We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great idea, great weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Eastern Comfort Hotelschiff
Ranked #7 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We spent a weekend in Berlin with friends staying on the Eastern Comfort Hostelboat in May. Our weekend started fantastically with an enthusiastic welcome from our hosts, who provided us with plenty of ideas to get our day started. We couldn't check in immediately, but the staff watched over our bags as we went to explore.
Our rooms were lovely, especially our friends' room (worth the little extra for first class).
The hostel is in an excellent location, less than a minute to the Berlin Wall Gallery, 5 minutes to the train station, and 5 minutes across the river to a great area replete with bars, (delicious) indian and middle eastern restaurants, and the best Kebab (Kebap) I think I've ever had.
I've already recommended it to numerous friends. Stay there!

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for the first class cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CMGWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 412 reviews

Reviewed February 23, 2011

We took a quick weekend trip to Berlin and had a great stay at Eastern Comfort. When we checked in, the employee checking us in gave us a really complete rundown of things to do and how to get around town. Breakfast was filling and definitely worth the 4euro. We stayed in a second class room, which was very comfortable, though we never quite figured out how to take a shower without making the bathroom floor a small lake. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oneiltk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

The local area is pretty run down on this side of the Bridge but the Eastern Comfort is great! We do not often stay in Cities so are unable to compare but to us we felt that for accommodation in a big city it was good value for money. We had a first class cabin which was a good size and came with an en suite. It was exceptionally clean. It was also nice and warm. We were concerned about the temperature in the boat as we went when the average temperature was -5 and very cold. The whole boat was nice and warm and the radiator in our room was extremely efficient. The bed was also very comfortable. We also checked out the 2nd class rooms and we would be happy to stay in one of these - smaller and just two portholes - but we were advised that these are cooler in the summer. The staff were incredibly friendly, considerate and knowledgable. The underground is a very short walk away and it is extremely efficient. We bought day passes (remember to validate them before you get on a train) and these also allowed us to also use the buses and some ferries. We did not feel it was an unsafe place and we walked to the boat twice very late at night/early hours of the morning, we weren't there in the main tourist season so perhaps it feels unsafe when there are more people around? We would have no hesitation to go back - this is not your 4* luxury hotel, but a nice, clean friendly, convenient place to stay. Our son now lives locally and we will always use this boat when we visit.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DevonSparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I have never stayed on a hotel house boat before this but the experience was one to be enjoyed. Its location is beautiful right on the water in Eatern Berlin. The service ws great. If you are awake early enough you can join a free cruise around the waters with the owner of the hostel. Most memorable experience in this hostel was sitting up on the roof of the boat watching the sun set. Sounds corny i know but it was a site to be seen.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaimeelara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2010

We randomly found this hostel while we're searching for a place to stay. It happened to be great boat, great location and very helpful staff. It is just on the East Side Gallery (so be prepared of huge groups of tourist) and on a walking distance to the U-Bahn station. You just cross the bridge and u r in a great neighborhood with all kind of nice bars, restaurants and stores. The staff was so helpful, nice and smiley. They also own a nice Lounge where u can enjoy your late night drinks. The rooms are small but clean for sure. We stayed in a 4 people room for 2 nights but didn't have anybody to share the room (which was also nice). The price is really good for a location and place. Normally it is much higher in Berlin. I'd def recommend this place to everybody goes to Berlin. If I ever go back to Berlin, I know that I ll be staying at this cozy place for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenish80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2010

We booked the hostel boat thinking it would be an excting experience. Once we had booked we were informed that we were in the western boat. This is not a nice place to stay. It would be ok if it was a few euros a night but not at the prices they are charging. The Eastern boat looked much nicer and was lit up at night. It has the bar and internet on it. This is NOT available on the western boat, not much is apart from a coke machine. The location of the western boat was scary to say the least. It was in a badly lit area beside the river where the local homeless hung out. it was also covered in broken glass. This area o f Berlin was mostly covered in broken glass. The one positive was the views of the bridge but this quickly wears off. The room were in had a set of bunk beds and one double bed that was raised about a meter and a half off the floor. The advantage of this was u could put bags under the bed. This would be a good place to stay if it was much cheaper and ur standards arent that high eg if u just need some where to sleep and wash. don't expect much from the breakfast, ur money would be better spent in Mc Donalds ( not that I would normally eat there). But i certainly wouldn't go back to Eastern/Western Comfort Hostelboat .

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2010

Perfect location! Five minute walk to the S-Bahn and U-Bahn. A wide selection of inexpensive and good places to eat nearby. Simon Dach Strasse, with its numerous clubs, within a short walk. On the other side of the river, Kreuzberg, with more restaurants and eclectic shops and cafes.

Friendly and knowledgeable staff! A major point, this. They answered every question, and even provided us with a printed map of a museum location we were looking for. Also, free maps provided at check-in.

Fellow clientele of a similar background and interest as you. And a bar-lounge to socialize with them at the other end of the boat.

One of the best bargains around. For example, a breakfast worth every cent of the four Euro price. I'd recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank All_Things_Must_Pass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Friedrichshain
nhow Berlin
nhow Berlin
#31 of 633 in Berlin
3,339 reviews
Mitte
The Circus Hostel
The Circus Hostel
#3 of 358 in Berlin
1,276 reviews
Mitte
Generator Hostel Berlin Mitte
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
EastSeven Berlin Hostel
#2 of 358 in Berlin
727 reviews
Kreuzberg
Grand Hostel Berlin
Grand Hostel Berlin
#5 of 358 in Berlin
931 reviews
Friedrichshain
PLUS Berlin
PLUS Berlin
#11 of 358 in Berlin
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eastern Comfort Hotelschiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eastern Comfort Hotelschiff

Address: Muehlenstr. 73, 10243 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 358 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range: $47 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Eastern Comfort Hotelschiff 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eastern Comfort Hotelschiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing