We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fair price” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novalis Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novalis Hotel
Ranked #353 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fair price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We was looking for the cheap hostel with double room when we were in Berlin. After several failurs due to lack of rooms in different hostels we decided to go to Novalis Hotel. We were not sure what will be the difference between price of hotel and hostel but don't be afraid price is the same. We had room with a clean bathroom, metro station is near and a small supermarket. Unfortunatelly breakfast isn't included but there is a good beakery in the neighborhood. We asked to leave the luggage after leaving the room and host agreed but the luggage wasn't secured much. It was simply left in dining room.. But it's better than nothing. We didn't have carry backpacks with us. Oh and you can pay only by cash.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ola-i-Bartek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
15
36
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

Friendly staff, easy check in. Room is spacious, clean and had thoughtful touch such as bottles of water, glasses and small chocolate eggs and sweets in a bowl. Room was at the back and was quiet. Reasonably priced for where you are. Reception is on the ground floor and hotel on rooms on the second. It is part of a quiet apartment block and you ar4 given keys so you are free to come and go as you wish. Very short walk to the nearest U and S bahn stop. You can walk to a lot of points of interest from the hotel too and there are plenty of bars and restaurants (reasonably priced) nearby too. Breakfast was a good choice of rolls, cheese, meats, yogurts, cereal, juices, teas and coffee as well as boiled eggs etc. Not included in price but worth while for 6 euros a person. A pleasant stay and I would go to Hotel Novalis again.

Room Tip: Room at the back would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

Obviously, it's not a RItz Carlton. It's a budget hotel, which offers a good value for the money you pay. It's within an easy walking distance from 2 metro stations, at a quiet street. Our room was not too big and quite dated, but clean and cozy. Beds could have been more comfortable, but again not too bad. Wifi worked well. The windows were quite old and let some cold in, but overall the temperature in the room was all right (beginning of November).
The owners (a Ukrainian couple) are very friendly and helpful. They speak German, Russian (or Ukrainian, I cannot tell), some Polish and English. Breakfast normally starts at 8:30, but we asked for it to be earlier and they prepared it for us at 8 with no complaints. Breakfast is not included, it's 6 EUR, but it's certainly worth the price. Particularly if you're from Eastern Europe you'll find it delicious, home-like, and with a really good choice of food. If you're from the UK or US, though, and you cannot imagine your morning without fried eggs, sausages and bacon, you should better go elsewhere. It's just a different style.
Child bed is for free, and we could keep our child wagon at the reception, which was very convenient.
Parking is for free (you get a vignette) in the street, although you need to find your own place, the hotel owns none. We were lucky and parked right at the door.
The downside is that the reception is closed during the night, so make sure you call or write them upfront, if you plan to arrive after 20. When you're already a guest, it's not a problem, as you get the key to the front door.
Overall, I liked the place, it had a good atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleksandra_Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great friendly family run hotel - arrived about 9pm and the owner was waiting for us (we had emailed her to let her know when we would arrive) room spacious with good WIFI signal and cleaned every day if you want. Fab location - no complaints whatsoever

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank niciwaine123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pori, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and we sure made the right decision! The staff was very friendly and in the reception they spoke english. The wifi worked well in our room. The breakfast was great, but it didn´t include in the hotel price which is inconvenient. We arrived late in the evening, when it was already dark and got lost in the area. But luckily, there were some friendly people who helped us. The hotel "sign" is not so big and it may be hard to find. Don´t judge the hotel based on the entrance, once you get inside it´s very different than what you would think. The room had a good bathroom and it was spacious. This hotel has a good value.

Room Tip: The rooms on the "street" side are not noisy, because there are not many cars driving, mos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here one night and really enjoyed the spacious double room overlooking the street. The value of this hotel is great, and the friendly service made it a really nice stay. The owner helped us find places to go in Berlin and the breakfast was very nice. A great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Foliasmusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

There is something about staying in a family run hotel, that if done well, is a more satisfactory experience than spending a great deal of money on an 'international' hotel. Novalis was such a place...Be warned it looks down at heel from outside, but bearing in mind all the positive Trip advisor reports we had read before hand, we didn't let its exterior deter us. We had a family room, with plenty of room, exceptionally clean, colourfully decorated. It was such fun to have flowery duvet coves and coloured towels instead of bland whites or neutrals. I am not a lace curtain or shiny bed covering person at home, but on a break in a foreign city it just added to the atmosphere. The staff couldn't have been more helpful or kind. We were even given a totally free car parking pass...this saved us 30Euros in total. The breakfast was only 6 euros each and was an abundant array of fruit, cereal, bread, cold meats and cheeses and excellent coffee. Bacon and hot sausage was provided for those who wanted it..91 Euros per night including breakfast...We will be back and would happily stay here for longer.

Room Tip: Book a family room if you would like a little more space
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JCroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Mitte
Zarenhof Berlin Mitte
Zarenhof Berlin Mitte
#305 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Mitte
Hotel Berlin Markischer Hof am Tacheles
Mitte
Hotel Augustinenhof
Hotel Augustinenhof
#297 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mitte
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus
Mitte
Hotel Aquino
Hotel Aquino
#285 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Mitte
Hotel M68
Hotel M68
#539 of 633 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novalis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novalis Hotel

Property: Novalis Hotel
Address: Novalisstr. 5, 10115 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 633 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Novalis Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Novalis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novalis Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing