We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price and well worth a stay.”
Review of Pension Messe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Pension Messe
Ranked #507 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good price and well worth a stay.”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were set to arrive after the check-in had closed but after a quick e-mail to the hotel we got the information we needed to check-in ourselves. We were greeted by a nice note, welcoming us to the hotel, and got our room-key from a small safe outside the main door. Our room was simple but cozy, almost like a small apartment with a balcony, bedroom, living room and bathroom. Breakfast was perfectly passable with coffee and tea, yoghurts, bread and müsli. Since we wanted to drink tea in our room at night we were able to get a thermos of hot water from the kitchen. Staff didn't speak much English but we made ourselves understood by drawings and a dictionary. We even got band-aids from them when one of us had gotten chafed feet during our walks around the city. It's not a luxury hotel (which isn't what we expected since it was so cheap) but nice and unpretentious. We recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VenlaCorrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    16
    3
    19
See reviews for
16
13
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Excellent location and transport, very good room's quality, excellent service; very, very kind staff. High quality of Internet connection. Perfect cleaning. We'll be a hotel guests with pleasure again.


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Rossitza V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Spent here one night while in Berlin. This little hotel is in Charlottenburg area of Berlin. The reception is on the first ( or second according to North American understanding ) floor. They have rooms for one, two or three people. It was three of us, we get an one bedroom suite with two twin beds in the bedroom and pullout sofa which transfers into the bed. The unit also had balcony, which is a real treat for smokers.
Aside from having a bathroom in the unit, there was one, public one, right outside of the unit, so no one felt waiting for amenities. TV with the cable, closet with hangars. The unit was nice and clean, the windows faced little streets to there was no outside noise.
The hotel have elevator as all the units located either on the second or third floors. There is a key deposit which will be given back at your check out.Breakfast included in the price.
As for the area, the location is great. Nice and quiet street, it's an old neighbourhood where eastern european immigrants used to settle. Asia fruit market right outside, as well as grocery store "Keisers" which is open from 7 am to midnight.
You've get few blocks, roughly five minutes walk to the S-Bahn train station and it's an easy and quick ride into the centre of the Berlin ( Alexanderplatz)
Definately will stay here again as location and price very well corresponds to the needs of an easy traveller.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guamokolatoking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My family and I stayed here in 2009 so we returned on the 14 July 2012 big mistake the place is run down sub standard rooms there are as filthy as the carpets paint peeling off and torn curtains. The floor boards creaked so badly that other guests could hear you walking and you them.
For the same price stay somewhere else.
The only positive comment is that breakfast was good and location, however there are other hotels nearby
Would not recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph255093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
150 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights. We looked for not very expensive B&B to spend a weekend in Berlin. The room was nice, breakfast was simple but adequate. Staff speaks German, Russian and very little English. This pension is located in Charlottenburg district about 15 minutes walking from U-bahn station. But there is a bus-stop just 100 meters away and we used buses to go to Zoo (S- and U-Bahn) station. There are 2 supermarkets in front of the hotel, many restaurants and shopping street in 2 blocks. I can recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanitka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This Pension took my booking in the spring and there started a complete nightmare. The hotel is dreadful, rooms are dirty, service non-existent and they refuse cancellations. Friends of mine who were joining the party wished to cancel their reservations once they learned what a dreadful hotel is was and were refused any refund and simply lost all their money. This place should be reported to the authorities as I cannot believe their behaviour is in accordance with the rules laid down for hotel operators. We were a large group in Berlin and when I saw what fellow travellers' had for the same money I paid for a small, filthy room I was very disappointed. The pictures on the net are EXTREMELY misleading.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

I spent some time in this hotel, when I stayed in Berlin during a huge exhibition. It was really difficult to find any free rooms in Berlin, expecially close to the exhibition. It was a releif, when I found this pension, where we had a inexpensive room for some nights. I remember, that I did not have any problem with heating or hot water. But I also remember that the doors were not proper and we could enjoy the smoke comming from our next door neighboor.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Berlin hotels
Charlottenburg
Seehof Hotel
Seehof Hotel
#348 of 635 in Berlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Charlottenburg
Pension Stuttgarter Eck
Pension Stuttgarter Eck
#565 of 635 in Berlin
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Charlottenburg
Hotel Adam
Hotel Adam
#392 of 635 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlottenburg
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
Happy Go Lucky Hotel
#363 of 635 in Berlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Hotel Brandies
#202 of 635 in Berlin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Charlottenburg
Ivbergs Hotel Charlottenburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Messe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Messe

Property: Pension Messe
Address: Neue Kantstr. 5, 14057 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #507 of 635 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Messe 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Pension Messe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Messe Hotel Berlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing