We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location was quite disturbing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Eastern Comfort Hostelboat
Ranked #7 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location was quite disturbing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2008

Although we had a reservation for 3 cabins for 3 nights, we did not end up staying on the Eastern Comfort. We arrived by car and drove along a long stretch adjacent to the river (and the remains of the Wall), across from which was block after block of vacant lots where buildings had been torn down - quite an industrial looking area. The entrance to the boat was also through a rocky dirt construction lot, which had been mentioned on the website, I must admit. We arrived one hour before check in time but our rooms were not yet ready, although there didn't seem to be any other guests around. Although a bit put off by the location, we waited until the rooms below deck were ready and we were allowed to see them. There was a very strong smell of disinfectant cleaner masking what would otherwise have been a musty smell. It was raining very hard out, so perhaps this had something to do with it.

No one in our party of 6 felt very good about staying in the musty rooms in a location that didn't feel very safe. Perhaps the neighborhood has been developed since we were there in 2007 and is better now. The boat is located, if you continue further up the river) just 2 blocks or so from a busy area of Kreutzberg, which seems to have much ethnic (Turkish) flavor and decent U and S Bahn service. It was just the immediate area around the boat that was undesirable.

I must say that the girl who greeted us on the boat was very, very pleasant and, although we had to pay for 1 night of rooms due to the late cancellation, she offered that if we had problems finding rooms elsewhere (which we did - there was a tourism conference in the city that week and nary a room to be had for miles, which was how we ended up booking the Hostel Boat in the first place), we could call her and the rooms would be available for us.

If the neighborhood has improved since March of 2007 and the boat has had steady enough traffic to keep it a bit fresher, it could be an interesting and fun place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank figaroandtalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    120
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
65
105
42
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
425 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2008

Situated on River Spree and literally next to the East Side Gallery, Eastern Comfort was actually rather easy to find. The boat was directly opposite from the East Side Gallery souvenir shop, in between Warchauer Str. and Ostbahnhof.
I had booked a first class cabin with our own en suite bathroom. The room was roomier than I thought and could easily accommodate our 2 luggages. Our room had a view of the river and the windows could be opened to allow fresh air into the room. Wi-fi worked fine in the cabin. Otherwise, internet access was available via the boat's computers. Everything worked in the room. Hair dryer could be borrowed from the reception. I also saw people camping out on the deck. Reservations still needed for camping.
All-you-can-eat breakfast cost 4 euros per person. It was a good deal especially when we were in a hurry. Orange juice, coffee, tea, cold cuts, breads and cereals were served. It was a good time to meet people from all over the world too. The floating lounge upstairs open every night for social gatherings or just plain hanging out.
Staff were all very friendly and answered all our questions.
Western Comfort is a sister boat with similar configuration but internet access is only available on Eastern Comfort.

  • Liked — Price performance
  • Disliked — bathroom
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank singinggigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2008

A great find! - a good location and well placed to explore Berlin, especially areas like Kreuzberg and Fredrichshain which have great places to eat and drink. Kreuzberg starts just over the water and is packed with awesome independent bars and restaurants. The hostel is right next to the longest stretch of remaining wall in Berlin and has a view of the most beautiful bridge in the city. (make sure you ask for a cabin on the river side of the boat {even numbers if you are having a first class cabin}). The staff are helpful and it is close to all transport links, especially the train from Berlin Schonefeld. (easyjet travellers). The first class cabins are of a good size and have loads of storage, comfy bed etc. Bathroom a little smelly sometimes - but that is normal of any boat. Stasi Museum & Prison are well worth a visit as is the Jewish museum and memorial. Great city for modern art and exploring. Overall a great place to stay - highly recommended.

  • Liked — It's a boat
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jack-williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2008

Although first impressions aren't great and the immediate surrounding area leaves a little to be desired, the Eastern Comfort is fabulous! We had a first class cabin which was spacious and spotlessly clean, with a sufficient shower and great river views. The four Euros each all you can eat breakfast was more than enough and we especially loved the bar upstairs, which also served great snacks.
We found all the staff to be extremely friendly and helpful, and the boat is just down the road from railway station Warschauer Strasse, which is an S and U Bahn station, and therefore has good connections to wherever you want to go. Minka, the ship's cat, was very cool.

  • Liked — We love staying on boats! And we loved Minka!
  • Disliked — The surrounding area was a bit of a dump.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Montyspaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2008

Although the check-in was not until 4pm, we were allowed to leave our luggage at the desk until then. Our room was a bit spartan, but we rented bedclothes from the front desk for 5 Euro per person, including towels. There is, of course, the option to bring your own. Breakfast was 4 Euro per person, but was worth it. Plenty to eat and drink, and it was all delicious. The bed was not quite a double bed, but the bedclothes were clean and the sound of water lapping at the boat was very peaceful. Bathroom was clean. Front desk were very helpful with maps and information. Internet was readily available for a reasonable price. Minka, the resident cat, is very cute and at ease with strangers.

  • Liked — Minka
  • Disliked — Double bed that wasn't quite a double bed
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank purringcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2007

The boat is located in de river Spree, directly next to the 1,3 km section of the Berlin Wall (Mühlenstraße). The S-bahn is just a five minutes walk (Warschauer Straße).

I booked a first class cabin and was surprised by the space (for a cabin). The room was simple but clean, the bed was nice and the advantage of staying here is, that the temperature in the room is not as high as normally in a hotel.

Wifi (for free) and breakfast available (not for early birds; from 08:30-11:00 am).

Nice crew, cool boat cat and relaxing lounge upstairs. My kind of place.

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere, special location and price
  • Disliked — Small breakfast area
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Menno71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
nhow Berlin
nhow Berlin
#30 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,979 reviews
Friedrichshain
Holiday Inn Berlin - City East Side
Friedrichshain
Michelberger Hotel
Michelberger Hotel
#124 of 634 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#10 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,147 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#4 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#2 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern Comfort Hostelboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Comfort Hostelboat

Property: Eastern Comfort Hostelboat
Address: Muhlen Str 73, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Eastern Comfort Hostelboat 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotel.de so you can book your Eastern Comfort Hostelboat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing