We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, staff a bit rude to us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
Ranked #2 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2012

This hostel ticked all the boxes - good location, nice rooms, good cooking facilities, etc. However, the staff seemed to be a bit weird around us? We had made dinner then came into the reception area and in front of several other people, one of the staff members accused us of not cleaning up after ourselves when we had. The next day, we were paying for our breakfast and were all paying separately and the staff at reception muttered, "typical americans". I said, excuse me? We're Canadians but what's the issue? He had a problem with us each paying separately...anyway, those two things stuck in my head which is unfortunate because it was such a great hostel.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
Thank kmb045021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

418 - 424 of 729 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2012

Pros:
The receptionists were quite friendly and helpful.
Plenty of services, e.g. the kitchen facilities and laundry service were great.
Rooms were clean - toilet seat disinfectant spray in the shared toilets was a nice touch.

Cons:
No elevator to the fourth floor, a long set of stairs had to be climbed with luggage.
The wi-fi on the fourth floor was flaky, always dropping out.
The heater in the room wouldn't turn up to full making us a bit cold at times.
We were given our own sheets but they didn't seem like they were a full set and this was somewhat confusing.

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank travelobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The service at this hostel is second to none. Each person at reception took time to answer each of our questions and made solid recommendations about how we should spend our time in Berlin. The best advice was to spend one day in "Touristville" (more like Disneyland with all of the rebuilding of fake old buildings, kinda silly if you ask me) and the rest of our time in the emerging and working neighborhoods outside the center.

The rooms were also spacious, clean, and comfy, and the bathrooms and showers were immaculate (seemed new, and were cleaned twice daily). This hostel also constantly asks for feedback, showing me they care most about your experience and stay in Berlin. If you are looking for a medium sized, laid-back but still fun with social people, and incredibly knowledgeable staff, you must stay here; I will when I return to Berlin.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blink7589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in the summer of 2012. We arrived very late 2am and the reception waited up for us (we were in constant contact letting them know our flight was continuously delayed). The reception was extremely knowledgeable and helpful with anything you ask. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and well maintained. A small draw back is that there was no lift so if you get a higher floor prepare to walk. The rooms had a fan in them and the windows opened to help with the summer heat. It was clear that the hostel owners are fellow travelers because they focused on providing services that mattered to packpackers, such as helpful staff, good location, hooks in the rooms and shower area, laundry services and a cheap breakfast. The only thing I think the hostel is missing was a little shelf in the bathroom for your soap, shampoo etc. your only option is to put it on the floor. :(. Oh and I forgot to mention, our room faced the garden and it was super quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

East Seven was the best hostel we stayed in during our trip tp Europe. The staff were very helpful, assisting us with breakfast, postage and even laundry at a very small price. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and tidy and we felt very comfortable there. The garden was a really nice touch and it was in a great location. A very well run hostel!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Really great hostel that allows you to easily meet people and many areas to spend time with them. Provides information on events and there is also an alternative pub crawl once a week that was a lot of fun. Friendly staff who had time for the customers, and beer at the reception! :)

The rooms were very spacious and clean and the beds were comfortable.

There is a garden area to enjoy some drinks, and an open kitchen area so you can make food with friends or new friends.

The only thing that wasn't great was the standard of the wifi, as there was hardly any signal.

Would defiantly return to Eastseven hostel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DubSteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I booked this on basis of good TA ratings, and I was not disappointed. Good location, near PT, easy to get to, friendly staff, clean and good services.

Only thing I lacked was better Wifi signal. It didnt reach all the dormitories upstairs so a second access point would be desirable.

Good breakfast, cheap beer, nice kitchen, good vibe and all in all a very cool and well run hostel.

RECOMMENDED!

Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
Thank Mattias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 358 in Berlin
1,281 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#6 of 358 in Berlin
937 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Cat's Pajamas
Cat's Pajamas
#4 of 358 in Berlin
402 reviews
Mitte
Wombat's Berlin
Wombat's Berlin
#8 of 358 in Berlin
1,139 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#11 of 358 in Berlin
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EastSeven Berlin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EastSeven Berlin Hostel

Address: Schwedter Str. 7, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $29 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — EastSeven Berlin Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EastSeven Berlin Hostel.. your Hostel, right in the Centre of Berlin. The EastSeven Berlin Hostel is THE small and relaxed Hostel in Berlin - the ideal place for travellers seeking the true spirit of Berlin. Relax in the Hostel´s beautiful garden after strolling around lively Berlin districts Prenzlauer Berg and Mitte. Staying with us puts you right in the centre of these vibrant districts with their exciting sights.Experience the difference to a big Hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your EastSeven Berlin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
East7 Berlin Hostel
Eastseven Berlin Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing