well sized, light and modern. The atmosphere in the downstairs bar was great at night and a great place to meet other travellers. The location was also fantastic - right in central Berlin and super close to two train stations. I have recommended this too all my friends travelling to Berlin!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

I want to stay I loved this place because I loved the services and atmosphere, but they need to improve on the cleanliness.

The shared toilets really needed to be cleaned more than just once a day, considering so many people are using them. They were usually rather dirty and smelly.

My pillow had blood stains all over one corner. When I complained about this I was given a new pillow immediately which was fine, but it seems that the lack of attention to the cleanliness of bed linen I experienced wasn't a one-off, as another girl in my dorm found blood stains on her comforter.

Wifi was very touch and go, you could only get a strong signal near reception, not in the courtyard or in the rooms.

But I must say that the dorm was very bright spacious and the beds were comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful and drinks were reasonably cheap at the bar. The location of the hostel is really convenient too - many sights within walking distance or a bike ride.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugbitten03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hostel has an excellent location very close to the city centre and the large station of Alexanderplatz. The room we stayed in (6 person room) was very large with plenty of space. The bar was good value particularly for the local beer. The hostel was clean and good value too. The only downside was the noise on our corridor on two night when a large group of young men decided to shout and bang door at 4 am. However the hostel dealt with this very well and we found in the morning they had been asked to leave but to many complaints. Which shows they do take what their visitors say seriously.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizLPatrick1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

The room was gorgeous, with a lot of space for all six of us, including a table. Location very good, not far away from anywhere. Worth being more expensive than some and my favourite of interrailing. The breakfast was lovely and drinks were OK although not cheap. The only small problem I had was my lock was too small for the lockers, but the onsuite was nice and the shower very powerful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lucy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Hotel Alexander Plaza Berlin
Mitte
Monbijou Hotel
Monbijou Hotel
#85 of 634 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
Heart of Gold Hostel
Heart of Gold Hostel
#15 of 344 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
Mitte
Hotel ZOE
Hotel ZOE
#8 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Nikolai Residence
Hotel Nikolai Residence
#10 of 187 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citystay Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citystay Mitte

Property: Citystay Mitte
Address: Rosenstr. 16, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Citystay Mitte 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who are we? citystay Hostel is Berlin's most central hostel!We’re located in downtown Berlin. From here you can walk to all of the city’s major sightseeing spots. No public transport is needed. And our neighbourhood, Berlin Mitte, is well known for its diverse culture and nightlife!Our modern hostel is set in a heritage buidling dating back to 1894.The spacious rooms feature large windows, oak parquet and high ceilings. We have rooms for up to eight people, some with shared bathrooms and some ensuite. The entire hostel is 100% non-smoking and rooms are cleaned daily.Citystay Hostel Berlin's onsite bar is open 23hrs a day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Citystay Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citystay Mitte Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing