We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location but extremely noisy” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee
Ranked #40 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent location but extremely noisy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

Unfortunately we had an apartment at the 4th floor, a lot of stairs to climb (no elevator). The stairway looked dirty. The apartment smelled moldy and looked a little cheap with fake wood flooring and linoleum in the kitchen. No fire escape either, not a very save feeling with only the narrow stairways as an entrance. We were located at the courtyard side. Despite being located here we didn't sleep all night because there is a bar located here too and there is loud music playing all night (week night), the bass is everywhere, people holding loud conversations, doors opening and closing constantly. We also had a neighbour in and adjacent apartment building who apparently liked to lie naked on his bed, personally not my idea of a great view. The only positive thing is that the apartment is at an excellent location (and friendly staff) but it sure isn't the only place to stay in Berlin. Needless to say we will never ever be staying here again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind extreme noise during the night, a cheap feel and climbing a few stairs and hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    57
    17
    4
    6
See reviews for
48
25
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Lovely clean apartments great welcome and really central, If had to criticise 1 bathroom for 8 women towels tiny take ur own and a lack of mirrors Oh and up 87 stairs In saying that I would go back and fantastic value for money the stairs worked off all the food and drink we consumed!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

As mentioned in earlier Tripadvisor reviews we called the office 10 min before arrival because we did not want to wait. The person told us very nicely we could call him again at arrival and so we did. Within 10 min he was there on his bike to show us around and we got the Mozart appt on the 3rd floor.

There were 2 reasonable large bedrooms (5 separate beds with very god matrasses and pillows), a large living room, kitchen and bathroom/toilet. The appt is scarcely decorated, a flat screen tv with not much channels, but who cares. The kitchen is well equiped with electric stove, small refrigerator and magnetron. You get a free wireless code per device, so make sure you know how many devices to connect (laptop, tablet, 2 phones, etc). You can park for €5/day near the appt if you have the emission sticker, if not you can park the car a little further for €20/day. Be aware not to drive around then, because the fine w/o this sticker is €40.
The bathroom had clean towels, but the bathfoam was empty.. If you cross the Tor strasse, you'll find lots of reasonable restaurants from which I can recommend Yam-yam (Korean). The location is on walking distance from Alexander platz.

We enjoyed our stay at this appt, value for money but don't expect the luxury of a hotel.

Room Tip: At 6u30 in the morning there was some wprk in the backyard, awakening us, but furher then this there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Four of us stayed in the Strauss Apartment in this building for a weekend last month. The apartment building is in an excellent location and we walked almost everywhere. It's about a 15 minute walk to Alexanderplatz, and about 20 minutes in the other direction to the flea market in Mauer Park. The street itself has some great bars and restaurants (try the Due Forni Pizzeria!) and some excellent supermarkets and coffee shops.

The apartment is large, bright and airy, spotless and well equipped. We received a nice welcome and checked in and out without any problems. The building itself is perfectly safe and again very clean. We paid by credit card in their Metzer Strasse office (just around the corner) and again the Staff there were very friendly with loads of good tourist information for us.

So why only 3 stars? Well, two of our party had a bedroom facing on to the street, and because of the bar on the ground floor didn't get one night's decent sleep. It is to be expected that bars are going to be noisy at weekends, but if there was a warning about the noise issue on the website when I booked, then I certainly didn't see it.

I would have no hesitation about booking with this agency again, but if I chose an apartment in this building I would be sure to stipulate that it would not be facing the street. A bad night's sleep definitely impairs your enjoyment of a holiday and three noisy nights in a row is a bit hard to take!

Room Tip: Don't even dream of booking a room facing the street, unless the noise of late night revellers i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ter2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Nice clean apartment in a great location in Berlin. Plenty of light and space, we equipped kitchen. There are plenty of places to eat close by, supermarkets and other shopping. Good bathroom and comfortable beds.. We plan to come back soon.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi_Prawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Prenzlauer Berg
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
Myer's Hotel - Berlin
#112 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
Zarenhof Prenzlauer Berg
#248 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Ibis Berlin Mitte
Ibis Berlin Mitte
#142 of 633 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prenzlauer Berg
Ackselhaus
Ackselhaus
#37 of 633 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Schoenhouse Studios
Schoenhouse Studios
#26 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Prenzlauer Berg
Schoenhouse Apartments
Schoenhouse Apartments
#18 of 344 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee

Property: Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee
Address: Schoenhauser Allee 5, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 344 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the most popular Berlin district, Mitte, our apartment house boasts the old Berlin-style flair. Built in 1900, the entire building was completely renovated in 2000. Beautiful paintings in the staircase emphasize the individual style of the building. The apartments themselves are characterized in particular by their size. Families or groups of friends can especially benefit from the spacious layouts. All apartments are arranged around a landscaped courtyard. The apartments in the front building feature a street-side balcony. All apartments have fully equipped kitchens, bathrooms with tubs or showers and a free wireless-internet connection. Towels and bed linen are provided.Within walking distance of our apartment house are the Hackescher Markt area and Alexanderplatz, with the TV Tower and Museum Island. Our apartments offer the ideal base for exploring Berlin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Apartments - Schoenhauser Allee Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing