We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience - no negatives!”
Review of Gasteiner Hof

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gasteiner Hof
Ranked #415 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We loved this hotel so much we stayed here 3 times, once in summer and twice for the Christmas markets. It's a stone's throw from the nearest metro station which links you up to the excellent transport system that Berlin has to offer.

The hotel was very comfortable and a style best described as traditional, which gives you the feeling that you are properly in Germany. There were lots of cafes and bars locally which allowed proper immersion into the community, and there were hardly any English-speaking tourists around. This can be regarded as a negative, but for us it was all about involvement and practising our German! We found that the Berliners were extemely warm and friendly, especially when you attempt to converse in the language.

I am sure you will have a great time here and I can't wait to go back!

Viel Spass!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 49 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2011

It isn't in city center but it is well-located (1 minute and half by walk from Blissenstrasse underground station, then 40 minutes to AlexanderPlatz).
The double room (with a sink in the corner, a desk, a tv and 3 chairs) was big, clean and tidy; it overlooked the backyard.
We could hear noises from other rooms and the floor was creaking. Nevertheless, the night was quiet and peaceful (actually we were completely tired and devasted when we came back home!).
The shared bathroom (one toilet and one shower) was ok: not stylish but always clean and available.

In the morning we went downstairs for the breakfast. A typical continental breakfast (milk (only cold!), coffee, juice, bread, butter, jam, ham, cheese, tomatoes and so on....). We ate a lot!

The staff was friendly (they didn't ask us anything for the parking ticket (in fact we needed it just for few hours....)).

Price: 60€

P.S. The East Berlin (Friedrichshain) was really interesting!

Room Tip: Double room with shared bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ale s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

Back to Gasteiner Hof Feb.2011, breakfast is still great with sufficient coffee, milk, juice, hams, cheese, bread and you can get as many as you want ^ ^. the area for breakfast is just re-furnished with new dinning table and coaches. Gasteiner Hof provides the wireless internet connection and that can be connected in my own room. that's great and easy to use my internet phone to make an internatinal call with low fares. amazingly comparing the experience of staying Gasteiner Hof 4 years ago, I found the surrounding area is more convenient to find more restaurants and supermarkets ( one of them is openning to 9:00pm ). that makes me easier to get food or other supplies. I was told by staff in Gasteiner Hof that there's a self service laundry store just 2 stations of Berlin U-Bahn away. that's good way to get my clothes clean. Staff is nice and willing to help. Gasteiner Hof is a great and fare choice in Berlin city.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaoChingLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

I stayed in Gasteiner Hof for three nights 4 years ago~ and will be back there this month since the good quality and nice service. that's easy to find the supermarkets and shops nearby.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaoChingLin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We stayed at the Gasteiner Hof for four nights in September 2010. It was the first city on a train journey through central Europe, when we also visited Prague, Vienna and Budapest.

The hotel has directions on its website. We landed at Schoenfeld airport, to the southeast of Berlin. From there we took a 171 bus to Rudow U-bahn station (10 minutes) where underground Line 7 goes without change to Blissestrasse (30 minutes). The hotel lies in a side road 100 metres to the north of the station and, after one false start, we found it without undue difficulty.

Our room (two floors above ground) was spacious, bright and clean. The shower / wc was cramped but adequate, with plenty of towels and hot water. The glazing was sufficient to eliminate street noise, though there was some audible sounds from other rooms. Though the mattresses were a little thin, the beds were comfortable and we slept well. The room was well maintained and supplied during our stay. There is no elevator and no nighttime reception. I was able to settle my bill with a debit card.

The buffet breakfasts were on the generous side of adequate, with cereal, cold meats, cheese, eggs, bread, yogurt and fruit, with unlimited tea, coffee and toast. Getting to and from the buffet table can be awkward in the smallish breakfast room.

The area is not oversupplied with quality restaurants, although we had a fair value meal at the nearby Badenscher Hof jazz club on a Friday night (it’s beer rather than wine here, as the latter is wildly overpriced). Otherwise, you can risk a local Imbiss (Berlin fast food takeaway / restaurant) or go uptown. There is a very handy and good 24 hour supermarket nearby on Berliner Strasse.

Getting around means using Berlin public transport: tube, bus and tram. The system is fairly intuitive, and a day ticket for the AB zone was a reasonable €6.10. Though German transport has a fine reputation, our final days were bedevilled with ticket machine issues, and service failures due to engineering works, demonstrations and mechanical breakdown; so allow sufficient time for your journey.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmcateer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Stayed there while in Berlin for a sports event taking place in the Wilmersdorf area. Booked a triple bedroom with private WC, paid €83 per room/night breakfast included.

+ Clean and spacious room and bathroom
+ Good breakfast selection
+ Nice and helpfull staff
+ Close to train/underground station
+ Banks and restaurants nearby

- Not near the citycenter (convenient if you are going to Wilmersdorf area)
- Doesn't accept credit cards
- No elevator
- Car parking around is difficult and paid for in that area

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turistando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2009

Clean, simple rooms. Paid 72 euros for a double (room 23 w/WC+shower). Breakfast OK. Conveniently located, close to metro, Internet café, restaurants, supermarket, Badenscher Hof jazz club, etc.
Only genuine nuisance was to be asked for cash payment - "there are lots of banks around here". Took some time to find one, and German ATMs don't always recognize non-German credit cards.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Troubadour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Art-Hotel Charlottenburger Hof
Schoneberg
Novum Hotel City B Berlin Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kreuzberg
ibis budget Berlin City Potsdamer Platz
Charlottenburg
aletto Hotel Kudamm
aletto Hotel Kudamm
#119 of 634 in Berlin
781 reviews
Mitte
i31 Hotel
i31 Hotel
#7 of 634 in Berlin
1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gasteiner Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasteiner Hof

Address: Gasteiner Str. 8, 10717 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #415 of 634 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range: $59 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gasteiner Hof 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gasteiner Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasteiner Hof Berlin
Gasteiner Hof Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing