We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hostel, but be prepared for rules” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of EastSeven Berlin Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
Ranked #3 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nice hostel, but be prepared for rules”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

The hostel is one of the cleanest I've been to, with clean spacious rooms and an excellent common area. Add the outdoor garden, and a location that's about a 20-min walk from Alexanderplatz, and you've got yourself a good deal.

For a hostel this good, the staff can be a bit weird at times. Also be prepared for some "rules" - the silliest of which is a leash on your hand! Just a bit unexpected considering how tolerant Berlin is..

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mndrbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    148
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
181
177
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at East Seven after I spent a week here in December 2012. When I booked to come to Berlin again this year East Seven was the only place I considered staying.
I'm on my own in a private room this time which has been great. The room is airy, bright, incredibly clean and equipped with all you need. It's very quiet and very easy to get a good nights sleep.
The shares bathroom is immaculate and I've never had to queue or wait to use it.
The hostel is laid out really well and is easy to navigate and use without you feeling self conscious or in the way.
The facilities are spot on and the staff are incredibly knowledgable, helpful, friendly and welcoming.
I will always recommend friends to stay at East Seven. Great value for money and a perfect location!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JennyRoobyRooRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

This hostel is a travelers dream. The kitchen facilities are amazing, the common room fantastic, the outdoor areas very nice, the hostel is super clean and well attended to. The 2€ breakfast is the best value at any hostel and actually comes with a decent coffee with is worth the 2€. The location is outstanding 2 metro stops from Alexanderplatz and the area is full of coffee shops, bars and restaurants. Your also close to an organic supermarket and a chain supermarket if you want to prepare your own food. The service is typical of Berlin, but there are plenty of activities they can recommend to you. We had a very pleasant stay at this hostel and would recommend it to everyone.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Aimed at solo travelers but welcoming to all types, East Seven Hostel provides a great place to stay in the charming residential area of Prenzlauer Berg in Berlin. Extremely clean and very well-organized, this is an outstanding hostel. Though not a party hostel, it is very sociable and has a chill vibe. The staff are very knowledgeable and friendly. A special thanks to Sebastian for providing me with directions to the Stasi Museum as well as the Stasi Prison memorial (Hohenschonhausen). Some of my sightseeing interests are a bit off the beaten path, and the staff were excellent. They even had postcard stamps for sale. Breakfast is a good value at 2 Euro and includes a hot drink, cereal buffet and toast - not fancy but sufficient. I stayed at East Seven for a total of 5 nights - 2 in a single room, and 3 in an 8 bed mixed dorm. I highly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in May in a private room with a shared bathroom. The room was big, sunny, with great closet space and a big comfy bed and nice comforters. The hallway bathroom was meticulous and I only once saw another person at the sink one time. The common areas are lovely and the outside courtyard is beautiful. We dropped off laundry in the morning and picked it up all clean and laundered in the evening for a nominal fee. You could even pick up a beer, soda, or coffee at the desk. When we were leaving, the person at reception had us come behind so he could give us directions to the train station with a street-view map. The neighborhood is a neighborhood of young couples having lots of babies! There were a couple of nice restaurants and a few breakfast/lunch places within a couple of blocks. The train is a very short walk and we thought all in all this hostel was a great choice.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor. It was quiet and comfortable, not noisy despite facing the main street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zenmom927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Berlin for 3 days and this hostel was the perfect place to stay. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The kitchen is clean and you can cook if you want , they have everything for you to cook. There is a nice are to chat and meet people , this place is awesome . I would definitely go back

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is by far the nicest hostel I have ever stayed in. The beds were comfy, our private bathroom was clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful. There's a lovely garden in the back but it does close at 10pm . The common room and kitchen were great for mingling with other travellers. The breakfast was €2.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaJ113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#7 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,485 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#4 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#6 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#11 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,116 reviews
Mitte
St. Christopher's Inn Berlin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EastSeven Berlin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EastSeven Berlin Hostel

Property: EastSeven Berlin Hostel
Address: Schwedter Strasse 7, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — EastSeven Berlin Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EastSeven Berlin Hostel.. your Hostel, right in the Centre of Berlin. The EastSeven Berlin Hostel is THE small and relaxed Hostel in Berlin - the ideal place for travellers seeking the true spirit of Berlin. Relax in the Hostel´s beautiful garden after strolling around lively Berlin districts Prenzlauer Berg and Mitte. Staying with us puts you right in the centre of these vibrant districts with their exciting sights.Experience the difference to a big Hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your EastSeven Berlin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastseven Berlin Hotel Berlin
East7 Berlin Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing