We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quentin Design hotel
Ranked #304 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Ennis, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

The location could not be better if you want to be in the centre of Gay Berlin. It is close to Nollendorfplatz and Wittenbergplatz underground stations and also close to the KaDeWe department store. The beds are very comfortable and the area is quiet, so a good night's sleep is pretty much guaranteed. Some rooms have a balcony. Breakfast was good and plentiful. There is now Wi-Fi, (quite slow) in the bedrooms.

The carpet needs replacing in some rooms as it is getting tatty. We asked for a light bulb to be replaced twice and we were left without for 5 nights! The cleaning lady disturbed us twice even though the "do not disturb" sign was hanging on the door.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rory O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    180
    108
    54
    52
See reviews for
29
206
85
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Nice looking hotel on chech in,freindly and helpful guy on reception,was given free wifi codes with having ask.
Standard room on second floor with balcony,ok size though lacking in hanging space and place to put luggage.
Bathroom looks quite smart but there were a lot of stains on the floor and around the sink stand. Climbing into/out of the bath/shower is a bit steep and slippery(I'm 6'2") The rubbish bins were both filthy with acculated dirt and what looked like mould.
The bed was very comfortable.
The curtains do not do a great jobe of keeping light out. There is also quite a bit of street noise pre 8am on work days.
The bedroom door had over an inch gap under it,as the floors in hallway are wood then everyone coming past sounds like they are in the room.
Both mornings there was a lot of noise from the cleaing staff,laughing /joking etc as well as vacuums . On the last mornings my door was repeatedly hit with a running vacuum. It then stopped moved a couple of doors away repeated then stopped. I guess at 9.30 the lady wanted people tith do not disturb signs to get out.
If you are an early riser and sound sleeper it might be for you but I will not be back

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bongoblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

After 3 weeks of backpacking and staying in budgets hotels the Quentin Design was luxury! The room was absolutely beautiful and so comfortable and the bathroom was sooooo gorgeous! The people were very friendly and helpful. The lobby was fantastically decorated, warm and welcoming! Close to the metro we were able to easily navigate this busy metropolitan city. Close by are restaurants. Would for sure recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlindsbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights.

We arrived here expecting the worst after reading the tripadvisor reviews but ended up loving the place - we opted for the most expensive room (can't remember what it's called but it's still such a cheap rate anyway) and it came equipped with with operable skylights, a modern fitout, great bathroom, super spacious, quality bed, linen and pillows etc.

Overall handy location in the heart of the gay district and is close to restaurants and the train station to get to all of the attractions.

Breakfast looked fairly forgettable (continental only) but you have the most amazing cafe just down the street (MORE) for a cheap eat.

We were able to connect our laptop to the TV via HDMI which was another plus (I wish more hotels allowed it)

Would definitely return when next in Berlin.

Room Tip: The more expensive top floor features vaulted ceilings with operable skylights, well worth the extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 7, 2013

A friend recommended this hotel to me a while ago. When planning my trip I had a quick look and was very pleased with what was offered! The hotel was excellent! It was very modern inside, and extremely aesthetically pleasing. Though the rooms were modern, they were very comfortable. Furthermore, the location was fab! We had some of the best local eateries and bars at our doorstep! Excellent! Only issue - the front door of the hotel was slightly difficult to find. Nonetheless, an overall great trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Lovely hotel in central area. Very close to great bars, fab eateries & transport links to the rest of Berlin. Yet up a side street so minimal noise at night. Only does breakfast & no bar, but that meant added bonus of no night time crowd noise in hotel. This is a good hotel if you want peace & quiet with lots to do nearby. Room was nicely done- smart, modern decor, comfy bed, rather swish shower room. Room was an 'economy' size, a bit small, but fine as a base. Would've preferred tea & coffee making facilities. But had reasonably priced mini-fridge in room. Reception staff helpful. Only 10 Euro a night more than a hostel at the same time. Would definitely give Quentin another stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlAvenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We arrived at the hotel early in the evening so it was already dark. The front door of the hotel wasn’t obvious to locate, especially with the man in the entrance on a ladder white-washing the walls, but that was a minor problem.

The reception and lobby area of the hotel was extremely impressive, and looked quite stylish. There were two people on reception when we arrived and although one member of staff didn’t speak English, we were grateful that the other person on duty had a good command of English.

Checking-in was quick and efficient, I’d never been to Germany before but it was exactly what I was expecting. After check-in, we took the lift to our room and walked down the narrow, but delightfully decorated corridor. The design of the entrance to the rooms was a little odd to grasp initially, as there was an outer door and a small lobby area concealing two rooms of which one was the room we stayed in.

The room allocated to us was extremely small, but we read the reviews beforehand and expected that it would be compact. Unfortunately, the room was also poorly laid out and there was no room for an ironing board, no hooks for outdoor coats and no chair (although there was a soft foot stool under the TV stands). There were no facilities in the room to make a hot drink, but I’ve been told that this is not uncommon in some European countries.

I won’t go into detail about the saga of the iron but we discovered that there was only one iron in the hotel. The iron in question was extremely poorly maintained and I had to wrap a sticking plaster over a hole in the flex where bare wires were protruding. When we borrowed the iron on the first night, I was woken up quite early (7:30 am) in the morning on day 2 with a request from housekeeping for the iron. When I asked for the iron back later that evening, I was told initially told that they didn’t know where it was. Eventually, (after an hour or so and a lot of talks) they located the iron.

On the penultimate day of our stay, I woke up pretty early to use the bathroom, only to discover that there was a leak from the room above and water was dripping through the bathroom ceiling! After some negotiations we managed to change to another room which was larger. However, although larger and leak free, the shower in this room didn’t sprinkle but the water poured out of the broken shower head. By this time we were exhausted with complaining so we 'sucked it up' for the remaining day we had left.

For a hotel with style, this hotel is really quite splendid. However, this hotel has too many faults for me to recommend it to fellow travelers and I certainly would not stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Berlin hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Quentin Berlin Hotel
#245 of 634 in Berlin
345 reviews
Schoneberg
Mercure Hotel Berlin Zentrum
Schoneberg
Hotel Sachsenhof
Hotel Sachsenhof
#200 of 634 in Berlin
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Schoneberg
Tom's Hotel
Tom's Hotel
#368 of 634 in Berlin
128 reviews
Schoneberg
Hotel Artim
Hotel Artim
#308 of 634 in Berlin
214 reviews
Schoneberg
Ambiente Hotel
Ambiente Hotel
#367 of 634 in Berlin
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quentin Design hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quentin Design hotel

Property: Quentin Design hotel
Address: Kalckreuthstr. 12, 10777 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schoneberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quentin Design hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quentin Design hotel is centrally located, only 8 minutes walk from the famous Kurfurstendamm shopping boulevard and the famous KaDeWe department store. The Quentin Design Hotel has air conditioned rooms with LED smart TV, free WiFi in all the rooms and public areas , hardwood floors and design bathrooms. The hotel is surrounded by restaurants and bars. Breakfast buffet is available at the hotel for an extra charge. Parking nearby is available for an extra charge, subject in availability upon arrival. The Q Design hotel located: - Ku'damm Boulevard shopping street walking distance (8 minutes) - the famous KaDeWe department store walking distance (8 minutes) - U-Bahn (Subway) Nollendorfplaz station walking distance (5 minutes) - Tegel Airport 20 minutes drive. - Schonefeld Airport 25 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quentin Design hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quentin Design Hotel Hotel Berlin
Quentin Design Berlin
Hotel Quentin Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing