We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome time!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of EastSeven Berlin Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
Ranked #3 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Awesome time!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

A huge group of us stayed at EastSeven and it was one of the best European hostels I have ever experienced. The place is cleaner than my own home and the people are so friendly! The beds were extremely comfy and there are a fair share of bathrooms throughout the building, so I was never left waiting around. It's in a nice area with lots of coffee shops and restaurants around but just far enough from the tourist traps. Plus, the common areas are often filled with tons of people at night to meet and go for drinks with. We met so many new travel friends there!

The security in this place is top notch. I have never felt safer in a hostel - remembering the door code might be a bit of a challenge when you're really drunk, but I think it cuts down on the stragglers a lot! I could probably afford to stay in a hotel by now, but I'd still come back here if I had the chance. Awesome time!

Room Tip: I think the main level may be a bit louder at night so I'd ask to stay on the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smallsails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    148
    22
    6
    6
See reviews for
31
181
178
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
east sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We came as a couple to celebrate my husbands 40th birthday and really enjoyed the hostel.
We had a double room which was just big enough for us, there's a shared lounge and kitchen with everything you could possibly need.
The bathrooms are über - clean with lovely hot showers.
The reception staff were very helpful and had lots if knowledge of Berlin.
We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

Very close to U-bahn, great shopping, restaurants/bars. Rooms were light and modern with cupboard, plenty of power-points and bedside lamps. Bathroom/toilet cleaned twice daily, you did not mind sharing it was so clean. Fully set-up kitchen, leafy outdoor garden BBQ area. Free wifi (although internet didn't handle Skype to well which is a must for communicating with family back home, seemed to be a 20min cap on Skype too as it died after 20mins every time). My friend and I stayed for 6 nights. I would absolutely go back and recommend highly.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland Heights, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

Our stay was very good! Although, some of the staff could have been a little more customer friendly, that little extra that makes the stay great

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suprmdl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

My partner (who will now be known as 'Himself') and I stayed in Berlin for four nights, in a double room at EastSeven Berlin Hostel. We arrived by train from Paris late Tuesday afternoon and walked from the station with our luggage (although this was about 3km or so - consider the U-bahn as there's a station right near the hostel). We have one more night to stay but overall, we've both enjoyed our time here.

Pros:
- decent-sized bedroom with cupboard for hanging clothes, hooks for towels etc, (very) effective heater, shelving for nicknacks, mirror and chair in the corner
- comfortable double bed (pillows are large and strange though) with each side provided its own bedside lamp
- window opens to let fresh air in
- wonderfully helpful reception (all staff we've dealt with whilst here) who are only too happy to help with any questions you have even after covering everything you could imagine and providing a map of the city showing the best eating places, bars and other things nearby
- reception sells a range of drinks with beers only 2 Euros for 500mL and only 1 Euro at happy hour (8pm-10pm)
- (shared) toilets and shower next to our room, so handy, but not at all noisy
- shower is wonderful - hot and powerful!!
- large garden area for use although the weather hasn't been that warm, so we haven't used it
- free wifi (in rooms too, which is great)
- computer for use (limited sites available) near reception for free
- two computers for use in dining area with 15mins free wifi if a tea/coffee is purchased from reception
- buffet breakfast of (good) tea/coffee, toast, spreads, cereal, apple available for 2 Euros if required
- self-catering kitchen available and has plenty of fridge space
- great value and located not far from the city centre, near a train station and several good eating and drinking places (and supermarkets - but avoid Lidl - don't accept cards other than Maestro and are rude and obnoxious)
- wealth of local information available
- secure entrance to hostel with door code updated frequently and our room lockable with unique key
- very clean - a team of cleaners keeps it spotless - the bathroom is cleaned twice a day (and even has disinfectant in each toilet cubical for people scared of sharing bum cheek germs on the toilet seats)
- book exchange in lounge area
- glass bottle recycling in kitchen and sensor lights in corridors to conserve electricity (plus, the bedside lamps are LEDs)

Cons:
- self-catering kitchen is cramped and only has one cooker and one sink (which everyone needs to use to do their dishes) - not ideal if you plan on cooking properly but food is cheap nearby, so it's not the be-all and end-all
- corridors can be a bit noisy out the room, especially when you've got young Americans holding conversations post midnight outside the door but to others at the other end of the corridor...despite signs requesting minimal noise post 10pm in the sleeping areas
- only stairs (no lifts) but they are nice and wide and this is not really a con for us but is worth considering if you have issues lugging heavy bags up stairs

That's it - pros clearly outweigh the cons and I could probably add some more to the pros list. Definitely recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

The people at the front desk were absolutely lovely, even when there were a lot of people trying to check-in/out/do whatever.
The common room was clean and spacious and really encouraged a social atmosphere, and the Garden outside was scenic. The kitchen was well stocked and spacious enough to fit several people trying to cook/eat.
I was in one of the larger shared rooms which was also clean, although I was on the top bunk and it shook every time I went to bed after a night out, which made me feel bad for the guy on the bottom bunk.
The place is in a really great location. It's close to a lot of the major locations, however is also very close to public transportation, which will take you everywhere else. Lots of fun clubs, bars and restaurants nearby.
The breakfast is a solid 2 euro breakfast and during happy hour they have some good beer for 1 euro (A EURO!)
Anyway, I'd be happy to stay here again. And recommend it for anyone else.

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Cailie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

I stayed in the hostel for 3 nights about a year ago. It's well-located and has all the necessary facilities. The kitchen is well-equipped too. Most importantly, the staff are very welcoming and extremely friendly. They patiently answer all the questions one might have and when you have to go home you feel as if you were leaving your freinds:).
The open lounge makes guests feel at home and have some fun:), but at the same time it doesn't bother any tired travellers trying to get some decent sleep.
You can also find some inexpensive restaurants and pubs nearby and, what is also worth mentioning, there is no curfew, so you can come back at any time you want.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justttka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Mitte
The Circus Hotel
The Circus Hotel
#8 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,488 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#4 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#6 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#11 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,118 reviews
Mitte
Generator Berlin Mitte
Generator Berlin Mitte
#12 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to EastSeven Berlin Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about EastSeven Berlin Hostel

Property: EastSeven Berlin Hostel
Address: Schwedter Strasse 7, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — EastSeven Berlin Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EastSeven Berlin Hostel.. your Hostel, right in the Centre of Berlin. The EastSeven Berlin Hostel is THE small and relaxed Hostel in Berlin - the ideal place for travellers seeking the true spirit of Berlin. Relax in the Hostel´s beautiful garden after strolling around lively Berlin districts Prenzlauer Berg and Mitte. Staying with us puts you right in the centre of these vibrant districts with their exciting sights.Experience the difference to a big Hostel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your EastSeven Berlin Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastseven Berlin Hotel Berlin
East7 Berlin Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing